Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2013, 06:21 PM   #1
TantoGlamour
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Exclamation Volume name changes automatically

Hi. Iīm new in this forum. (Sorry for my English). Can anybody help me with a very rare problem?

My external disk Lacie 6Tb Thunderbolt change his name for itself (or the system OSX 10.8.3 change it). The disk is called "Tanto" and the name change for istself to "Tanto 1". The correct name is held for a time, but it change randomly. All the apps search "Tanto:etc..." and donīt found the directories.
Of course I tried to change to Tanto in de Get Info window, but if I deleite " 1" when press return, it change again to "Tanto 1". If I put another name in the Get info the system takes that, but I need to put "Tanto" to the disk because have a lot of projects and apps linkeds to that disk.
I have Macs always and never see that.
Please if anyone can help me, I appreciate it
Thanks.
TantoGlamour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 03:05 AM   #2
Gogol
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: The Netherlands
The system sees the disk with the same name already mounted and gives it an alternate name. Try to unmount the disk, restart your system and connect it again.
Gogol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2013, 07:30 AM   #3
iphoneuserinyyz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
You can also do it this way in Terminal:

cd /Volumes/

ls -a

(now manually eject Tanto-1 in Finder)

rmdir Tanto

(now remount Tanto and it will show up as Tanto instead of Tanto-1)
iphoneuserinyyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2013, 06:56 PM   #4
TantoGlamour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Thanks problem solved

Thanks Gogol and ifhoneuserinyyz, I solved the problem in that way. I open Vuze (one of the apps what looks the volume Tanto), in a downloading file put Show in Finder option in contex menu. That open in Finder a window in location Macintosh HD/volumes/Tanto when I open the top window (menu clicking rigth button on the name of the window) and show that path but the word "volumes" is in ghost mode (like transparent). In this window appears the volumes I have but two "tanto" one is an alias with the icon of a folder and the another is my disk with the icon of the Lacie disk. I delete the Alias and rename the volume in Get info window. That work. After that is pass the TechTool Volume Rebuilding.
TantoGlamour is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC