Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Old Mar 3, 2013, 05:39 PM   #1
applegamer247
macrumors newbie

15" Retina MacBook Pro or 27" iMac

Hello everyone,

I'm having trouble deciding between a Retina Macbook Pro 15" with the updated i7 and 768 GB SSD or a 27" iMac with the i7 and 3TB Fusion Drive. I would use the computer for editing HD video with Final Cut Pro X, Web Development, and regular usage like Safari, iTunes etc. I would also use the computer for when I start college in about a year. I have a Macbook Air but I mainly use it at work in Windows 7 for C# programming. I look forward to your suggestions and thanks in advance
Old Mar 3, 2013, 06:26 PM   #2
Jmhoey
macrumors newbie

Excellent question

I am an IT manager and a professional photographer. I was faced with the same exact situation. I ended up going with the rMBP that you described. Let me tell you why.

I had for years worked off of a laptop, starting with the old G4 Titanium MacBook Pro. I used that exclusively for my photography business at the time. Eventually I needed more overall power and moved to a G5 tower, then replaced that with an Intel iMac 21". That served me well for years. Doing photo and now some video editing I needed more once again. I compared the 27" iMac and the 15" rMBP and decided I wanted the portability again. For intense work and storage I have 12TB on my desk of storage and scratch drive (3 4TB Lacie Thunderbolt drives). For everything else I can work wherever I need. The rMBP rocks all of CS6 and Final Cut Studio as well as Aperture.