Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:28 AM   #1
viccles
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Dual or quad core mac mini?

I sold my macbook air because it was really struggling to do the stats analysis I was using (using SPSS). I am going to put an ssd drive and 16gb ram in the one I buy. Would you recommend the quad core or could I get away with the dual core model?
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:49 AM   #2
phrehdd
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by viccles View Post
I sold my macbook air because it was really struggling to do the stats analysis I was using (using SPSS). I am going to put an ssd drive and 16gb ram in the one I buy. Would you recommend the quad core or could I get away with the dual core model?
Does SPSS take advantage of quad core? If yes, there is your answer.

Then again, if it does not there may be other apps now or later you would want to use that would take advantage of a quad. Again, there is your answer.

Good luck on which ever one you decide to purchase.
phrehdd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 03:53 AM   #3
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Not sure if SPSS uses quad core or not. Just found it ran really slow and chugged along on my MBA. I guess I should probably spend the little bit more for a quad. Thanks
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 04:02 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by viccles View Post
Not sure if SPSS uses quad core or not. Just found it ran really slow and chugged along on my MBA. I guess I should probably spend the little bit more for a quad. Thanks
Here's your answer.

Does IBM Statistics client use multiple processors and or multiple cores if available?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 08:50 AM   #5
Cheffy Dave
macrumors 68020
 
Cheffy Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sunny Florida, on the Gulf Coast in Homosassa Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Good answer,thats why I love this forum
__________________
lotsa "stuff"
Cheffy Dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2013, 02:59 PM   #6
viccles
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
viccles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to viccles
Ooo thank you! Quad it is
__________________
Surface Pro |White 16gb iPhone 5 | 2013 13" MBA| Black 16gb S4 Follow me on twitter
My blog
My youtube channel
viccles is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC