Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 15, 2013, 07:47 PM   #1
xlr8or
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
MacBook Air RAM memory upgradable?

Potential Apple customer here. Is the RAM Upgradeable on MacBook Air & MacBook Pro notebooks?

Thanks in advance!
xlr8or is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 07:49 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
It is only upgradable on the non-retina Macbook Pros.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2013, 11:02 PM   #3
thadoggfather
macrumors 68040
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Soldered to the logic board, for your convenience
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:32 AM   #4
dbroncos78087
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
Air: purchase what you plan to use.

Pro: should still be upgradable. But the retina is not.
__________________
13" MacBook Air Mid-2012: 1.8 GHz i5, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD
Mac Mini Late-2012: 2.3 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HD
iPhone 5, black: 32 GB
iPad Mini Retina, white: 16 GB
dbroncos78087 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:41 PM   #5
stchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to stchman Send a message via Yahoo to stchman Send a message via Skype™ to stchman
My advice, max out the ram when you order it if you get a MBA or rMBP.

The regular MBPs just get the base 4GB as you can slap in cheap RAM from Newegg for a fraction of the cost of what Apple charges you.
stchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 03:27 PM   #6
xlr8or
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks for the replies . now for the decisions to make!

73's!
xlr8or is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 03:39 PM   #7
dbroncos78087
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Virginia
I wish the Air would come with 16gb. I use a VM for Win7 because I use Access and Project for work at times and while 8gb has served me well I watch the Activity Monitor and it gets up to 7gb at times since the VM uses 4gb regardless of whether it needs it or not.
dbroncos78087 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has the Macbook Air mid 2013 upgradable SSD? iPersian MacBook Air 8 Jul 15, 2013 04:42 PM
21.5" iMac Has No User-Upgradable RAM; 27" Has Four Accessible RAM Slots MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 257 Dec 27, 2012 03:34 AM
Is Non-Retina MacBook Pro 2012 upgradable? Memory/SSD? oldguru MacBook Pro 6 Aug 22, 2012 02:59 AM
It turns out that the MacBook Air is actually upgradable. Power Macintosh Wasteland 17 Jul 17, 2012 06:16 AM
MacBook Pro with Retina Display - RAM NOT User upgradable 24Frames MacBook 2 Jun 13, 2012 10:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC