Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2013, 12:50 PM   #1
Granados1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
New iMac running Logic Pro/Albion

Hello - long time reader, first time poster.

Apologies in advance if this has already been covered elsewhere.

Firstly I will happily admit I'm not the best with hardware requirements etc, so your collective knowledge and help would be appreciated!

I'm looking at buying one of the new iMacs:

27-inch: 2.9GHz

2.9GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB (two 4GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M with 512MB

OR

27-inch: 3.2GHz

3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB (two 4GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX with 1GB


The main purpose for doing so is to write music and run Logic Pro and Albion (a sample library if you aren't familiar with this). Running details as follows:

Logic Pro:

Minimum System Requirements

2GB of RAM (4GB recommended).
Display with 1280-by-768 resolution or higher.

OS X v10.6.8 or later.
Minimum 6GB of disk space. (19GB of optional content available via in-app download).


Albion:

Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 or 10.8 (latest update), Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)


So, my question is, and I'm sure it's blindingly obvious to all you knowledgeable people out there, would either of these iMacs run it fine with no problems? I'm also assuming I probably wouldn't need the Fusion drive either.

Do let me know if you need any more information.

Many, many thanks.
Granados1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 01:16 PM   #2
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Granados1 View Post
Hello - long time reader, first time poster.

Apologies in advance if this has already been covered elsewhere.

Firstly I will happily admit I'm not the best with hardware requirements etc, so your collective knowledge and help would be appreciated!

I'm looking at buying one of the new iMacs:

27-inch: 2.9GHz

2.9GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB (two 4GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M with 512MB

OR

27-inch: 3.2GHz

3.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i5
Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB (two 4GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX with 1GB


The main purpose for doing so is to write music and run Logic Pro and Albion (a sample library if you aren't familiar with this). Running details as follows:

Logic Pro:

Minimum System Requirements

2GB of RAM (4GB recommended).
Display with 1280-by-768 resolution or higher.

OS X v10.6.8 or later.
Minimum 6GB of disk space. (19GB of optional content available via in-app download).


Albion:

Mac OS X 10.6, 10.7 or 10.8 (latest update), Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM (4 GB recommended)


So, my question is, and I'm sure it's blindingly obvious to all you knowledgeable people out there, would either of these iMacs run it fine with no problems? I'm also assuming I probably wouldn't need the Fusion drive either.

Do let me know if you need any more information.

Many, many thanks.
Both machines exceed the system requirements of both apps, therefore they would both run these apps just fine. However I would recommend getting the Fusion Drive as it will significantly improve performance on startup, application startup and file startup.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 05:30 PM   #3
Granados1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fantastic, thanks very much!
Granados1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 05:32 PM   #4
JackTre
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Logic benchmarks...

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/371545-logic-pro-multicore-benchmarktest.html

I7 or mac pro is the way to go for logic
JackTre is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro for running Logic? Crugga Buying Tips and Advice 5 Apr 30, 2014 06:01 PM
Mavericks GUI response:Logic pro 9 & Logic Pro X? infoseeker OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Apr 3, 2014 12:21 PM
Transferring from MBP to new iMac Logic Pro! ruffcutter Digital Audio 7 Mar 23, 2014 06:32 PM
For Logic Pro 9, running large orchestral libraries... recommended specs? Christianatkins iMac 5 May 31, 2013 09:32 AM
New 2012 MacBook Air running Photoshop and Logic Pro aRollingStone MacBook Air 4 Jun 18, 2012 10:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC