Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 26, 2013, 12:05 PM   #1
adamkun
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Mac Pro 3.1 & Samsung SSD 840 Pro installation issue

Hi everyone, been having issues with installing ML onto a new MP 3.1 which have purchased recently.

Currently have the SSD drive sitting in spare DVD bay connected with a IDE-Sata converter which drives a SATA B.Ray drive in another MP.

My issue is that while i can copy a version (using CCC) which is installed on 2TB drive (installed myself earlier today - no problems) it wont boot on the SSD drive and quits during loading and results in the Question Mark Icon flashing afterwards.

alternatively when trying to instal a fresh copy of OS X onto the drive it fails at the end with the following message being shown.
(some images attached as reference)

hope there are many forum viewers out there who may be able to provide a solution?

thanks everyone!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	68
Size:	2.15 MB
ID:	404632   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1.jpeg
Views:	74
Size:	3.22 MB
ID:	404633  
adamkun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 12:23 PM   #2
bsbeamer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Curious how you first initialized and formatted the drive. Did you unbox, install drive, and use disk utility to format? If so, did you test read/write abilities as just a normal drive first?

Have you tried hooking the drive directly to one of the SATA bays instead of IDE converter?

How big is the disk image on the 2TB drive? How big is the 840 SSD? Are you upgrading OS to 10.8 from something else?
bsbeamer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 12:50 PM   #3
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamkun View Post
Currently have the SSD drive sitting in spare DVD bay connected with a IDE-Sata converter which drives a SATA B.Ray drive in another MP.
I'm not sure what all this is, but I'd start there... Connect the drive to a normal SATA connector and see what happens.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 12:56 PM   #4
adamkun
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Hi There, thanks for the reply.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsbeamer View Post
Curious how you first initialized and formatted the drive. Did you unbox, install drive, and use disk utility to format? If so, did you test read/write abilities as just a normal drive first?
Unbox, instal then used disk utility to partition & reformat to GPT and Extended Journaled format. not sure how to test read/write abilities but it is writeable as files are written on it.

Have you tried hooking the drive directly to one of the SATA bays instead of IDE converter?
Have ordered OWC PCIe Adapter (Sonnet SSD drive holder) so waiting for this to arrive next week (was hoping to initialise and instal OS while waiting).

How big is the disk image on the 2TB drive? How big is the 840 SSD? Are you upgrading OS to 10.8 from something else?
Drive is 256GB and the data on the 2TB drive is approx 11GB files on drive were cloned (no disk image)
Original supplied OS was lion on smaller drive this was replaced with 2TB drive and installation performed today with fresh DL from App Store OS X version 10.8.3
Hope this helps?
Thanks again.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualRain View Post
I'm not sure what all this is, but I'd start there... Connect the drive to a normal SATA connector and see what happens.
Thanks i may try to grab a few connectors however at the moment there is no cable supplied with the SSD kit and the adapter plates at the local stores are all the wrong size to fit the trays on a MP.

The other question i'm contemplating is why there are troubles in creating a recovery partition on the drive using CCC..

Thanks for the comments so far.
Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-27 at 5.00.40 AM.png
Views:	72
Size:	150.1 KB
ID:	404643  

Last edited by adamkun; Mar 26, 2013 at 01:07 PM.
adamkun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2013, 01:17 PM   #5
bsbeamer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
If you don't have any cables or way to connect directly to the SATA port, the OWC drive sled is probably your best solution. Just make sure you get the right sized one for your Mac, believe there are two variations that they make, and this should be it:
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/MMP35T25/

If you're going to just be adding this SSD to a PCIe adapter, then you may want to eliminate any possible issues with the SSD beforehand. Some people have issues with the PCIe adapters during setup.

Would recommend reformatting the drive once you connect via the drive sled and then perform the clone to the SSD. Seems like your current adapter setup is what's causing the problems...
bsbeamer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 08:13 AM   #6
adamkun
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Hardware Issue solved

Hi All thanks for the input on this thread.

The items including a PCIe board are due to arrive end of this week over the interim I did plug the drive into one of the hard drive bay slots and..

Presto works like a charm.

Relieved that the Drive works fine as I had swapped it from a Vector OCZ drive after reading about hardware issues with those units.

thanks for everyone's thoughts and posts~!
Much appreciated
adamkun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 09:17 PM   #7
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Sorry I didn't reply sooner - but yes - Mac OSX Installer dislikes (very much) attempting to install the OS on a disk that is mounted via a non-standard interface/connection.

I spent a week trying to get OS X to install on a dual samsung 840 RAID 0 stripe via a Sonnet Tempo SSD PRO PCI Card and it just wouldn't work.

I mounted the SSDs via the built in SATA 2 backplane (i.e.: the 4 standard HD bays) and installed that way without a hitch, then moved the drives (still in RAID 0) back to the PCI card and it works fine.

WHo knows if this is an Apple issue, or the peripheral maker issue.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 05:20 AM   #8
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
I installed the OS to my SSD mounted in a FW enclosure before installing via a Velocity X2 adapter.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2013, 08:11 AM   #9
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamkun View Post
The items including a PCIe board are due to arrive end of this week over the interim I did plug the drive into one of the hard drive bay slots and..

Presto works like a charm.
It's also worth noting that using the PATA severely cripples the speed of the SSD- even the stock SATA ports in the Mac Pro can't keep up with the Samsung 840 Pro. So it's a good thing you've found an approach that works. The PCIe card should give even better performance than the stock ports.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 05:12 PM   #10
BDM STUDIOS NL
macrumors 6502a
 
BDM STUDIOS NL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
Sorry I didn't reply sooner - but yes - Mac OSX Installer dislikes (very much) attempting to install the OS on a disk that is mounted via a non-standard interface/connection.

I spent a week trying to get OS X to install on a dual samsung 840 RAID 0 stripe via a Sonnet Tempo SSD PRO PCI Card and it just wouldn't work.

I mounted the SSDs via the built in SATA 2 backplane (i.e.: the 4 standard HD bays) and installed that way without a hitch, then moved the drives (still in RAID 0) back to the PCI card and it works fine.

WHo knows if this is an Apple issue, or the peripheral maker issue.
Could you please share your workflow for this workarounds installing the RAID0 back to the Sonnet? Sounds very promising for my Mac Pro 3,1!

Much appreciated! Cheers
__________________
~ Berend

MP 5.1 (2012) DODECA @ 2.66 Ghz | 24GB | 500GB 840 EVO's RAID0 @ DUO X2 | WD RED 4TB RAID0 | 8800-GT (MAC) + GTX-670 FTW 4GB (PC)
BDM STUDIOS NL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Samsung 840/840 Pro SSD thread Hexley MacBook Pro 1125 Jun 6, 2014 02:25 PM
Need (Samsung 840 SSD) HD bracket adaptor for Mac Pro Noctilux.95 Mac Pro 20 Sep 14, 2013 07:52 AM
Samsung 840 non-pro SSD good for my Mac Pro? Noctilux.95 Mac Pro 9 Sep 2, 2013 06:23 PM
Samsung 840 ssd vs 840 pro series macbook pro mid 2012 alexistkd MacBook Pro 14 Jun 20, 2013 01:36 AM
2012 mac mini (i5 w/ samsung 840 pro SSD) wont sleep TheReef510 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jun 1, 2013 07:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC