Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2013, 01:10 PM   #1
jcott948
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Used iMac?

Ok, so I am shopping around for used iMac systems. I have found some in my price range ($300-400). The following is what I found:

1 GB 17" with Core Duo 2
2 GB 17" with Core Duo 2
512 MB (up to 2 GB) 20" with Core Duo

First of all, can ArcGIS run on a Mac (I'm new to what Mac can and can't run)? Second, if it can, what do I need as far as software to run and how much would it cost me (besides the actual ArcGIS license)? I've heard that I need Windows XP to run it?

I've used PC's for pretty much everything, but have enjoyed Mac image quality and no need for virus software, plus I really like its user-style.

Any thoughts are much appreciated!
jcott948 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 06:03 PM   #2
mellofello
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
If you can save a few more dollars the imacs with I processors are substantially faster
mellofello is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 07:49 PM   #3
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
instead of buying one of those old duo systems you should shoot for the mac mini. can you scrounge up a monitor? the baseline 2012 mini has duel core i5 and can be had under 500 from the refurbished store. the system would be alot newer and you could do alot more to upgrade it when you have money down the road.
apple refurbished are really good. they also have a 1 year warranty.
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 11:38 PM   #4
iSayuSay
macrumors 68030
 
iSayuSay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Get a Mac Mini. And if you're coming from PC, I'm sure you still have display, keyboard and monitor you can still use.

It's a better deal compared to the used iMac.
__________________
The things you own end up owning you.
It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything
Sent from Paper Street Soap. Co
iSayuSay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 12:16 AM   #5
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
It is....

my understanding you can use ArcGIS via Bootcamp or a virtual machine (Parallels or VM). About the options you can have, I agree in the suggestion that you can be best served with a Mac mini. But I suggest you to search some with dedicated graphics. It can helps in renders or heavy-medium graphics. Still, the iMac can be useful, but no too future-proofed....


__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC