iPod Touch power button stuck - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2013, 08:34 PM   #1
Drew017
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
iPod Touch power button stuck

For some reason (and I can't imagine why) the power button on my iPod touch (4g) is broken. It just won't move, so I can't press it down. It feels like it's stuck down, but the iPod works fine if I wake it by pressing the Home button, and all other buttons work fine. What should/ can I do? Thanks
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 09:59 PM   #2
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000
 
ideal.dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OH
I've been seeing this issue a lot in iPhones recently. It's a faulty power button, the same thing has happened to me and two other people I know except on an iPhone. If the iPod is still in warranty, call Apple or go to an Apple Store and they'll replace it. If it's out of warranty, they'll tell you they can't replace it, but if you put up a bit of a fight or talk to the right person the first time around you should still be able to get it replaced without having to pay for a new one.
__________________
15" rMBP: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7, OS X 10.9.2
White iPhone 5s: 32GB, iOS 7.1
White iPad Air 16GB + WiFi, iOS 7.1
ideal.dreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by ideal.dreams View Post
I've been seeing this issue a lot in iPhones recently. It's a faulty power button, the same thing has happened to me and two other people I know except on an iPhone. If the iPod is still in warranty, call Apple or go to an Apple Store and they'll replace it. If it's out of warranty, they'll tell you they can't replace it, but if you put up a bit of a fight or talk to the right person the first time around you should still be able to get it replaced without having to pay for a new one.
It went out of warranty in December, so it's not too far out, but I guess I can ask my cousin, who is a mobile specialist at the Apple Store close to me what I can do. The iPod is over a year old and this just happened yesterday. I wonder why though
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 08:02 AM   #4
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000
 
ideal.dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OH
Since is not that far out of its warranty they might be able to replace it without a hassle. I'm not sure why they go bad for no reason, but like I said, I have been seeing this issue more and more on MR recently.
__________________
15" rMBP: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7, OS X 10.9.2
White iPhone 5s: 32GB, iOS 7.1
White iPad Air 16GB + WiFi, iOS 7.1
ideal.dreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 11:21 AM   #5
theyooper
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I fix iphones and ipods, and I see this alot. You have to know how to solder to replace the cable as it is soldered directly to the board.
theyooper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 12:40 PM   #6
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by ideal.dreams View Post
Since is not that far out of its warranty they might be able to replace it without a hassle. I'm not sure why they go bad for no reason, but like I said, I have been seeing this issue more and more on MR recently.
I'm pretty sure that my iPod is faulty as well, because its really slow all the time and sometimes the screen doesn't come on when the power button is pressed (or at least used to) it just flickers once.
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 07:41 PM   #7
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nowhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew017 View Post
I'm pretty sure that my iPod is faulty as well, because its really slow all the time and sometimes the screen doesn't come on when the power button is pressed (or at least used to) it just flickers once.
Slowness is caused by the software. Maybe try to restore? Also with the power button turning on the screen for a split second sometimes happens to me. I don't really worry about it much.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
How you send feedback to apple: http://www.apple.com/feedback/
-Credit to iSayuSay for Avatar.
Thetonyk123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2013, 10:59 PM   #8
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
Slowness is caused by the software. Maybe try to restore? Also with the power button turning on the screen for a split second sometimes happens to me. I don't really worry about it much.
I've done many restores and resets with no results :/
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 03:25 PM   #9
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nowhere.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew017 View Post
I've done many restores and resets with no results :/
Jailbroken? What kind of apps are you running? My iPod touch 4 on iOS 6 runs pretty smooth with the occasional slowdown when running intensive apps.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
How you send feedback to apple: http://www.apple.com/feedback/
-Credit to iSayuSay for Avatar.
Thetonyk123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 03:55 PM   #10
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetonyk123 View Post
Jailbroken? What kind of apps are you running? My iPod touch 4 on iOS 6 runs pretty smooth with the occasional slowdown when running intensive apps.
Nope, not jailbroken. I only run a few apps regularly (mainly Safari, Music, Mail, Reminders, Notes, Facebook, maybe a few games here or there… but I usually only keep one or two apps running a time) And iOS 6 is great, but my iPod for some reason is just slow… though maybe a bit faster than it was on iOS 5, but still slow.
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 07:40 PM   #11
xcodeaddict
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I just replaced one of these yesterday, along with a brand new screen (£18, "A grade" screen, none of this cheap rubbish!). I bought the iPod Touch 4th gen for £50 with a cracked screen, and when I disassembled it to replace the screen, I tore off the volume (+) (-) / Power ribbon cable, so had to buy and fit a brand new assembly for that too (£2.40).

They're certainly fiddly to fix, but not impossible, and very well made. The power button has a solid die cast metal plate behind it (very thick) and you simply peel the old tactile dome and ribbon ass'y from it, scrape and clean the glue off, peel the ribbon right back off the inside back casing, unscrew the volume control casing, remove that, then peel off the old volume control ass'y (it's on the other end of the same ass'y, as shown in the packet on the right hand photo), and fit a new one, which is affixed with VERY strong 3M backing.

The reason I did this, is because Apple wanted £82 to "repair" (replace) it for me, which, on top of the £50 I paid for it broken, was ridiculous, and why pay them £82 for an out of warranty "repair", when I can do the whole lot for ~£21 myself?

It's working superbly now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	assy.jpg
Views:	930
Size:	507.1 KB
ID:	404916   Click image for larger version

Name:	ribbon-3m-etc.jpg
Views:	319
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	404918  

Last edited by xcodeaddict; Mar 27, 2013 at 07:49 PM.
xcodeaddict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2013, 08:12 PM   #12
Drew017
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Drew017's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Right beside you
Send a message via Skype™ to Drew017
Wow I had no idea that there was that much to it! I think I won't worry about the power button (I put the assistive touch on, so I can lock the screen). I'll just get a new iPod (my cousin works at apple and can get me a 25% discount off )
__________________
Who'll put on my shoes while I'm walking slowly down the hall of fame?
MacBook Air 13 inch (Mid 2013); Intel Core i5; 4GB RAM; OS X 10.9 Mavericks
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Drew017 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 03:14 PM   #13
TresMusical1020
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
That's because a glitch that can not be fixed had hit your product. (It can be fixed but only through apple and people like them, but you can not fix it)
TresMusical1020 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Broken Power Button) iPod touch 2G frozen on Apple Logo w/Spinner hug0905 iOS 5 and earlier 1 Apr 19, 2014 01:28 AM
Ipod touch 4 power button issue bjlffire iPod touch 2 Mar 6, 2014 09:00 AM
Help! Power button ipod touch 4 william102000 iPod 0 Nov 15, 2013 04:06 PM
power button lose (ipod touch 5), Androidfan1x iPod touch 3 Mar 11, 2013 04:53 AM
iPod Touch: Jailbreaking Ipod Touch 4G - iOS 4.2.1 WITH broken power button - possible? notevirus7 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Oct 28, 2012 04:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC