Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2013, 12:53 AM   #1
mattxi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Novosibirsk, RU and Minnesota, US
Am I crazy for considering this?

I have and love my rMBP, fully spec'd 15in blah blah blah max stats.

Before I bought it I was seriously considering getting the 27" iMac...and now I'm reconsidering it.

I would get the fully spec'd 27", 32gb, the 768gb ssd, 2gb VRAM, all that to bring it up to a good 4k.

And I want to be able to move it in a pelican case, which sounds perfect.

But I've been told this is stupid.

I love the new iMac, I love the screen, I love the specs I get for nearly the same price I paid for my laptop...but I'll be moving it plenty. Pelican case yes, but it'll be moved.

I plan on selling my rMBP and purchasing this iMac as well as the cheapest MacBook Air.

So is this feasible or am I stupid?

*side note, all work done on these machines are 4k video, photo, and intense gaming.
mattxi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 12:58 AM   #2
xShane
macrumors 6502a
 
xShane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattxi View Post
I have and love my rMBP, fully spec'd 15in blah blah blah max stats.

Before I bought it I was seriously considering getting the 27" iMac...and now I'm reconsidering it.

I would get the fully spec'd 27", 32gb, the 768gb ssd, 2gb VRAM, all that to bring it up to a good 4k.

And I want to be able to move it in a pelican case, which sounds perfect.

But I've been told this is stupid.

I love the new iMac, I love the screen, I love the specs I get for nearly the same price I paid for my laptop...but I'll be moving it plenty. Pelican case yes, but it'll be moved.

I plan on selling my rMBP and purchasing this iMac as well as the cheapest MacBook Air.

So is this feasible or am I stupid?

*side note, all work done on these machines are 4k video, photo, and intense gaming.
Depends. Is performance OR portability more of a concern to you?

The iMac is clearly a better machine, but the rMBP is (obviously) portable.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6, 8GB, 750GB, 1GB VRAM
24" Asus display


"Be the change that you wish to see in the world."
xShane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 01:11 AM   #3
Raima
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
It's silly in terms of lugging such a large device around. You also need to find a power point to be able to use the iMac. There's also a good chance that the iMac will get damaged while travelling.

image

Don't be THAT guy!

Why not just earn the extra money, keep the rMBP and purchase an iMac?

That way you've got the best of both worlds.
__________________
G5 PowerMac, MBA11, MBA13, rMBP15, 2 x iMac27
Raima is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 01:45 AM   #4
gCloud
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Federation of Planets
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattxi View Post
I have and love my rMBP, fully spec'd 15in blah blah blah max stats.

Before I bought it I was seriously considering getting the 27" iMac...and now I'm reconsidering it.

I would get the fully spec'd 27", 32gb, the 768gb ssd, 2gb VRAM, all that to bring it up to a good 4k.

And I want to be able to move it in a pelican case, which sounds perfect.

But I've been told this is stupid.

I love the new iMac, I love the screen, I love the specs I get for nearly the same price I paid for my laptop...but I'll be moving it plenty. Pelican case yes, but it'll be moved.

I plan on selling my rMBP and purchasing this iMac as well as the cheapest MacBook Air.

So is this feasible or am I stupid?

*side note, all work done on these machines are 4k video, photo, and intense gaming.
wait for TB display and use that with your rMBP.
gCloud is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 02:23 AM   #5
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
If you buy 32GB of RAM for $600 from Apple on a user-upgradeable machine, then the answer is yes, you are considerably crazier than most people.

If you replace the 768GB SSD with a 3TB Fusion Drive and order the least amount of RAM possible, you're at $2,749, plus $250 for 32GB of RAM = $3,000.

Last edited by Giuly; Mar 14, 2013 at 02:30 AM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 02:30 AM   #6
NosebagTime
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Osnabrueck, North - West Germany
Or get this...
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Apple-iMac...:B:SHOP:GB:101
NosebagTime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 02:45 AM   #7
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by NosebagTime View Post
I'd prefer a hard case but it all depends on how much it's moved.

Remember this is not a laptop and even with SSD there is a chance that a wrong bump can damage something.

You could be better with the MBP and a decent LED or 2 for more screen space.
__________________
Late 2012 iMac, 27", 3.4Ghz i7, 32Gb RAM, 2Gb 680Mx, 1Tb Fusion and iPhone 5s.
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 03:36 AM   #8
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancer View Post
I'd prefer a hard case but it all depends on how much it's moved.

Remember this is not a laptop and even with SSD there is a chance that a wrong bump can damage something.

You could be better with the MBP and a decent LED or 2 for more screen space.
IDK, I think with the right Pelican case and custom foam the iMac will be well protected and at 15 or so pounds, it is a heck of a lot easier to move around than a MBP plus LED montior, cables, etc.

I wouldn't do it personally, but if I HAD to do it, I think an iMac in the right case with wheels and protection would be the easiest way.
__________________
Various Apple Products

Last edited by marc11; Mar 14, 2013 at 03:57 AM.
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 03:59 AM   #9
corpfan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
This.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
If you buy 32GB of RAM for $600 from Apple on a user-upgradeable machine, then the answer is yes, you are considerably crazier than most people.

If you replace the 768GB SSD with a 3TB Fusion Drive and order the least amount of RAM possible, you're at $2,749, plus $250 for 32GB of RAM = $3,000.
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 05:17 PM   #10
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Yeah with the 27" NEVER buy the Apple RAM. I got after-market, installed in minutes and now for less than $200 I have 32Gb of RAM and will sell the Apple RAM shortly.
__________________
Late 2012 iMac, 27", 3.4Ghz i7, 32Gb RAM, 2Gb 680Mx, 1Tb Fusion and iPhone 5s.
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 09:31 PM   #11
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancer View Post
Yeah with the 27" NEVER buy the Apple RAM. I got after-market, installed in minutes and now for less than $200 I have 32Gb of RAM and will sell the Apple RAM shortly.

what he said ! save yourself the 400.00
__________________
Once You Go Mac, You Never Go Back !
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 09:53 PM   #12
bill phillips
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Thumbs up

or you can do exactly like i did, i had both also, the maxed out retina and maxed out iMac, after some heating issues etc with the retina i brought it back traded it in for the 15 in macbook pro, opened it up, put in a samsung 840 pro ssd and put the stock hd in the cd drive slot, and 16 gb ram ....now i have even faster read and writes than i did with the retinas stock ssd, and a back up 500gb hd and i put a couple thousand bucks back in my pocket..win win

----------

or you could trade it in for the macbook pro like i said and upgrade it yourself like i did and just buy a tb display with the money you saved and now you basically have an imac and a laptop wheneva you need and even more money in your pocket
bill phillips is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 11:30 PM   #13
flavr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
You want to carry around a 27inch iMac hahahahaha...have you lost it man?!
flavr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 07:06 AM   #14
robbiemc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Sounds a bit..unusual, but I suppose it depends how long you're staying at your destinations?
If you've got a 'home' base that you spend the majority of your time, then just put an iMac there and take a smaller device on the road with you. That's what I do.

If you genuinely split your time between multiple locations then it might work, but don't be surprised if something fails through handling (and don't rely on Applecare to support you in this situation). Pelican cases are all very well and good, but the device itself still needs to have been designed to be movable. Pelican cases are often used for expensive camera gear, but of course those devices are designed to be moved.
robbiemc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 08:31 PM   #15
corpfan1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Out of curiousity...what is the best option for selling the 8GB or RAM? What is it going for and where is the best place to sell it (ebay or other)?

Just trying to decide whether it is worth holding onto in case I have to send my MAC in for service or something goes wrong with the 32GB of Kingston HyperX I am installing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancer View Post
Yeah with the 27" NEVER buy the Apple RAM. I got after-market, installed in minutes and now for less than $200 I have 32Gb of RAM and will sell the Apple RAM shortly.
corpfan1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 09:14 PM   #16
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
I'll probably sell mine on eBay at what every price they are going for.

Because of a mix up my 27" came with 16Gb (2x8Gb) and I only paid for 8Gb, thanks Apple.
__________________
Late 2012 iMac, 27", 3.4Ghz i7, 32Gb RAM, 2Gb 680Mx, 1Tb Fusion and iPhone 5s.
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Am I crazy or not? iPhone5s5c iPad 6 Nov 17, 2013 01:51 AM
Apple Mail 6.5 Crazy Data Usage - Downloading like Crazy?! coolspot18 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 17, 2013 06:52 PM
Am i crazy? mattonthemoon MacBook Air 6 Jun 10, 2013 11:14 PM
All iPads: I'm going crazy... iHale iPad 6 Dec 8, 2012 05:05 PM
iPad: Am I crazy? Liquinn iPad 10 Nov 24, 2012 10:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC