Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 15, 2005, 08:58 AM   #1
mrzeigler
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
HELP: My Nikon D70 will no longer mount

I never had a problem transfering images from my D70 to my G4 (OS 10.3.9) before, but this past week the camera has failed to mount on the desktop when I connect it. It isn't a problem with the camera, since it mounts with no problems on my G3 at work (10.2.something), my old blueberry iBook (OS9) and my wife's iBook (10.4) -- and I use the same firewire to connect it to all those machines, so the cable isn't an issue. Not only does it not appear on desktop, but the camera is not recognized by iPhoto, Finder and Image Capture. Any ideas on how to fix this?
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 02:12 PM   #2
tech4all
macrumors 68040
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Have you tried repairing permissions? Seems simple, but it could help.

How about restarting the computer? Sometimes this happens to me, the Finder won't see the camera, and restart fixes it.

Does it show up in Disk Utility?
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 03:31 PM   #3
mrzeigler
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Restarting doesn't help

problem persists after restart. The camera doesn't appear in disc utility... Running disc first aid didn't find anything relevant; after repairing a few unrelated permissions, problem still exists.
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 03:35 PM   #4
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
have you tried putting the CF card in a separate card reader? is it recognized then?
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 03:55 PM   #5
mrzeigler
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
re: Nikon D70

I don't have a card reader. Have always directly connected the camera to my computer via USB. I'm using the same USB port as always (keyboard) and just saw that the camera is being recognized to some extent -- it is appearing under the USB Device Tree in System Profiler. But still nothing on my desktop or iPhoto.
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 03:57 PM   #6
crazzyeddie
macrumors 68030
 
crazzyeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida, USA
You could try resetting the camera... it could be a software issue on the D70.
__________________
Macbook Air 2010
Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz
4GB DDR3 RAM
iPhone 5 Black
crazzyeddie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 04:16 PM   #7
mrzeigler
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
re: Nikon D70

The problem doesn't appear to be in the camera, since three other Macs continue to recognize it without a problem...
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 04:21 PM   #8
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrzeigler
The problem doesn't appear to be in the camera, since three other Macs continue to recognize it without a problem...
have you tried other usb ports on that mac? especially ones actually on the tower?
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 04:24 PM   #9
mrzeigler
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
re: Nikon D70

yes, have used the USB spots on the back of the machine. same results.
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 05:03 PM   #10
yenko
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SouthWest-USA
ooops, somebody beat me to it.

Check your Nikon software updates or check Image Capture and see if it changed from your last settings.
__________________
Life's too short!

Last edited by yenko; Oct 15, 2005 at 05:07 PM.
yenko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2006, 06:53 AM   #11
mrzeigler
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Solution -- but not an ideal one

Well, the problem disappeared when I upgraded to 10.4.3 yesterday. I'm not happy that the only known fix cost me $70 (educator's discount -- it'll cost more for others; I guess for those experiencing the same problem, the workaround of buying a card reader is more affordable.
Had I not been upgrading for other reasons, I'd be a little bitter.
mrzeigler is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to replace my D70 mrkramer Digital Photography 27 Sep 3, 2013 12:35 PM
Nikon 50mm Prime lens (1.4g or 1.8g) to big (tight FOV) for nikon d5200? Chuck-Norris Digital Photography 104 May 28, 2013 05:27 PM
TM Drive will not mount but will mount locally alec6542 MacBook Pro 0 Mar 14, 2013 01:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC