Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Old Mar 14, 2013, 01:28 PM   #1
2IS
macrumors 68000

Will I benefit from a "clean install?"

I have a 2010 13" MBA with 4GB RAM and 128GB SSD and feel that the machine is more sluggish than it should be. This came preinstalled with SL and I did an upgrade install to Lion then again to ML. I also have a bootcamp partition with Windows 7 that I primarily use via parallels.

My Issues:
1) Sluggish performance, particularly "instant on" which is anything but instant at the moment

2) Not a lot of free space left even though I don't have all that much on here, I'm thinking with windows and two OSX upgrades on top of each other, there's a whole lot of bloat

What I'm considering:
Clean install of ML (already created the flash drive) and using strictly parallels instead of bootcamp for windows. I never boot into windows natively and I figure this way I'd save on some of the wasted space that comes through the partitioning processes.

Suggestions are welcomed.
2IS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2013, 02:43 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601

Approved.
Old Mar 14, 2013, 03:12 PM   #3
stchman
macrumors 6502a

Send a message via AIM to stchman Send a message via Yahoo to stchman Send a message via Skype™ to stchman
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2IS View Post
I have a 2010 13" MBA with 4GB RAM and 128GB SSD and feel that the machine is more sluggish than it should be. This came preinstalled with SL and I did an upgrade install to Lion then again to ML. I also have a bootcamp partition with Windows 7 that I primarily use via parallels.

My Issues:
1) Sluggish performance, particularly "instant on" which is anything but instant at the moment

2) Not a lot of free space left even though I don't have all that much on here, I'm thinking with windows and two OSX upgrades on top of each other, there's a whole lot of bloat