Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 28, 2013, 01:59 PM   #1
anewman143
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Workflow including subtitles?

I usually use Handbrake to rip to mp4, then identify2 for metadata (it's great!) and now want to add subtitles - Subler seems like it does a great job.

Does anyone have a more streamlined flow? I think handbrake can do subs - haven't really tried that...

But if I already have the movie or tv show in mp4, identify is great for tagging and converting to m4v

Opinions?
__________________
27"Alum iMac, 2.93 GHz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD; 15" MacBook Pro; iPhone 5; iPad 32GB wifi
Canon 5d Mark II, 24-105mm f4.0/L, 70-200 f4.0/L, 100mm f/2.8L, 17-40 f/4L
anewman143 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:23 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by anewman143 View Post
I usually use Handbrake to rip to mp4, then identify2 for metadata (it's great!) and now want to add subtitles - Subler seems like it does a great job.

Does anyone have a more streamlined flow? I think handbrake can do subs - haven't really tried that...

But if I already have the movie or tv show in mp4, identify is great for tagging and converting to m4v

Opinions?
If you want soft subs (ability to turn on/off), then you can download an srt file and HB will mux it into the mp4. Otherwise, HB will burn-in. And unless you are multilingual, you will probably want the subs for foreign films on all the time and forced subs all the time. The only time I really want soft subs useful is if I am on a plane or riding in a car and trying to watch a movie and the dialog is hard to hear.

I also like Subler, but HB can do the same thing and it's incorporated into the workflow. What Subler can do that others can't though, is OCR a VOB/PGS subtitle to create an srt. I do that if I need soft subs and can't find an adequate srt online.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 02:30 PM   #3
anewman143
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Yes - soft subs are the way I want to go - I'll go poking around for srt files and go from there for the files I've already processed...in the future, will take advantage of handbrake's ability to mux them in at the time I rip them...kill 2 birds with 1 stone...

Thanks!
__________________
27"Alum iMac, 2.93 GHz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HD; 15" MacBook Pro; iPhone 5; iPad 32GB wifi
Canon 5d Mark II, 24-105mm f4.0/L, 70-200 f4.0/L, 100mm f/2.8L, 17-40 f/4L
anewman143 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 05:35 PM   #4
blanka
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Just make mkv's and mix all you need together with mkvtoolnix. It is the one and only great movie container. If a player doesn't play MKV it sucks. Did I just say the Apple TV sucks? Well I guess so.... But hey, it is not in the TS own list, so probably no one is offended here.

BTW, are you ripping DVD's.... ? Those old-fashioned discs with non-native framerates and weird 2/3 interlaced frames in the USA or 4% speedup in PAL countries? Even crap YIFY dowloads are faster downloaded than DVD's are ripped and look way better.
blanka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 06:22 PM   #5
Plutonius
macrumors 601
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by anewman143 View Post
Yes - soft subs are the way I want to go - I'll go poking around for srt files and go from there for the files I've already processed...in the future, will take advantage of handbrake's ability to mux them in at the time I rip them...kill 2 birds with 1 stone...

Thanks!
If you are going soft subs, use Subfix to sync the .SRT to the movie. You can then use any .SRT version without worrying about finding the correct .SRT version that will sync with your movie.
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 06:30 PM   #6
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutonius View Post
If you are going soft subs, use Subfix to sync the .SRT to the movie. You can then use any .SRT version without worrying about finding the correct .SRT version that will sync with your movie.
Sync (as long it is a constant offset) can also be adjusted in HB and Subler. I have done several movies with downloaded subtitles and just adjusting the offset in either one of those apps has been all that was needed. Never used Subfix, though. It might be a good program, though.

Edit: Looks interesting and got good ratings, will give it a try next time I do a downloaded srt. Thanks for the tip.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 06:55 PM   #7
Plutonius
macrumors 601
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Sync (as long it is a constant offset) can also be adjusted in HB and Subler. I have done several movies with downloaded subtitles and just adjusting the offset in either one of those apps has been all that was needed. Never used Subfix, though. It might be a good program, though.

Edit: Looks interesting and got good ratings, will give it a try next time I do a downloaded srt. Thanks for the tip.
I use subfix when the .SRT was generated using a different FPS then the movie was ripped at (an offset will not fix the .SRT). I used to hunt around for the correct .SRT version but now I just grab any .SRT version and quickly adjust the timing of the .SRT .
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2013, 08:02 PM   #8
RedTomato
macrumors 68040
 
RedTomato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: .. London ..
Thank you, thank you for the SubFix link. Subs with different FPS have bugged me for years and years. Windows is full of excellent sub fixers but I didn't want to maintain a Windows VM just to run a subtitle fixer.
RedTomato is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tell me about your workflow Puckman1 Digital Photography 25 Nov 23, 2012 03:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC