Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 7, 2013, 02:10 AM   #1
corpfan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Need to find 32GB RAM for new 27" iMac

Going to be ordering my new 27" iMac shortly (I know...get in line...).

Here are the specs.

3.4GHz i7 CPU
8GB RAM (to be replaced)
768GB SSD
680MX 2GB GPU
Apple Care plan
Magic Trackpad

...also adding a Cyberpower 1500 Sine Wave UPS, Parallels and Windows 7 Pro.


So, I have been trying to figure out exactly what RAM to get to add to the new machine.

I am in Canada. So I am looking mostly at NewEgg.ca.

Some things I am not sure about:

a) CL9 vs. CL10 vs. CL11

b) Which RAM is 100% compatible and will work without issue

c) Not sure if I should be looking at "Apple RAM" or "Notebook RAM"

Price is not really a concern as the machine is already costing a pretty penny...just want to get the best RAM I can get that will power things. Looking to spend between $150 and $300 for 32GB (2 x 2 x 8GB sets).


Thanks!
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 11:34 AM   #2
Phazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London, UK
It's sodimm so notebook ram.
As soon as I get my 27" iMac I'm also going to put in 32gb, and I'm buying Corsair Vengeance ram, which is CL10.
The ram that comes stock with the iMac is Hynix CL11.
You could get the cheaper Crucial, which is CL11. It runs at 1.35V, while the stock RAM is 1.5V.
Corsair Vengeance is 1.5V
__________________
Late 2009 13" MacBook Pro, 2.53 C2D, 8GB RAM, SSD Samsung 840 EVO 500GB.
iPhone 6 128GB Space Grey
Phazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 12:04 PM   #3
oldgeezer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Maryland
I added 16gb of OWC ram to my 2012 iMac to bring it up to 24gb. Their 32gb memory kit is about $260.

Their ram runs really well in my machine.
oldgeezer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 12:33 PM   #4
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I also heard that Kingston HyperX is good and is CL9 - would this be compatible? Would the heat spreaders cause any issues?

----------

Would any or all of these be compatible?

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820233265

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820104317 (aware this is out of stock right now)

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820148614

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231580

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820144593

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820233362

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820148609

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231631

Anyone running any of these smoothly?

Is there an advantage of one over another besides price?
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 01:36 PM   #5
FreemanW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Real Northern California
This really isn't rocket science

Just go to Crucial, plug in your system in the Memory Advisor Tool, and click through. One and done.

Or, if you have an aversion to things being guaranteed and just working . . . . . . get something at Newegg that isn't necessarily designed for the iMac or on Apple's QVL and then roll your sleeves up and research memory testing software.
__________________
iMac, iPad, iPhone, TimeCapsule x 2
FreemanW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 05:46 PM   #6
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Where can one find the Apple QVL?
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 06:50 PM   #7
FreemanW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Real Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpfan1 View Post
Where can one find the Apple QVL?
Good question.

Apparently Apple does not maintain a QVL as Google doesn't find one for Mac.

Here is what Apple has to say about late 2012 iMac memory.

All the more reason to go with a vendor (such as Crucial or OWC) that provides a compatibility guarantee with their sale.

If I remember correctly, the memory that came with my iMac and the Crucial I ordered and installed, all were 1.35v and CL11. (I can't find any voltage info on the hynix that came with the iMac)
__________________
iMac, iPad, iPhone, TimeCapsule x 2

Last edited by FreemanW; Mar 7, 2013 at 06:58 PM.
FreemanW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 06:59 PM   #8
Nuke61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpfan1 View Post
Where can one find the Apple QVL?
Ther isn't one AFAIK. What Apple has put out is here: http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3011

But all it says is PC3-12800 (1600) DDR3 SO-DIMM

It seems to me like you're making this more complicated than it needs to be. As others have said, either use the Crucial website and let it pick the ram based on the computer or go to the OWC website... or get PC3-12800 DDR3 ram somewhere else.

http://www.crucial.com/mac/index.aspx
Nuke61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 07:30 PM   #9
mellofello
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
This is ironic because people asked me the same thing when I put 16 gb in my 2010 imac, but what can you do with 32 gb of ram? I opened every program is cs5 and still didn't use all 16 in my 2010.
mellofello is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2013, 10:27 PM   #10
Nuke61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellofello View Post
This is ironic because people asked me the same thing when I put 16 gb in my 2010 imac, but what can you do with 32 gb of ram? I opened every program is cs5 and still didn't use all 16 in my 2010.
I have a Nikon D90 and a photo in RAW format is just over 15 megabytes. Video files are also very large.
Nuke61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 01:28 AM   #11
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Totally understand I am making this "more complicated" than it needs to be...but I am also spending $3200 on a machine (have never spent more than $2600 previously), so I just want to get the best RAM I can get for a decent price (don't mind spending a bit extra, but don't want to get ripped off either).

Why can't it be much simpler?

Why can't their just be a list of what works and what doesn't somewhere? Either by Apple or by users that have things running smoothly?

Personally, I am leaning towards the Corsair Vengeance or Kingston HyperX or any Crucial. Just not sure yet.

Remember again, I am in Canada and don't want to pay extra shipping plus duty plus taxes, etc... on something just to order it from OWC or Crucial directly.

Thanks for all the help! This is my 1st Mac and I want to get it right.
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 03:12 AM   #12
minus182
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Go with OWC, they have been around for quite some time and I never have had issues with their RAM.

They ship pretty fast too. And they have responsive and great after sales (and pre sales) support.

If you're still not convinced, they specialize in Macs.
minus182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 09:03 AM   #13
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
If you're installing four new modules, I'd say go with the Kingston HyperX Plug'n'Play, as it's both the fastest available and the fastest RAM that's supported by the iMac. Also, supposedly this will by the last RAM you will install, so getting the greatest makes sense.
Giuly is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 09:14 AM   #14
AndiS.
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpfan1 View Post
I also heard that Kingston HyperX is good and is CL9 - would this be compatible? Would the heat spreaders cause any issues?

----------

Would any or all of these be compatible?

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820233265

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820104317 (aware this is out of stock right now)

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820148614

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231580

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820144593

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820233362

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820148609

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231631

Anyone running any of these smoothly?

Is there an advantage of one over another besides price?
I'm running this one

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820104317 (out of stock)

It's 100% compatible and very fast. I bought 16GB of the HyperX RAM last week, after considering the Corsair Vengeance for a long time. While some people are running the Corsair fine in their iMacs, other users have reported issues.

The HyperX also runs faster than the memory Apple uses, at least on paper according to Geekbench - in actual use I couldn't make out a difference, but others might, depending on their applications.
AndiS. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 09:34 AM   #15
macdaddy001
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Try canadaram.com

YOu can try canadaram.com they are out of Victoria BC. They have great support and ship quickly and have a section specific for Mac. I have used them several times to get for my Imac, powerbook, and macbookpro.
macdaddy001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 09:35 AM   #16
schrobro08
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Bad crucial experience

My late IMAC 2012 i7 fusion gtx 680 crucial experience has been awful. I used the tool on their website to determine which ram i need to use. I kept the stock 8 gigs and added the 16. Ever since I've put it in my computer has not run smooth. Won't wake up or start half the time. Randomly turns on at 5 in the morning after pushing the power button 8 hours earlier. I've tried every combination with just the crucial ram in and it still gives me issues. Now I'm currently just using the stock 8 gigs and have 16 gigs of ram sitting here.

Time to figure out how this return process works and if they will refund me.
schrobro08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 10:42 AM   #17
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Ahhh...really? Darn...

Ordered the Corsair.

http://www.bestdirect.ca/products/24...GX3M2A1600C10/

Price was just too good compared to the almost double HyperX.

Hope there are no issues!

Can you point me to any threads with issues?

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndiS. View Post
I'm running this one

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820104317 (out of stock)

It's 100% compatible and very fast. I bought 16GB of the HyperX RAM last week, after considering the Corsair Vengeance for a long time. While some people are running the Corsair fine in their iMacs, other users have reported issues.

The HyperX also runs faster than the memory Apple uses, at least on paper according to Geekbench - in actual use I couldn't make out a difference, but others might, depending on their applications.
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 12:01 PM   #18
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Managed to cancel my order...phew.

Gonna seek out the HyperX.

Thanks!
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 01:12 PM   #19
elev8d
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by corpfan1 View Post
Managed to cancel my order...phew.

Gonna seek out the HyperX.

Thanks!
Can you let us know how the install goes and what performance changes you notice with the HyperX (8GB to 8GB stock comparison) and if you notice any temperature change? If it goes well for you, I might also shy from Crucial to try this RAM.
__________________
One day I will take a llama to work.
elev8d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 01:23 PM   #20
elev8d
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
If you're installing four new modules, I'd say go with the Kingston HyperX Plug'n'Play, as it's both the fastest available and the fastest RAM that's supported by the iMac. Also, supposedly this will by the last RAM you will install, so getting the greatest makes sense.
I'm looking at the owc ram
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../1600DDR3S32S/

It looks identical to HyperX and cheaper. Both are 1600MHz DDR3. Am I missing something?
__________________
One day I will take a llama to work.
elev8d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 01:31 PM   #21
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by elev8d View Post
I'm looking at the owc ram
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../1600DDR3S32S/

It looks identical to HyperX and cheaper. Both are 1600MHz DDR3. Am I missing something?
No, it's not identical. The OWC and the Corsair are CL11, the Corsair is CL10 and lots of people used to experience problems with it, the Kingston HyperX Plug'n'Play is the fastest with CL9 and has worked flawlessly for everyone who tried it.

You can order it here from the US where most sellers ship to Canada for a reasonable fee, or here from Canada for CDN$129.45 + CDN$4.99 shipping.

Last edited by Giuly; Mar 8, 2013 at 01:42 PM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 02:18 PM   #22
elev8d
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
[QUOTE=Giuly;16965290]No, it's not identical. The OWC and the Corsair are CL11, the Corsair is CL10 and lots of people used to experience problems with it, the Kingston HyperX Plug'n'Play is the fastest with CL9 and has worked flawlessly for everyone who tried it.

Thanks for the explanation, I had never heard of Cas Latency before...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAS_latency

From what I'm reading, it seems like the improvement is not noticeable.
__________________
One day I will take a llama to work.
elev8d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 07:43 PM   #23
Nuke61
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by elev8d View Post
Thanks for the explanation, I had never heard of Cas Latency before...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAS_latency
From what I'm reading, it seems like the improvement is not noticeable
When memory was much slower than it is today, it could make a noticeable difference. But memory is so fast (1600 MHz) that it makes almost no difference.

Here's a quote by another user who tried different CAS speed ram and then benchmarked his computer... take a look at how little difference there was on the Geekbench test by the CL9 HyperX ram vs the stock CL11 ram. Save yourself the headaches and just get the Crucial or OWC ram.

I just got home from the Apple Store with my 27" w/Fusion and 680MX iMac and I'll be getting the OWC ram - 32 gigs.
Quote:
I just installed 32GB of Kingston HyperX RAM DDR3 1600 CL9 1.5v, in my 2012 27" iMac. It's been running 100% stable, even after stress testing it with Compressor 4 compressing several 1080P videos. So far there has been no noticeable problems.

Ram shows up as 1600 MHz DDR3 in about this mac.

Here is my computer stats;
2012 27" iMac - 3.4 GHz i7
768GB Apple SSD
680MX 2GB

---------------------------
Geekbench 2.4.0 Results!
---------------------------

(HyperX 32GB, 4X8GB)
32 bit - 13,173
64 Bit - 14,422

(HyperX 16GB, 2X8GB)
32 bit - 13,039
64 bit - 14,246

(Stock Apple RAM 8GB, 2X4GB)
32 bit - 12,996
64 bit - 14,170
Last edited by stroop; Jan 9, 2013 at 12:52 PM.
Nuke61 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2013, 11:04 PM   #24
corpfan1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Was able to cancel and order the HyperX. 32GB on it's way.

Now I can relax, everything is ordered...and the waiting begins.

Thanks to everyone for the input!
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2013, 02:48 AM   #25
ed45
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by schrobro08 View Post
My late IMAC 2012 i7 fusion gtx 680 crucial experience has been awful. I used the tool on their website to determine which ram i need to use. I kept the stock 8 gigs and added the 16. Ever since I've put it in my computer has not run smooth. ...
I have the same iMac, and followed the same process with Crucial that you did, and ordered a 16GB Ram Kit, part number CT3650282. It's described in the invoice that came with it as:

"Upgrade for a Apple iMac 3.4Ghz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 (27-inch Late 2012) Sy 2-8GB Kit of 2 CT8G3S160BM.Y16F."

Is that what you ordered and received? (I haven't installed it yet.)

Thanks for the info.

Ed
ed45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used iMac 27" with 32GB RAM - Worth it? Tofray iMac 7 Oct 7, 2013 05:47 PM
New 27" iMac What's the best buy for 32GB RAM? gorf37 iMac 39 Dec 26, 2012 12:21 PM
iMac 12,2 i7 27" adn the 32gb RAM question RebelScum iMac 5 Jun 17, 2012 08:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC