Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 18, 2013, 06:13 PM   #1
Qonix
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Logitech keyboard

i would buy this combo: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Cordl...ogitech+MX+550
everywere tey say it's the best.. but logitech says only "windows compatible".
dows anyone have it? can i buy it and make it work without any compatibility problem?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2013, 08:33 PM   #2
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
I can't guarantee it but I'm highly confident you'll be fine. I have the Logitech MK520 combo on my Mac and Logitech lists it as Windows compatible only too. It works just fine, no issues.
Pharmscott is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2013, 09:07 PM   #3
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharmscott View Post
I can't guarantee it but I'm highly confident you'll be fine. I have the Logitech MK520 combo on my Mac and Logitech lists it as Windows compatible only too. It works just fine, no issues.
when the mac goes in sleep mode, can you wake it up?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 07:09 AM   #4
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
The only difference is that it doesn't have Command and Option keys, other than that the keyboard works like any other. Also the LCD won't likely work.

Having said that, there is a new version of that mouse called the Logitech Performance Mouse MX, and Logitech also produces Mac keyboards such as the Logitech K811 Switch-Easy backlit keyboard. Both together cost about the same as the kit you showed above.
Thumb resize.Thumb resize.

Last edited by Giuly; Mar 19, 2013 at 07:19 AM.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 05:47 PM   #5
numbersyx
macrumors 65816
 
numbersyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
The only difference is that it doesn't have Command and Option keys, other than that the keyboard works like any other. Also the LCD won't likely work.

Having said that, there is a new version of that mouse called the Logitech Performance Mouse MX, and Logitech also produces Mac keyboards such as the Logitech K811 Switch-Easy backlit keyboard. Both together cost about the same as the kit you showed above.
Thumb resize.Thumb resize.

I must say that I prefer the RF keyboards to the BT ones. I have a Logitech diNovo and it is constantly dropping connection when I leave it for a while. Have to keep hitting keys to reconnect.
numbersyx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 08:16 PM   #6
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
The only difference is that it doesn't have Command and Option keys, other than that the keyboard works like any other. Also the LCD won't likely work.

Having said that, there is a new version of that mouse called the Logitech Performance Mouse MX, and Logitech also produces Mac keyboards such as the Logitech K811 Switch-Easy backlit keyboard. Both together cost about the same as the kit you showed above.
Thumb resize.Thumb resize.
i dont like this "komno" and layout of that keyboard.. I prefer the mx one... but I also saw is pretty old, do you know if there is a "work in progress" on something else?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 08:35 PM   #7
tekboi
macrumors 6502a
 
tekboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
Good find on the keyboard and mouse. Although... I don't see them being much better than the original apple mouse + keyboard combo.
__________________
PowerMac G4 | iMac 27" | Macbook Pro | iPad | iPhone | Thunderbolt Display
---
Gaming is My Vice
tekboi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2013, 09:45 PM   #8
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
when the mac goes in sleep mode, can you wake it up?
Yep. This function works perfectly.
Pharmscott is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 04:13 PM   #9
Qonix
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pharmscott View Post
Yep. This function works perfectly.
but not lcd right?
Qonix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 09:47 PM   #10
Pharmscott
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qonix View Post
but not lcd right?
My keyboard doesn't have the LCD panel so I can't comment on that, sorry.
Pharmscott is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech Ultrathin Keyboard JeffMorse iPad Accessories 1 Jun 1, 2012 06:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC