Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2013, 03:37 AM   #26
Midas2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Question

I have an iPhone 4.

Is it possible to downgrade from 6.13 to 6.12 ?

And if yes, what is the method ?
Midas2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 12:45 PM   #27
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas2 View Post
I have an iPhone 4.

Is it possible to downgrade from 6.13 to 6.12 ?

And if yes, what is the method ?
The chances are slim for you to downgrade to 6.1.2 if you didn't manually save your shsh blobs. However, you have a chance to downgrade to 5.1.1 for untethered jailbreak

Download the latest version of iFaith (v1.5.6) and run it. Plug in your iPhone 4 and click "show available shsh caches on server". If it finds you have 6.1.2 blobs, save them.

See if it marks it as valid or not. If yes, you can stitch the shsh blobs to a 6.1.2 ipsw. Do you rely on a software unlock? (I'm not sure if this will update the baseband)

If its not valid, do the same and save your 5.1.1 blobs. And stitch that with the 5.1.1 ipsw. Again, I'm not sure if this will update the baseband
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 12:52 PM   #28
Midas2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks, but i have a MaC not a PC. iFaith is only for Windows, i hoppe
Midas2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 12:56 PM   #29
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas2 View Post
Thanks, but i have a MaC not a PC. iFaith is only for Windows, i hoppe
IFaith is currently the only program to PROPERLY check if iOS 6 blobs are valid or not.
Use tinyumbrella and get your 5.1.1 shsh blobs if cydia has them. Download redsn0w and you can stitch the shsh blobs to a 5.1.1 ipsw
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 12:59 PM   #30
Midas2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks. I can only downgrade in 5.11 ?
Midas2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 01:04 PM   #31
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas2 View Post
Thanks. I can only downgrade in 5.11 ?
Did you manually save your iOS 6 shsh blobs? If not, then that's the only one you can downgrade to assuming cydia has them
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 01:54 PM   #32
Midas2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I don't know
Midas2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 02:20 PM   #33
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas2 View Post
I don't know
If you don't know, then you can only restore to 5.1.1 if cydia has them. Did you download tinyumbrella to see what shsh blobs cydia has for you?
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 04:50 PM   #34
Midas2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I have saved my shsh blobs by using tinyumbrella
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture décran 2013-04-06 à 23.49.31.png
Views:	273
Size:	24.2 KB
ID:	406569  
Midas2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 04:59 PM   #35
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas2 View Post
I have saved my shsh blobs by using tinyumbrella
i sent you a private message. it would've probably been more helpful if you showed all the shsh blobs you had and not only show ios 6 blobs in the screenshot
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 04:40 PM   #36
redbeard331
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
My iPhone 5 got stuck on the boot logo last night, I can't get anything to work to fix it, so it looks like my only option is to restore and lose the jailbreak until iOS7??? That's ridiculous.. Ugh...
redbeard331 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 04:48 PM   #37
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard331 View Post
My iPhone 5 got stuck on the boot logo last night, I can't get anything to work to fix it, so it looks like my only option is to restore and lose the jailbreak until iOS7??? That's ridiculous.. Ugh...
did you try booting up holding volume up and see if that helps?

And if your only option left is to restore, then yes, you can only restore to 6.1.3 and wait for the iOS 7 jailbreak which is pretty far away
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 04:56 PM   #38
redbeard331
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darricksailo View Post
did you try booting up holding volume up and see if that helps?

And if your only option left is to restore, then yes, you can only restore to 6.1.3 and wait for the iOS 7 jailbreak which is pretty far away
Yea I tried the volume up method probably 20 times now with no luck...

Can't imagine going back to stock until next winter with iOS7!!

Makes me seriously think about getting an HTC one..
redbeard331 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 05:30 PM   #39
TheShadowXX
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard331 View Post
My iPhone 5 got stuck on the boot logo last night, I can't get anything to work to fix it, so it looks like my only option is to restore and lose the jailbreak until iOS7??? That's ridiculous.. Ugh...
get an Android, or buy a used iPhone 5 with iOS 6.1.2 or lower.

Those are your only 2 options :/
TheShadowXX is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 05:40 PM   #40
redbeard331
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheShadowXX View Post
get an Android, or buy a used iPhone 5 with iOS 6.1.2 or lower.

Those are your only 2 options :/
Yea, what a hassle, we should be able to downgrade..
redbeard331 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 05:40 PM   #41
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard331 View Post
Yea I tried the volume up method probably 20 times now with no luck...

Can't imagine going back to stock until next winter with iOS7!!

Makes me seriously think about getting an HTC one..
Weird, make sure you're doing it right. I've done it on a few phones with a bunch of bad tweaks and every time it forced it into safe mode and booted properly each time.
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 06:20 PM   #42
redbeard331
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwalls90 View Post
Weird, make sure you're doing it right. I've done it on a few phones with a bunch of bad tweaks and every time it forced it into safe mode and booted properly each time.
I've tried dozens of times now, everytime I reboot it it looks like its starting up normally but then the Apple logo goes dim, and it stays that way, left it like that overnight until the battery went dead. After charging it this morning and it restarted, it went right back into the dim Apple logo mode.. Not sure what else to do.
redbeard331 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 07:45 PM   #43
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard331 View Post
I've tried dozens of times now, everytime I reboot it it looks like its starting up normally but then the Apple logo goes dim, and it stays that way, left it like that overnight until the battery went dead. After charging it this morning and it restarted, it went right back into the dim Apple logo mode.. Not sure what else to do.
what was the thing you did that caused this boot loop? did you install a tweak and needed to respring?
darricksailo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 10:36 PM   #44
TheShadowXX
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbeard331 View Post
Yea, what a hassle, we should be able to downgrade..
Yup, that's why i'm glad I have an iPhone 4 which can downgrade
TheShadowXX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 09:37 PM   #45
araje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
So, I will be working from a different country for few months. I am told that the moment I put in a local SIM card, my iMessage and FaceTime will stop working since a local SIM card will configure me for local servers and I have my phone configured here in the US.
My friends tell me you have to reset everything (all data and settings).

I heard and read that with evasion I cannot do that. No resetting as it will just get stuck up. I only have to restore.

If this is true I don't think I can do a restore of 6.1.2 from iTunes. So if all of this is true, I will lose my JB.

Is any of the above incorrect ? I so hope that I am incorrect.
araje is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 02:28 AM   #46
redbeard331
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by darricksailo View Post
what was the thing you did that caused this boot loop? did you install a tweak and needed to respring?
Nope, I was just rebooting it after installing a new icon, nothing that should cause problems..

It's eye opening going back to a stock iPhone, iOS is really really dated and stale, feels like I'm using a dumb phone. It's driving me nuts already...
redbeard331 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 11:59 AM   #47
ratmgr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Unhappy iPad 2

Can an iPad 2 be downgraded from 6.1.3 to 6.1 (I have the SHSH blobs). Sorry to ask if the question, but everyone keeps saying the iPhone 4S and higher can not be downgraded, but the iPad 2 came out before the 4S so I'm a bit confused)

And before you ask why did i upgrade? I dropped the iPad and had to take it in to the Apple store for repairs and was forced to upgrade in order to have the store look at it
ratmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 12:02 PM   #48
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratmgr View Post
Can an iPad 2 be downgraded from 6.1.3 to 6.1 (I have the SHSH blobs). Sorry to ask if the question, but everyone keeps saying the iPhone 4S and higher can not be downgraded, but the iPad 2 came out before the 4S so I'm a bit confused)

And before you ask why did i upgrade? I dropped the iPad and had to take it in to the Apple store for repairs and was forced to upgrade in order to have the store look at it
No.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 12:21 PM   #49
ratmgr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Unhappy iPad 2

That makes me very sad, but thank you for the quick reply.
ratmgr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2013, 12:22 PM   #50
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I know, it sucks
Hope we will have more options in the near future.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: IS there anyway to downgrade without shsh,even tethered downgrade FatPuppy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 May 3, 2013 09:00 PM
Is it possible to downgrade, Chuchichan iOS 6 11 Oct 11, 2012 12:24 AM
iPhone: Need help to downgrade iphoneboy123 iOS 6 1 Oct 4, 2012 04:28 AM
Resolved: Possible to downgrade 5.1> 5.02 LMD75 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Oct 1, 2012 11:39 PM
how to downgrade from 6.0 to 5.1.1 deldrick iPhone 8 Sep 23, 2012 01:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC