Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2002, 10:29 PM   #1
Macette
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
how do i make line breaks in a plain text email??

This probably sounds like a very stupid question..

this is the problem:

i'm using Direct Mail to compose an email to a newsletter group. i want all the people who are capable of reading the HTML format to see an HTML version, and all the others to see a text-only version.

Direct Mail has two windows, one for composing the HTML email, and one for the text-only part. Trouble is, when i paste text into the text-only bit, I get one continuous line, with no line breaks except where forced by the window (in other words, i can read all the text without scrolling sideways, but it looks UGLY)

I've had this problem before, with other direct mailing apps.

anyone know what i can do about it?
__________________
I am Alert, but not Alarmed
Macette is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2002, 11:24 PM   #2
madamimadam
macrumors 65816
 
madamimadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Re: how do i make line breaks in a plain text email??

Quote:
Originally posted by Macette
This probably sounds like a very stupid question..

this is the problem:

i'm using Direct Mail to compose an email to a newsletter group. i want all the people who are capable of reading the HTML format to see an HTML version, and all the others to see a text-only version.

Direct Mail has two windows, one for composing the HTML email, and one for the text-only part. Trouble is, when i paste text into the text-only bit, I get one continuous line, with no line breaks except where forced by the window (in other words, i can read all the text without scrolling sideways, but it looks UGLY)

I've had this problem before, with other direct mailing apps.

anyone know what i can do about it?
I don't know anything about Direct Mail but as far as free email clients are concerned I know that in Mail and Outlook you can do this with no problem. If you make the email in HTML in both of the mentioned programs it will send a plain text version as well with line breaks.
__________________
"Type edit a:\"
"Edit a colon?????"
"No, edit a : ...... A :"
"A colon????"
"The letter a"
madamimadam is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2002, 11:36 PM   #3
Macette
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
thanks, but..

yes, i know... entourage does as well. the problem is that i want to use direct mail, because it deals with some of the the problems of mass mailouts (like not sending duplicates to people who've registered twice), as well as having this cool feature where you can retrieve email addresses from a mysql database, which is what i need, as i have a database online which people subscribe and unsubscribe to via my website.

so thanks, but i'm still looking for answers, if anybody's got them...
__________________
I am Alert, but not Alarmed
Macette is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2002, 11:59 PM   #4
madamimadam
macrumors 65816
 
madamimadam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Re: thanks, but..

Quote:
Originally posted by Macette
yes, i know... entourage does as well. the problem is that i want to use direct mail, because it deals with some of the the problems of mass mailouts (like not sending duplicates to people who've registered twice), as well as having this cool feature where you can retrieve email addresses from a mysql database, which is what i need, as i have a database online which people subscribe and unsubscribe to via my website.

so thanks, but i'm still looking for answers, if anybody's got them...
In that case, you are best just to write to the creators of the program directly. It is something specific to that program.
__________________
"Type edit a:\"
"Edit a colon?????"
"No, edit a : ...... A :"
"A colon????"
"The letter a"
madamimadam is offline   0
Old Dec 10, 2002, 12:06 AM   #5
Macette
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Melbourne
thanks - i'll do that. and i'll post the response for interest's sake..
__________________
I am Alert, but not Alarmed
Macette is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I set line spacing in pages for iPad? EnderTW iPad 1 Apr 5, 2010 05:21 PM
how do you make a screenshot in OS X? macEfan Mac Basics and Help 11 Oct 26, 2005 04:25 AM
how do you make hyper links in mail? howard Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 11, 2003 10:54 AM
How do you make layers transparent in Photoshop 4? King Cobra Mac Help/Tips 5 Aug 4, 2002 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC