Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:16 PM   #1
Still100
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
MS Remote Desktop 2.1.1 work on Mountain Lion?

As title, does it work on M.Lion?

There's conflicting info from what I've read so far. Thanks for your help.
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:18 PM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Still100 View Post
As title, does it work on M.Lion?

There's conflicting info from what I've read so far. Thanks for your help.
I have 2.1.0 and it works on ML just fine. I checked for updates and it didn't tell me that 2.1.1 is available.
__________________
...the tiger striping is so beautiful it makes me want to cry.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:22 PM   #3
Still100
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Thanks, 2.1.1 is available but MS website says its not compatible but some people say they have it working.

I'll try it, just bought my first mac and it's not going to well!
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:25 PM   #4
wlossw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
MS Remote Desktop is very buggy on Mac. Don't get discouraged: there are many viable alternatives, including VNC and Splashtop that work very well.
wlossw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:33 PM   #5
Still100
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'm not keen on using those smaller company products. I'll give it a try and hope it works.

I'm used to the iOS experience so the mac osx experience is a shock! Very far behind. Even little things like mission control not having the apps in a linear format but I'll start a new thread as I have a few questions.

----------

WTF, I just copied the download installation file from the dock to the desktop. A cloud appeared and it disappeared?! Deleted?
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:48 PM   #6
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Still100 View Post
WTF, I just copied the download installation file from the dock to the desktop. A cloud appeared and it disappeared?! Deleted?
Did you accidentally drag the whole Downloads stack off the Dock instead of the individual file? It's probably still available through Finder (in the Downloads folder, which you can drag back onto the Dock if you removed it).
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 04:53 PM   #7
Still100
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Did you accidentally drag the whole Downloads stack off the Dock instead of the individual file? It's probably still available through Finder (in the Downloads folder, which you can drag back onto the Dock if you removed it).
Yeah found it. I did just drag the file, held it over the desktop before I let it go.

Installed it, crashed once already but currently working in a small non-widescreen non-resize able window. Lol, this is gonna be tough.
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 05:12 PM   #8
Still100
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Ok, it actually works ok and screen is re-sizeable.

Thanks
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 04:55 AM   #9
Amadeus71
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I can confirm that it is working in principal (v 2.1.1), but every few hours it crashes for no apparent reason (even not not being actively used).
Amadeus71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 07:15 PM   #10
Still100
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I sometimes have to rdp to another computer through rdp'ing through this to a middle computer. The shift key doesn't work. I have a virtual machine setup now.
Still100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 11:54 AM   #11
matt2053
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/18309066/rd...uild-XS26-.dmg

There is the unreleased 2.1.2 version which does work fine on ML.
matt2053 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 12:56 AM   #12
emptysoul
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
I'm finding 2x RDP client to be a fantastic alternative. It actually feels faster than the standard client on Windows 7.
emptysoul is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop: Aqua Desktop on Mountain Lion kunai UI Customization 5 Oct 13, 2013 06:06 PM
Mountain Lion Desktop Photo wakeolda OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Mar 24, 2013 09:32 PM
Mountain Lion and Remote Control Harbinger1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Oct 22, 2012 07:31 AM
Post Your Mountain Lion Desktop! gmanist1000 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 15, 2012 04:42 PM
Remote Upgrade to Mountain Lion Server crose01 Mac mini 5 Jul 30, 2012 09:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC