Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2013, 07:54 AM   #1
phillf1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
iMovie '11 Problem - Not Playing Video

Yesterday when I imported some new footage to my iMovie library, I noticed I can't play any videos or open projects anymore. The part of iMovie where the video is shown goes all weird colours (screenshot attached). I've already deleted my cache files and done anything I could find on the internet. Can anyone please help me with it?

Cheers,
Phill
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-03-17 at 12.48.12.png
Views:	81
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	403015  
phillf1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 08:03 AM   #2
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Firstly Phill were are you storing your footage? on a external hard drive or your main hard drive.
Have you tried restarting your computer?. Also do you have any other application open on your dock?
How much space have you got left on External or main drive.
These are some of the questions which could help to eliminate your problem.
Looking from your screen shot too much blood has been pumped into your event folder.
Hope this helps? no doubt other members can add to this problem.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 08:10 AM   #3
phillf1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
@daybreaker

@daybreaker Thank You for Your replay. I'm storing it on my main hard drive. I currently have around 95 GB free on it.
Yes, I have tried restarting my computer, but nothing seems to change when I do that. If I'm using a program such as iMovie or FCP X I tend to close everything else.
phillf1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 08:58 AM   #4
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I think,your computer is overloaded. Using your main hard drive for video work is not a good idea. All my video storage is on a external drive from iMovie to FCP-X. Are you having the same problem on FCP-X?
As you well know video files take up a lot of space.
How much more do you need to do in your project?

----------

Do you know what clip is causing the problem?
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 09:10 AM   #5
phillf1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I've just deleted all the files, and now I'm importing a few files back. I'll see if it'll work. Going to get an external hard drive as You suggest ASAP. I never get any problems with FCP.
phillf1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2013, 06:56 PM   #6
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The picture you posted. I had the same problem once on FCP-X. Like you what the H..... is that.
It turned out my TimeMachine was working in background and wanted to tell me that i did not have enough space.
Make sure you buy a good E/Hard drive. The trouble there is so much on the market. I use "MAXTOR" touch wood no trouble.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2013, 09:16 AM   #7
microwebmark
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
IMovie 11 is for crap

Brand New Fresh install of Maverick on MacBook pro IMovie will show that it is recording from my DV tape, (I'm trying to get all my tapes on hard drive to I can be done with tapes forever), and then after the import I find it only did like 3 minutes of recording? I'll rewind.. start at the place it stopped, and boom same thing. only a few minutes. It did not do this for all the tapes at first, but now things are getting worse. started new databases etc. moved movies off the hard drive (but I have lots of space left). I know I'm another poster that offers no advice, but what is a Mac user to do? Call Apple?
microwebmark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2013, 10:38 AM   #8
montgomeryr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
LP mode perhaps?

Is it possible that the footage that is bad was shot in LP mode and transfered on a different brand of camera than the original? There seems to be a standard across brands for SP mode but none for LP. I've encountered this quite a few times and the video breaks up like that in a camera different from the original recorder.
montgomeryr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMovie - playing up yet again Macaroooon Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 5, 2013 09:18 AM
iMovie playing audio only, no video kdrose Digital Video 2 Dec 12, 2012 05:07 PM
Problem playing video. iPod touch 2nd gen. Rogerde iPod touch 1 Aug 31, 2012 10:58 PM
Problem with importing video from Camera into Imovie...help please storypoint Digital Video 5 Aug 30, 2012 05:47 PM
Playing iTunes videos on other video playing software LordMoe Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 21, 2012 07:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC