Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 23, 2013, 07:58 AM   #1
MP3.1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
WD Caviar Black in Mac Pro 2008?

Hi Everyone,

Just a quick question. I always bought HDD storage from Apple but have a good deal now on a Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX - 2TB (not supplied by Apple). Can I just screw it on the HDD bay in my 2008 Mac Pro (3.1) and it will work?

Many thanks!
MP3.1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 08:13 AM   #2
Giuly
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Yes, you can, but the Seagate Barracuda 3TB is the better deal at the moment.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 02:53 PM   #3
bleifuss
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Garwolin/Poland
Any sata HDD and SSD works in Mac Pro. No difference. You don't see an apple sign on a sticker anyway, so what is the difference?
__________________
http://filipczechowski.com
bleifuss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 02:58 PM   #4
DPUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Unless you like paying three times what you should, never by anything but the computer from Apple... HDs, SSDs, RAM is all available from other sources for far less.
DPUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 03:16 PM   #5
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
Yes, you can, but the Seagate Barracuda 3TB is the better deal at the moment.
Yup! Better deal and faster too!

Seagate currently has a hit parade on their hands with the 1TB per plater 7200.14 models! Really sweet drives!

Available in 1TB, 2TB and 3TB sizes.

3TB: http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...&condition=new
2TB: http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...&condition=new
1TB: http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...&condition=new

All hitting the top of the speed charts - just a tad below the Velociraptor drives.
http://www.seagate.com/gb/en/interna...ku=ST4000DM000

Last edited by Tesselator; Mar 23, 2013 at 03:31 PM.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2013, 03:18 PM   #6
MP3.1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks all! I just bought the Seagate!
MP3.1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 01:06 AM   #7
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Seagate's reliability compared to WD

Some one a while back told me that Seagate's drives are not as reliable as Western Digital. Is this true? I currently use mostly Seagates in my Mac Pro and yet I have not experienced malfunctioning in the drives?
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 01:51 AM   #8
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Some one a while back told me that Seagate's drives are not as reliable as Western Digital. Is this true? I currently use mostly Seagates in my Mac Pro and yet I have not experienced malfunctioning in the drives?
I get mix opinions on durability for both brands. I think both brands are reliable. My colleagues who encountered problems with Western Digital say Seagate is better and those who encountered problems with Seagate say WD is better. I recall , though not sure, Seagate was the default HD for PowerMacs years ago before Apple decided to use WD.

I have both brands and so far both are doing fine.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 02:34 AM   #9
PowerPCMacMan
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: PowerPC land
Good to know! Yeah, I remember seagate was used for the PowerPC Macs as well as IBM Deskstar. Never had a problem with either brands.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsonic View Post
I get mix opinions on durability for both brands. I think both brands are reliable. My colleagues who encountered problems with Western Digital say Seagate is better and those who encountered problems with Seagate say WD is better. I recall , though not sure, Seagate was the default HD for PowerMacs years ago before Apple decided to use WD.

I have both brands and so far both are doing fine.
PowerPCMacMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 02:41 AM   #10
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
I've seen more defect rates (DOA & later failures) from Seagate's in recent years (~2008 on), including the enterprise models, vs. their WD counterparts FWIW (enterprise v. enterprise, ...). Next up on high failure rates is Hitachi from what I've seen.

BTW, my observations tend to be for large numbers of disks (RAID configurations), not just one or two here and there.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 05:25 AM   #11
Tesselator
macrumors 601
 
Tesselator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Japan
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerPCMacMan View Post
Some one a while back told me that Seagate's drives are not as reliable as Western Digital. Is this true? I currently use mostly Seagates in my Mac Pro and yet I have not experienced malfunctioning in the drives?
Is it true? No. You can always find someone grinding their axe tho.

Was it true at one time many years ago? Maybe, I didn't hear of it if it was.
Western Digital had several "periods" like that tho.
Maxtor had a few low quality runs too.

The ones to avoid these days are Samsung. Very poor platter quality across the board.

Hitachi, Seagate, and Western Digital all currently make good quality desktop products with the usual caveats.
Tesselator is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 08:41 PM   #12
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
All drive manufactures produce similar drives.
Western digital owns hitachi now, seagate owns samsung, and most toshiba 3.5" are rebranded hitachi.

So honestly it doesnt matter which drive brand you choose, as its only a matter of when not if a drive is going to fail. So having adequate backups is critical.


Currently there is a great deal on 4TB Seagate ST4000DM000 on newegg for under$200
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 11:30 AM   #13
tamvly
macrumors 6502a
 
tamvly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I have a couple of WD Caviar Black in my 3,1 MP. They have been running fine for over a year. The only Seagate drive I ever owned had a short life. I see no reason to change vendors.
tamvly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 11:56 AM   #14
LorenK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleNewton View Post
All drive manufactures produce similar drives.
Western digital owns hitachi now, seagate owns samsung, and most toshiba 3.5" are rebranded hitachi.

So honestly it doesnt matter which drive brand you choose, as its only a matter of when not if a drive is going to fail. So having adequate backups is critical.


Currently there is a great deal on 4TB Seagate ST4000DM000 on newegg for under$200
Actually, Seagate only bought Samsung's HDD business, not its SSD business.

The only drive that has ever failed on me is a Seagate, but then it was probably five or six years old and gave enough warning that I didn't lose any data.

The rest of my HDDs are Samsung and I can say that I've really abused them and they just keep running. Too bad I can't get them anymore. I just bought the 2TB Seagate at Newegg with a free PCIe USB 3.0 card, a deal even if the card doesn't work in my Mac Pro.

Just to say, I have about twelve or so hard drives with sizes from 250GB to 2 TB in two computers and three external eSATA boxes. I would never buy LaCie externals again, no fans or underpowered fans in their cases means the bridge boards always fail, have three dead cases sitting around while the drives continue to live in the external boxes. Getting cheap externals and filling them with drives works for me, because even if the case fails, just had a Rosewill fail, the internal power circuit died, the drives survive to fight another day.
LorenK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 2008 black screen problem? bwillwall Mac Pro 12 Oct 8, 2013 09:01 PM
Swap my iMac's WD Caviar Black hdd for Green?! discofuel iMac 9 May 14, 2013 09:34 PM
Caviar Black vs Caviar Blue phas3 Mac mini 10 Apr 9, 2013 07:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC