Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 1, 2013, 09:50 AM   #1
MLforAll
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
OS X 10.8 for old Macs (Graphics Working!)

Hi !

Sorry if my English is bad, I'm French.

I recently succeeded to install Mountain Lion 10.8.2 on my Late 2006 iMac with ATIRadeon X1600 graphics who is worked very well (with graphics acceleration and OpenGL Support) !

Macs who work with v2 :

iMac X1600 : Perfect
iMac GMA 950 : Perfect
MacBook GMA 950 : Perfect
MacBook GMA X3100 : Perfect
Mac Mini GMA 950 : Not tested, should work !
MacBook Pro X1600 : Not tested, should work !

Macs who work with v3 :

iMac X1600 : Perfect
iMac GMA 950 : Doesn't work yet
MacBook GMA 950 : Doesn't work yet
MacBook GMA X3100 : Doesn't work yet
Mac Mini GMA 950 : Doesn't work yet
MacBook Pro X1600 : Not tested, should work !

---------------------------------------------------------------

Hack ML v3 : A Totally new Hack for ML !



Change log :

- Add 64 bits support
- Add 64 bits Graphics support with sleep and QE/CI
- Fix Networking problems
- Fix kexts problems
- Fix iSight problem (lags).

Public Testing !!!!! : download the beta here !!!

SAME GUIDE !

State :

- This works perfectly on my iMac Late 2006 ! Should work on MacBook Pro who have ATI Radeon X1600 Graphics !
- This doesn't works on any MacBooks yet because there isn't 64 bits driver for GMA Graphics... (PM me if you are skilled in decompiling, in c.....)
- It takes more time to boot than v2.
- You can't choose your startup disk from ML (System or Installation).


Can I add my graphics card to the Hack ?

- To add your Graphics Card, the kexts must be 64 bits and from Lion 10.7.5.
- PM me if your Graphics Card (except ATI Radeon X1600) works.



---------------------------------------------------------------

Here the method I created (Text) :

1. Buy ML via the MacAppStore
2. Go to your Install Mountain Lion Application -> click Show Packages Contents -> Contents -> SharedSupport -> and mount InstallESD.
3. open a terminal and type : open /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ ESD/basesystem.dmg
4. Partition your Hard drive (see pics)
5. Restore your Installer partition with Mac OS X Base System
6. When restoring operation is finished, eject Mac OS X Base System DISK IMAGE and rename your Installer partition to ML Setup (with a space between ML and Setup).
7. on terminal, type : sudo rm /Volumes/ML\ Setup/System/Installation/Packages
sudo cp -R /Volumes/Mac\ OS\ X\ Install\ ESD/Packages /Volumes/ML\ Setup/System/Installation
8. When copying operation is finished, download this file here (Hack ML v2, don't download if you want to test v3 !).
9. Unzip this and move the folder on your startup disk (/).
10. Go to the Hack ML folder, and open Install.command
11. After running, you should be see the message : Done ! You can....
12. Boot into your ML Setup partition and Install ML on a partition who must be named : ML
(If it's doesn't boot (Waiting for DSMOS), boot into your main system and type on a terminal window :
sudo chmod -R 755 /Volumes/ML\ Setup/System/Library/Extensions
sudo chown -R root:wheel /Volumes/ML\ Setup/System/Library/Extensions
13. After installing, you should see Installation Failed. It's not important, It's normal !
14. When you see this error message, go to Utilities -> Terminal and type : /Hack.command
15. After hacking, close terminal and reboot into your ML disk (It named ML).
16. enjoy with ML on your iMac or MacBook !

The method in images :


































The "rm : No such file or directory" error is removed with Hack ML v2.


Continue to follow steps 11, 12...

PS : To Upgarde to 10.8.2, apply the update via the Mac App Store. After installing, reboot into your Installation and reapply /Hack.command on a terminal. Then, reboot into your ML disk.

MLforAll on twitter, please follow, I publish news (In French, sorry) for the Hack's state.

Last edited by MLforAll; Mar 8, 2013 at 11:50 AM.
MLforAll is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 11:04 AM   #2
rezzo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chile
I am very interested in doing this in my old MacBook2.1, but I think you need a little more detail (maybe screenshots) in the guide.

Greetings.
__________________
P! ./viva-chile.sh
rezzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 11:08 AM   #3
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
I haven't Lion or SL partition because I use ML on my main partition but I will update the guide with screenshots adding.
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2013, 11:52 AM   #4
rezzo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chile
great, thx MLforAll
__________________
P! ./viva-chile.sh
rezzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 03:57 AM   #5
RSL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I've yet to try this but it sounds GREAT!!!

Merci beaucoup!!!
RSL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 06:20 AM   #6
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
This is a pic from my iTouch 5G :



You can see a Early 2006 iMac Core Duo upgraded to a Core 2 Duo and running Mountain Lion's Launchpad (search bar) !
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 11:38 AM   #7
rezzo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chile
Finally a guide that work for me! thx MLforAll





For the moment I only found that the dock look different (maybe issue of the GMA950?) and a minor problem with the old keyboard of my MacBook2,1 with the numeric lock LED (F6 key), if I press the Cap Lock key *both* led (cap lock and numeric lock) turning on but if I deactivate the Cap Lock the led of the numeric lock is still on.

Again, great work man.
__________________
P! ./viva-chile.sh

Last edited by rezzo; Mar 2, 2013 at 02:46 PM.
rezzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 12:27 PM   #8
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
The dock issue is only for GMA950.
But, it's a fix for that :

Open a terminal window, from ML and type :

defaults write com.apple.dock hide-mirror -bool yes
killall Dock

You should see the dock background after typing that.

For the keyboard, I work on that. It's a issue with their keyboards.
MLforAll is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2013, 02:59 PM   #9
rezzo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chile
Great, now the dock look fine. thx again!

__________________
P! ./viva-chile.sh
rezzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 03:05 AM   #10
RSL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rezzo View Post
Great, now the dock look fine. thx again!
How's the performance like on the Macbook? Can you compare it to Lion or SL?

Thanks.
RSL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 04:08 AM   #11
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
RSL, the MacBook 2,1 has better graphics performance than Lion !
The Launchpad isn't lacked like Mission Control, switching desktops, the Notification Center... All have better graphics in Mountain Lion !

I'm very happy to have it as my Main System !

Specs :
OS : OS X 10.8.2
Graphics : GMA 950, 64 MB
RAM : 3 GB
Model : MacBook 2,1

PS : Sorry for my server problems, it's an electric problem
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 04:13 AM   #12
RSL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLforAll View Post
RSL, the MacBook 2,1 has better graphics performance than Lion !
The Launchpad isn't lacked like Mission Control, switching desktops, the Notification Center... All have better graphics in Mountain Lion !

I'm very happy to have it as my Main System !

Specs :
OS : OS X 10.8.2
Graphics : GMA 950, 64 MB
RAM : 3 GB
Model : MacBook 2,1

PS : Sorry for my server problems, it's an electric problem
Wow, amazing, thanks!!!
RSL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 05:16 AM   #13
Michelasso
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
That's a good work. Bravo! Just few things:

- Where did you get the kext for GMA 950 with QE/QL support? Did you make them? Just curious
- Is the sleeping working fine? with the kexts I have now it gets stuck in a black screen
- Any chance you can put the files in Dropbox or anywhere else? That server is still not working.

Thanks!
Michelasso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 05:44 AM   #14
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
Michelasso,

- The GMA 950 kext are from Lion 10.7.5 !! I create a combined OpenGL.framework for their support on Mountain Lion !!!!!

- The sleep worked, like brightness !!! The graphics card is FULLY SUPPORTED !!!!!

- You can download the file here !

------------------------------------

MacBook 2,1 Graphics Performance on ML here.
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:16 AM   #15
mishendr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
@MLforALL:

Do I only need the "AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext" from system/library/extensions or also al the other X3100 related kexts from 10.7.5? (for my Macbook3,1 with X3100)

Thank you very much! Merci Beaucoup!
mishendr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:20 AM   #16
bosscharles
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Hi, could you re-upload the images? For some reason they are not showing on your initial post. Also, the hack download is not working.... This is excellent news by the way!!!! Can't wait to get this runnning.

Thanks.

Last edited by bosscharles; Mar 3, 2013 at 06:26 AM.
bosscharles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:21 AM   #17
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
You need to copy these file from Lion 10.7.5 to ML :

- AppleIntelGMAX3100.kext
- AppleIntelGMAX3100FB.kext
- AppleIntelGMAX3100GA.plugin
- AppleIntelGMAX3100GLDriver.bundle
- AppleIntelGMAX3100VADriver.bundle

Your graphics should work after repairing permissions :

- with Kext Utility or
- with Disk Utility or
- with terminal :
sudo chmod -R 755 /System/Library/Extensions
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions

Last edited by MLforAll; Mar 3, 2013 at 12:19 PM.
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:21 AM   #18
Michelasso
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLforAll View Post
Michelasso,

- The GMA 950 kext are from Lion 10.7.5 !! I create a combined OpenGL.framework for their support on Mountain Lion !!!!!
- The sleep worked, like brightness !!! The graphics card is FULLY SUPPORTED !!!!!
- You can download the file here !

------------------------------------

MacBook 2,1 Graphics Performance on ML here.
I am a bit confused. So you changed the OpenGL framework to make it working with the 32 bits 10.7.5 kexts? I thought the kernel was going to ignore them. I assume I can safely apply the patch over my working 10.8.2 installation. Am I correct?

Sorry if I insist, I just want to make it sure that I know what I am doing. My internet connection is pretty bad, so I can't check the files yet. And thanks for using another server!!
Michelasso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:32 AM   #19
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
The patch do :

- replacing Extensions folder with the dp1 Extensions folder
- replacing mach_kernel with the dp1 mach_kernel
- replacing OpenGL.framework with my modified OpenGL.framework
- adding GMA 950, ATI Radeon X1600 kexts on ML.

To apply the patch :

- You need to create ML Setup disk (Installation disk)
- Patch it with the file who can be downloaded (It must be placed in the root of your startup disk).
- Boot into ML Setup.
- Type in terminal (Utilities -> Terminal) : /Hack.command

The patch work on 10.8 and 10.8.2 ML Systems !

My tests :
I tested the patch on 10.8.0 then I update my system to 10.8.2, reapplying the patch and it rebooted fine on my ML 10.8.2 fully working !
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:47 AM   #20
mishendr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
@MLforALL

After step 6, I get these messages:

cp: /Volumes/ML Setup/System/Installation/Packages: File exists
cp: /Volumes/Mac OS X Install ESD/Packages: unable to copy extended attributes to /Volumes/ML Setup/System/Installation/Packages: No such file or directory
cp: /Volumes/ML Setup/System/Installation/Packages/AdditionalEssentials.pkg: No such file or directory

etc...

Has the copying gone wrong then?
mishendr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:53 AM   #21
ShiryuX
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Belgium
Hey, I am going to follow your guide this afternoon in upgrading the 2006 iMac I have at home.

Hoping it works great!

Un grand merci, je pensais pas que quelqu'un y arriverait!
(Thanks a lot, didn't think anyone would fix the 2006 iMacs for ML)
ShiryuX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 07:00 AM   #22
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
mishendr,

- Your Installation disk must be named "ML Setup" (without quotes)
- If it doesn't work anymore, type : rm /Volumes/ML\ Setup/System/Installation/Packages
before.
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 07:27 AM   #23
mishendr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
It's copying now! It was the creation of the folder with your command that did the trick. And for others: it can take some time to copy.

----------

@MLforALL

I do get this message now after step 9:

rm: /Volumes/ML Setup/mach_kernel: No such file or directory
Done ! You can reboot on your disk to complete the Installation process !
logout

Is that a problem...?
Merci.
mishendr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 07:33 AM   #24
MLforAll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Send a message via Skype™ to MLforAll
mishendr,

I'ts normal, you can reboot and install ML !
MLforAll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 07:48 AM   #25
mishendr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLforAll View Post
mishendr,

I'ts normal, you can reboot and install ML !
Stupid me, I could have seen that myself when looking at your pics...!

Now rebooting, first reboot didn't work, I just applied the 2 terminal commands of step 11.... (first time I got the spinning wheel).

----------

@MLforALL

I have a problem, I'm stuck at "waiting for DSMOS..."

I did apply the two commands of step 11, but no luck....

Any advice?
mishendr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC