Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2013, 04:38 PM   #1
MacVidCards
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
8Gb FB-DIMMs for 2006-2008 Mac Pro, which ones work?

For that matter, I would also love to hear about 16GB FB-DIMMS but 2 of those are worth more than any of these machines so I won't hold my breath waiting for news.

I noticed a thread at Apple Support forums from someone using 8GB FB-DIMMS in a 3,1. He was able to get 64GB working in 3,1 but at the reduced speed of 667 Mhz.

As we have a 1,1 and a 3,1 testing machine here I decided to try some 8GB FB-DIMMS to see what worked.

And all I have found so far is what DOES NOT WORK.

I got 2 separate 16GB kits. I have been unable to get either of them to work.

It would be great to figure out what exact memory will work, if for no other reason than that future enthusiasts won't waste time & money trying things that don't work.

One kit I got is labeled "Hynix 8GB 2Rx4 PC2-5300F-555-11 HYMP31GF7AFR4C-Y5 D5 1209"

The other set is labeled "HYS72T1G842EFA-3S-C2 8GB 4RX4 PC2-5300F-555-11-Y0 D0 ZSL84303051"

I have tried with existing sticks in other riser, with just these alone in a single riser, with just these together on same riser. No matter what, the red lights illuminate on the riser indicating problem with these sticks and they are 100% invisible in System Profiler. I have tried them in the 3,1 and in the 1,1. They completely, 100% DO NOT WORK.

It is possible that one or the other set is bad, but I doubt both are. They were purchased on Ebay from separate vendors. They did not claim Mac Pro function, but the specs seem to match.

It is quite possible that there is a certain exact model number that works. If so, it would be great to figure out what it is.

And before the "Debbie Downer" crowd comes out to point out that this is too much money to spend on these elderly machines, I KNOW THAT AND DON"T CARE. I just want to get an answer to what RAM could be used for someone wanting an "Extreme Makeover". Might also be useful for someone who works with servers getting de-commissioned who might have access to some FB-DIMMS to try with.

So, yes, I know that there isn't a single one of these machines that is worth as much as 8 of these 8GB sticks. Understood. But sometimes people just want to know.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:06 PM   #2
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I wouldn't be surprised if both sets were bad. There are fake or under spec Mac FB-DIMMs around. I bought 4x4GB FB-DIMMs that were supposed to be suitable for a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1. Two sticks were DOA & the other two were seen as 2GB 667MHz rather than the 4GB 800MHz parts claimed.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:07 PM   #3
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Value.../dp/B00134A5IY

If these work let us know, I'd be curious
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:52 PM   #4
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
I wonder if it matters which CPUs you're using?

I would think that almost all properly spec'd DIMMs would work.


Last edited by Tesselator; Feb 27, 2013 at 05:58 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 05:53 PM   #5
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
I wonder if it matters which CPUs you're using?

I would thing that almost all properly spec'd DIMMs would work.

Image
Man you have a massive old Mac..cripes..

When you upgrade send some of that RAM to Germany
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:04 PM   #6
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
Man you have a massive old Mac..cripes..

When you upgrade send some of that RAM to Germany

That's the processor spec. There's only 32GB installed in this machine.

Just $250 off of e-bay (used). Oversized "Apple" heat-spreaders are NOT needed.

I think the guy said they came out of an HP server blade ... Here's what the seller
posted about them:

Kingston 32GB 8x 4GB PC2-5300F 2Rx4 ECC Sever Memory FB-DIMM KTH-XW667/8G DL580G5

for DL580 G5 DL380 G5/DL385 G2/DL 360 G5 and Dell 2950/1950

you are buying 8 of 4GB DIMM

Condition: Like new!

Please Note the following:
1. Will provide 14 days DOA warranty.
2. If you have any questions regarding this item, please contact me _before_ bidding.

S/H in continental USA. Expedited shipping can be arranged upon request.

Other Notes of Interest
Shipments : All items will ship within 1-2 business days of payment receipt.

Last edited by Tesselator; Feb 27, 2013 at 06:12 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:12 PM   #7
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
That's the processor spec. There's only 32GB installed in this machine.

Just $250 off of e-bay (used). Oversized "Apple" heat-spreaders are NOT needed.

I think the guy said they came out of an HP server blade running X5365 processors.
At some point I'll go to 32GB thoughI don't need it, but Ill get it before I can't get it anymore.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:19 PM   #8
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanyChris View Post
At some point I'll go to 32GB thoughI don't need it, but Ill get it before I can't get it anymore.
It's fun! With "RAM Disk Utility Pro" you can create a RAM disk of any size (up to 16GB) and it restores and backs up automatically at Mount and Unmount. When I download my 8GB camera card to it for processing and sorting the 16MPx RAW images things really fly. About 3 times speed from my 700+ MB/s 4-Drive RAID0.


Had I seen any 64GB sets for under $500 I would have gone for it.

Last edited by Tesselator; Feb 28, 2013 at 02:57 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2013, 06:22 PM   #9
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
It's fun! With "RAM Disk Utility Pro" you can create a RAM disk of any size and it restores and backs up automatically at Mount and Unmount. When I download my 8GB camera card to it for processing and sorting the 16MPx images things really fly. About 3 times speed from my 700+ MB/s 4-Drive RAID0.
I gave up on über large pictures..I'm just not that good of a photog to not shoot in .jpeg..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 02:24 PM   #10
Mac Newblet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
These work in my 3.1, you're wanting 8GB per stick though, yes?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261087658604...84.m1439.l2649

The 2nd set you mention "HYS72T1G842EFA-3S-C2 8GB 4RX4 PC2-5300F-555-11-Y0 D0 ZSL84303051" won't work because they are quad channel rank memory. We need 2RX4
__________________
2008 Mac Pro, 2x 2.8 Quad Core, 18GB, 128 GB Samsung 830 boot, 3 GB Seagate 7200,GeForce GTX650

Last edited by Mac Newblet; Feb 28, 2013 at 02:44 PM.
Mac Newblet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 04:46 PM   #11
rcook55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post

The other set is labeled "HYS72T1G842EFA-3S-C2 8GB 4RX4 PC2-5300F-555-11-Y0 D0 ZSL84303051"
I'll need to check when I get home but this is Qimonda RAM, I have 8 2Gb sticks of it in my MacPro 1,1 working just fine. I'll try to get the exact numbers tonight.
rcook55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 04:50 PM   #12
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac Newblet View Post
These work in my 3.1, you're wanting 8GB per stick though, yes?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261087658604...84.m1439.l2649

The 2nd set you mention "HYS72T1G842EFA-3S-C2 8GB 4RX4 PC2-5300F-555-11-Y0 D0 ZSL84303051" won't work because they are quad channel rank memory. We need 2RX4
Yay ! This is exactly what I was hoping to get from this thread, by this logic the other set SHOULD work.

Hmmm...returning both, will try something else mentioned here.

Not going to pay $700 for a pair however.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcook55 View Post
I'll need to check when I get home but this is Qimonda RAM, I have 8 2Gb sticks of it in my MacPro 1,1 working just fine. I'll try to get the exact numbers tonight.
Please post the exact numbers, if we get enough info I may create a list of working amnd not working part numbers.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:28 PM   #13
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
8gb ddr2

I guess the $1,000,000 question is: Can the 2006-2008 Mac Pros support higher than 32GB of memory? Given if 8GB DDR2 works, that would be 8GB X 8 which would be 64GB DDR2 memory.

Has anyone confirmed that the 2006-2008 models can go beyond 32GB?
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2013, 10:40 PM   #14
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
I guess the $1,000,000 question is: Can the 2006-2008 Mac Pros support higher than 32GB of memory? Given if 8GB DDR2 works, that would be 8GB X 8 which would be 64GB DDR2 memory.

Has anyone confirmed that the 2006-2008 models can go beyond 32GB?
Guy at Apple forums posted screenies of 64GB using 8 chips.

But as I mentioned, even at $350/pair, you are looking at minimum of $1,400 for RAM that you could get for a small fraction in the FASTER type on a 2009/12 .
If you worked at a place that scrapped servers you might get lucky, but as I have already discovered, "PC2 5300F FB-DIMM" isn't enough to be sure it works.

But yes, he claims to get 64 to all show up in a 3,1. Hardly worth lying about.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 01:35 AM   #15
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Guy at Apple forums posted screenies of 64GB using 8 chips.

But as I mentioned, even at $350/pair, you are looking at minimum of $1,400 for RAM that you could get for a small fraction in the FASTER type on a 2009/12 .
If you worked at a place that scrapped servers you might get lucky, but as I have already discovered, "PC2 5300F FB-DIMM" isn't enough to be sure it works.

But yes, he claims to get 64 to all show up in a 3,1. Hardly worth lying about.
$1,400 ?? Is that "new" price or something? I would think used prices should be between $75 and $100 a stick (average)... And occasional deals happening at around $500 for all 8 DIMMs. At least that's hoe the 4GB chips are... About half that - on average... <shrug>

Truth be told I almost never see slower speed 8GB FM DIMMs - almost at all.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 03:01 AM   #16
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
$1,400 ?? Is that "new" price or something? I would think used prices should be between $75 and $100 a stick (average)... And occasional deals happening at around $500 for all 8 DIMMs. At least that's hoe the 4GB chips are... About half that - on average... <shrug>

Truth be told I almost never see slower speed 8GB FM DIMMs - almost at all.
Take a moment to read the thread and follow links.

If you can link to 8GB sticks for $75, by all means post them.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 07:11 AM   #17
Mac Newblet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Yay ! This is exactly what I was hoping to get from this thread, by this logic the other set SHOULD work.
Cool!

These also work for me, but they said they don't know if they'll be producing more any time soon.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They do have 4GB sticks in 4x2 kits on Amazon though.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro, 2x 2.8 Quad Core, 18GB, 128 GB Samsung 830 boot, 3 GB Seagate 7200,GeForce GTX650
Mac Newblet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 07:23 AM   #18
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Take a moment to read the thread and follow links.

If you can link to 8GB sticks for $75, by all means post them.
LOL, of course I have. I'm not your average twit ya know. And I do see the prices currently listed. I even see an ad for Apple1,1 8GB DIMMs. I was only commenting about what should be. And while I doubt this is the right kind it goes to show that deals do happen. Maybe... I didn't actually read the details. And other deals can be seen here as well but again it's probably 4 column??? <shrug>


.

Last edited by Tesselator; Mar 1, 2013 at 07:52 AM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 07:30 AM   #19
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac Newblet View Post
Cool!

These also work for me, but they said they don't know if they'll be producing more any time soon.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They do have 4GB sticks in 4x2 kits on Amazon though.
He's looking for 8GB single DIMMS's to push to 64GB total.
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 01:39 PM   #20
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesselator View Post
LOL, of course I have. I'm not your average twit ya know. And I do see the prices currently listed. I even see an ad for Apple1,1 8GB DIMMs. I was only commenting about what should be. And while I doubt this is the right kind it goes to show that deals do happen. Maybe... I didn't actually read the details. And other deals can be seen here as well but again it's probably 4 column??? <shrug>


.
If you don't have any info other than to show you know how to use "search" feature at Ebay, why post in this thread?

"it goes to show that deals happen" leads to...GDDR3 RAM, the cheap stuff that I mentioned above since it works in 2009 and later Macs. (ie, wrong stuff, waste of time, won't even fit in slots, not on point)

I was hoping to get actual useable info, not jibber jabber and idle speculation.

Please?
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 05:09 PM   #21
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
If you don't have any info other than to show you know how to use "search" feature at Ebay, why post in this thread?

"it goes to show that deals happen" leads to...GDDR3 RAM, the cheap stuff that I mentioned above since it works in 2009 and later Macs. (ie, wrong stuff, waste of time, won't even fit in slots, not on point)

I was hoping to get actual useable info, not jibber jabber and idle speculation.

Please?
Are you having a bad day or something? Sorry to hear it if you are. No need to be offensive (or defensive?) about it tho.

The link I provided ( http://www.ebay.com/itm/APPLE-16GB-2...item1e75c7c8fb ) should indeed prove useful. If you can stop and think for a moment you might conclude that this person could be questioned for the actual part number and product specification. Then you could look around and try to find a reasonable deal on some and try it out for yourself. Which is what you said the whole purpose of this thread was. So funnily enough if you had employed the same "search skills" you criticize me for you might have been able to avoid having to start a new thread at all. I'm glad you did tho... it gave me a nice chance to jibber-jabber with the people who come here for that and enjoy it.

Please!

.

Last edited by Tesselator; Mar 1, 2013 at 05:28 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 06:20 PM   #22
MacVidCards
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
see vendor information in user profile
thanks for all your help
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 06:36 PM   #23
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
NP, if you find out the part number from that guy please share...
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2013, 11:52 AM   #24
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
So, have you contacted the guy? Any info yet?
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2013, 03:56 PM   #25
rcook55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I have 6 of these in my 1,1 the label says:

Nanya NT2GT72U4NB1BN-3C They are 2G FB-DIMMS 5-5-5, running at 667MHz.

This is what System Information has to say:

Code:
  Size:	2 GB
  Type:	DDR2 FB-DIMM
  Speed:	667 MHz
  Status:	OK
  Manufacturer:	0x830B
  Part Number:	0x4E543247543732553850443142442D334320
  Serial Number:	0xDC0D2C4A
Hope that helps.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
If you worked at a place that scrapped servers you might get lucky, but as I have already discovered, "PC2 5300F FB-DIMM" isn't enough to be sure it works.
If it weren't for a couple of Dell workstations that we retired I would have 4Gb of RAM right now Stuff is expensive, the number one reason IMO to skip over a 1,1 unless it's free.
rcook55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC