Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Old Mar 6, 2013, 11:29 PM   #1
Mav3rick40
macrumors newbie

Help!!!! - Push Notifications activated by Location Services?

Hello, my name is Marc and I'm new to the forums, and I'm a first year student trying to make an iPhone/ipad app. It's a radio app the customer wants push notifications, where when you drive by like Walmart and if they have a special on soda it will push it to the app. I've tried Google to find out how to implement it but can't find anything so I don't know if it's even possible to do that. Thought I would ask here see if anyone can help.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
Mav3rick40 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 07:38 AM   #2
waterskier2007
macrumors 68000

Send a message via AIM to waterskier2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mav3rick40 View Post
Hello, my name is Marc and I'm new to the forums, and I'm a first year student trying to make an iPhone/ipad app. It's a radio app the customer wants push notifications, where when you drive by like Walmart and if they have a special on soda it will push it to the app. I've tried Google to find out how to implement it but can't find anything so I don't know if it's even possible to do that. Thought I would ask here see if anyone can help.

Thanks in advance.

It actually may not even be a push notification. If you figure out some way to determine when you need to send a notification you can just send a local notification scheduled for one second in the future (or some small duration of time so that it gets fired right away).

There is a google places API that can find the location of things around the user, you could use that to find local stuff. After that, figuring out things like "Does XXXX have a special right now," I would leave up to you

Visit the page here to learn about local notifications
16 GB Nexus 7 (2012)
waterskier2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote