Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2013, 07:50 AM   #1
Sophia.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Have You Used Autodesk Smoke?

I've been using the trial of Autodesk's Smoke video editing suite for work. I must say it's a joy to use and I'm thinking of making it as permanent feature in my arsenal. Moving most of my video work over from Final Cut and Avid.

Before I do I wanted to get your opinion of Smoke if you'd be so kind as to share it.

What you like and dislike compared to other programs like Final Cut and Premiere etc? Please let me know if you've run into any problems or limitations with Smoke that I may not have encountered yet.

I would likely be purchasing for work and be paying for a multi-user or several user license(s), it's not a decision one should rush into.

Thank you.

Last edited by Sophia.; Mar 21, 2013 at 02:42 PM.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 05:58 PM   #2
daybreak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Sophia, I have look at it but i cant give you my opinion. When you say FCP, what version. FCP7 or FCP-X?
It seems a powerful editing software. No doubt you would be a fast learner and i think it is rather expensive software.
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:33 AM   #3
Sophia.
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by daybreak View Post
Sophia, I have look at it but i cant give you my opinion. When you say FCP, what version. FCP7 or FCP-X?
It seems a powerful editing software. No doubt you would be a fast learner and i think it is rather expensive software.
Thanks Day Break for taking the time to comment, I'm using FCP X. I agree with you it's rather expensive but it's really nice to work with.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 10:50 AM   #4
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
I always thought of Smoke as more of an After Effects competitor not as a NLE...
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 11:20 AM   #5
Sophia.
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193 View Post
I always thought of Smoke as more of an After Effects competitor not as a NLE...
I find it can do both quite well but maybe that's just me.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 12:07 PM   #6
handsome pete
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by puckhead193 View Post
I always thought of Smoke as more of an After Effects competitor not as a NLE...
Autodesk is really pushing it now as an all in one editing and finishing solution. Smoke and AE really aren't comparable products.


As for the original question, it really comes down to a few things. How will moving to Smoke affect your overall workflow and how you deal with clients. Do the benefits outweigh the cost?
handsome pete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:15 PM   #7
Sophia.
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by handsome pete View Post
As for the original question, it really comes down to a few things. How will moving to Smoke affect your overall workflow and how you deal with clients. Do the benefits outweigh the cost?
I can only speak for the brief trial period but I find smoke easier to work with which is strange as I've been using Final Cut for years. There are things I can do in Smoke that I can't in Final Cut at least not as easily which saves me a great deal of time.

The only down side to switching is the cost. I think I would have to consult the other members of staff before making that decision.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:44 PM   #8
handsome pete
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sophia. View Post
I can only speak for the brief trial period but I find smoke easier to work with which is strange as I've been using Final Cut for years. There are things I can do in Smoke that I can't in Final Cut at least not as easily which saves me a great deal of time.

The only down side to switching is the cost. I think I would have to consult the other members of staff before making that decision.
Also, if you're concerned about any other staff editors you might have to weigh the cost (time/money) to get them up to speed. And if you ever decide to hire new editors or bring in freelancers, you'll probably be picking from a smaller pool of talent than if you were looking for a FCP/Adobe/Avid editor.

I have no idea how your particular business is set up so that might not be a concern at all.
handsome pete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 02:56 AM   #9
ppc_michael
macrumors 65816
 
ppc_michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to ppc_michael
Smoke is fantastic. I work with film a lot, and it's just the perfect tool for finishing in that workflow. Wish it was available on more platforms.
__________________
-PPC_Michael
Apple is just a company. Think for yourselves.
ppc_michael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 07:51 AM   #10
Sophia.
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by handsome pete View Post
Also, if you're concerned about any other staff editors you might have to weigh the cost (time/money) to get them up to speed. And if you ever decide to hire new editors or bring in freelancers, you'll probably be picking from a smaller pool of talent than if you were looking for a FCP/Adobe/Avid editor.

I have no idea how your particular business is set up so that might not be a concern at all.
True however we don't tend to collaborate a great deal so I'm not sure how much of an issue that would be but it's a valid point worth considering thanks Pete.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 12:44 PM   #11
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
in some post houses it makes sense to just have one Smoke seat.
great for the user since its job security.
Ive done the demo at least once a year for the past 5 years.
being entrenched in a Maya/AE workflow, Im too deep into our current tool set to add the extra expense.
great tool though
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 07:14 AM   #12
Sophia.
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by mBox View Post
in some post houses it makes sense to just have one Smoke seat.
great for the user since its job security.
Ive done the demo at least once a year for the past 5 years.
being entrenched in a Maya/AE workflow, Im too deep into our current tool set to add the extra expense.
great tool though
I suppose we could just have the one workstation running Smoke. It's not like we can't share. I've never used Maya (I'm new to Autodesk) what's it like? Thanks for commenting.
Sophia. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:48 AM   #13
mBox
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sophia. View Post
I suppose we could just have the one workstation running Smoke. It's not like we can't share. I've never used Maya (I'm new to Autodesk) what's it like? Thanks for commenting.
Maya is the last 3D app for me. I have a long history from Swivel3D to Hash Animation Master.
Its all you need really but I can see why folks like Cinema4D.
Reminds me of when 3DSMAX first came out.
Had a quicker turn-around for cool objects.
mBox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making custom LUTs in Autodesk Smoke/Combustion knowhate Digital Video 0 Nov 26, 2013 05:47 PM
Autodesk Maya Viewport 2.0 scrambles my screen. Please help me. yespi MacBook Pro 5 Jul 12, 2013 07:12 AM
Autodesk Inventor natively on Mac OS X? DominikHoffmann Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Apr 23, 2013 03:00 PM
the "new" i7 imacs and autodesk smoke? smok3 iMac 0 Mar 17, 2013 06:20 AM
650m and Autodesk 3DS laurent05 MacBook Pro 8 Jun 20, 2012 06:39 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC