Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:07 PM   #1
Arcus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: of my hand will get me slapped.
HDCP Errors - Should I just give up?

About 3 months ago I started having problems with my Apple TV. HDCP playback errors when viewing Netflix.

I have restored it twice. Installed all updates. Nothing fixes it but recently the problem is more consistent. After about 3 mins of viewing anything it pauses then gives me the error. If I yank out the power cable then plug it back in and reboot the ATV , then restart what I was watching it goes away for a few hours.

I have tried any suggestions I found on the Apple forums. Nothing fixes it.

Is there anything else I can try? I would even be willing to get a new TV/cable if I was 100% sure it would solve the issue.

Thanks.
__________________
SE30 | Bondi Blu iMac | iBook G3 700 - 384 Megs 40gig |5th gen iPod 30gig Video | 17" 2.0 CD2 iMac |20" 2.16 CD2 iMac |5gb 1st Gen iPhone |16gb 4th Gen iPhone
Arcus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 01:16 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcus View Post
About 3 months ago I started having problems with my Apple TV. HDCP playback errors when viewing Netflix.

I have restored it twice. Installed all updates. Nothing fixes it but recently the problem is more consistent. After about 3 mins of viewing anything it pauses then gives me the error. If I yank out the power cable then plug it back in and reboot the ATV , then restart what I was watching it goes away for a few hours.

I have tried any suggestions I found on the Apple forums. Nothing fixes it.

Is there anything else I can try? I would even be willing to get a new TV/cable if I was 100% sure it would solve the issue.

Thanks.
Can't you borrow someone's HDMI cable? Or, buy a cheap one somewhere and try it. If it works problem solved. If it doesn't work, return it.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; AppleTV 3; iPad 2, 32GB; 2TB Time Capsule (RIP 9/12); AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; AE; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 02:15 PM   #3
grodgers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Can't you borrow someone's HDMI cable? Or, buy a cheap one somewhere and try it. If it works problem solved. If it doesn't work, return it.
+1 - HDMI Cable. No, you don't need (or want) a Monster cable either.
grodgers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 02:54 PM   #4
Arcus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: of my hand will get me slapped.
Ill try a different cable. Thanks!
__________________
SE30 | Bondi Blu iMac | iBook G3 700 - 384 Megs 40gig |5th gen iPod 30gig Video | 17" 2.0 CD2 iMac |20" 2.16 CD2 iMac |5gb 1st Gen iPhone |16gb 4th Gen iPhone
Arcus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 04:07 PM   #5
Arcus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: of my hand will get me slapped.
Looking around I see that all HDMI cables are HDCP capable and other than the very remote possibility that the HDMI cable is bad , a different cable will not solve the issue. I will try it , but I dont have my hopes up.
__________________
SE30 | Bondi Blu iMac | iBook G3 700 - 384 Megs 40gig |5th gen iPod 30gig Video | 17" 2.0 CD2 iMac |20" 2.16 CD2 iMac |5gb 1st Gen iPhone |16gb 4th Gen iPhone
Arcus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 04:23 PM   #6
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcus View Post
Looking around I see that all HDMI cables are HDCP capable and other than the very remote possibility that the HDMI cable is bad , a different cable will not solve the issue. I will try it , but I dont have my hopes up.
I think that is exactly what we are hoping...a bad cable.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; AppleTV 3; iPad 2, 32GB; 2TB Time Capsule (RIP 9/12); AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; AE; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC