Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2013, 01:35 AM   #1
canadaman001
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Need quick help GTX Video card

Hi guys i finally decide to buy gtx pc card for my mac pro 2009 4.1 which i will pick up tomorrow morning but i need quick answer please.

I am buying EVGA GTX 570 for 150 each my question is can any gtx 570 work in my mac what i mean is evga only one that works since there are multiple companies that make the same card but different look or am i wrong here. Or just go with evga manufacturer. I have 2 power cables for gtx for my mac can i sli 2 of them in my mac. I also have the option between 580 and 590 but only one. If i just go with 590 for 300 will there be much improvement or go with 2 570. And i am using this card for Davinchi resolve program and adobe premiere

Thanks

Here are the links to card 590 http://ontario.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-s...AdIdZ440167493

580- http://ontario.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-s...AdIdZ465054011
canadaman001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 04:38 AM   #2
Baunkjaer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
As far as I can recall, any 570 will work.
Be aware of the powerissues with 580/590.
SLI is Windows only.
__________________

MP 5,1, W3690, 24GB, 250GB 840 EVO [Solo x2], 120GB OWC 3G, 1TB, HD 5870, 2*Dell P2314H
MBA 6,2, 1,4GHz (i5), 4GB, 128GB, HD5000  iPhone 6  2TB TC
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 05:10 AM   #3
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
If you are buying two 580s, you WILL need an external power supply.

There are two 6-pin power leads from the PCI bay and 580s will need two EACH assuming you find ones that don't require any 8-pin power leads. If you try to connect two 580s by using splitters, you had better hope the over-current protection in your Mac Pro works first time else you have a dead computer.

There are some threads about using two 580s on a Mac Pro and they will all detail the power supply that they purchased and fitted.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:39 AM   #4
nigelbb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Any GTX570 should work. However they require two power cables each & there are only two power sockets on the motherboard for a graphics card. I am not sure whether it is physically possible to tap off power from another source e.g. spare disk slot or whether you need a whole extra power supply but two GTX570s have a greater number of CUDA (2x480) cores than a GTX580 (512) so should give better performance in DaVinci Resolve.

Hard core colour graders use a Cubix PCIe expander box with several GTX580s for maximum performance but I am sure you already knew that.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 12:36 PM   #5
canadaman001
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
thanks

Thanks guys for help. I am buying today one gtx evga 570. 1.5 gb i all ready have radeaon 5770 pc with power cable connected to it and gtx 55ti with power cable connected to it and it works fine. So if i take gtx 550ti out and put in gtx570 i will not fry my mac? and should i keep 55ti and take out 5770?

Thanks again guy
canadaman001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:08 PM   #6
nigelbb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The GTX570 requires two power cables. If your current setup is two graphics cards each with a power cable then where does the third power cable come from you will need to power the GTX 550ti if you keep it in the Mac Pro?
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 01:51 AM   #7
canadaman001
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks

question guys and thanks for help again. Since gtx needs 2 power cable can i keep 5770 take out 550ti put in gtc470 and get decent power coming from my dvd drive since i dont us it at all.

and one last question just to make sure any gtx 470 like evga,pny will work here it does not have to be strictly evga
you guys are awesome with help
canadaman001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card Upgrade Please Help? Gtx 760 or Radeon 7950? malibtekin Mac Pro 16 May 26, 2014 12:01 PM
Need a new video card... GTX 680? ScottishCaptain Mac Pro 18 Oct 9, 2013 01:22 AM
2009 Mac Pro and fsp power booster for gtx 580 video card Jeff Troiano Mac Pro 3 Jan 22, 2013 12:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC