Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2013, 09:54 PM   #1
willie45
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Networking Issues

Hi

I have a Netgear wireless router which on the whole works well. I have a couple of times recently had the dreaded message telling me some other item is using my IP address and to reboot my router. I have also had a message saying my iPad can't connect to the network. It isn't often and if I restart the device it goes away and all is well again.

I believe the issue might be the number of items using the network. We have my wife's daughter and her partner living with us for a few months and I have a number of work items I use. My wife and I both work from home a lot.

To the chase! Currently the following all connect:

2 iMacs
2 MacBookPros
1 Mac mini
1 Pad
1 iPhone
2 Windows laptops
1 Blackberry ditto
1 other phone - either blackberry or android can't recall
1 Playstation or X-box - can't remember - via powerline connection


The apple stuff belongs to my wife and me and is needed for work so I want it to work properly at all times and I'd like to give it priority on the network. The other stuff is my stepdaughters, and her fiance's, or my stepson's. I'd like it to be reliable but I'm not as worried

I've had two suggestions.

I was told by someone that I should assign static IP addresses to all the stuff I use and that would guarantee a connection. I don't know if this is true and I don't know how to do it. Can anyone tell me if it would help and if so how I'd do it?

Also I was advised that if I stuck an airport extreme ( not express! ) onto the netgear router I could set up a second network which would be independant from the original one and put all my "A list" gear onto that solving the problem that way. Would this work and be better?

Thanks for your help with this.

Willie
willie45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2013, 12:37 PM   #2
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
What is your model for the Netgear? You can get the PDF users manual and it will explain it. Basically you log into the router usually 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.200.1 or whatever the user manual states. Find the correct place in the admin page and enter the MAC address of each device you want to have a static IP address.

You could do that with the Airport Extreme. I am not sure if it would be better or not.
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 10:20 AM   #3
willie45
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thanks. I found how to assign the static IP but I was really wondering if it would help me. Seems from your suggestion I should do it. Would that be right?
willie45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 10:46 AM   #4
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
I had the same problem and it worked for me. It can't hurt
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 10:58 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by willie45 View Post
Thanks. I found how to assign the static IP but I was really wondering if it would help me. Seems from your suggestion I should do it. Would that be right?

It works eel, and an advantage of this is that you know which device has what IP.

The best way I find is to get your own Apple stuff on Low IP numbers and the "guest" devices on higher IP's.

Example:

You have 7 Apple devices

192.168.0.10
192.168.0.20
192.168.0.30
192.168.0.40
192.168.0.50
192.168.0.60
192.168.0.70

All 5 other (guests)

192.168.0.100
192.168.0.110
192.168.0.120
192.168.0.130
192.168.0.140
Etc...

This way you know exactly who is who.
There is also a small App called Ip Scanner which allows you to see all devices with their MAC Address,it's free.

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/15326/ip-scanner
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2013, 11:47 PM   #6
willie45
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Excellent. Thanks for your help. I will look into that device Justperry and assign the numbers as you suggest
willie45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 03:05 PM   #7
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by willie45 View Post
I was told by someone that I should assign static IP addresses to all the stuff I use and that would guarantee a connection. I don't know if this is true and I don't know how to do it. Can anyone tell me if it would help and if so how I'd do it?
A static IP address set on the edge devices in no way guarantees a connection to the wireless access point. Additionally setting a static IP address on some of your mobile devices will cause them to no longer receive a dynamic IP when attempting to connect to wireless networks away from home.
brand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2013, 03:51 PM   #8
DJLC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mooresville, NC
Send a message via AIM to DJLC Send a message via MSN to DJLC Send a message via Yahoo to DJLC Send a message via Skype™ to DJLC
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
A static IP address set on the edge devices in no way guarantees a connection to the wireless access point. Additionally setting a static IP address on some of your mobile devices will cause them to no longer receive a dynamic IP when attempting to connect to wireless networks away from home.
True, although IMO Netgear's DHCP server is a little "special." Might help... I've had issues like this with multiple Netgear routers; everything is fine, except it doesn't know how to handle DHCP leases. To avoid issues with other networks you can save these settings as a new Location in the Network prefpane and change the Location setting as needed.
__________________
-John Mairs
DJLC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 05:20 PM   #9
irnchriz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Scotland
What Mrapplebate suggested will would work best.

Essentially what you are going is getting the Netgear router to 'reserve' an IP address for each of your devices by assigning the IP addresses based on the devices MAC address.

So every time you connect you iPad it would get the same address and because the address is reserved in the router you don't have to worry about any other device being on the address.

This way you don't have to set fixed IPs on your devices and they will happily connect to other networks without having to change locations etc.
__________________
irnchriz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 06:31 PM   #10
willie45
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Thank you very much for your help. I seem to have solved the problem.
willie45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 08:39 PM   #11
JKColo22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
. Additionally setting a static IP address on some of your mobile devices will cause them to no longer receive a dynamic IP when attempting to connect to wireless networks away from home.
Umm not true. If he's setting the DHCP router to assign the IP addresses (rather than choosing a static address on the device-which only works if your router is not running DHCP).

Make sure that you set the router to only assign addresses ABOVE the static addresses or you will continue running into problems.
JKColo22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 11:21 AM   #12
freejazz-man
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
it's called a static DHCP LEASE
freejazz-man is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC