Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 10, 2013, 12:17 PM   #1
KlytusLord
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
WiFi needs regular "resetting" problem.

Environment:
Home network of 14 computers
6 Macs, all running ML 10.8.3
6 Windows machines, all running Windows 7
2 Linux machines, Ubuntu 12.04 and Fedora 18
Airport Extreme (7.6.1)

Problem:
The Macs, and only the Macs, are requiring that the WiFi be turned off and then back on again in order to restore connectivity. The connection is not "officially" dropped, meaning the OS never claims to be disconnected, but all network traffic (internal and external) stops working until the Off/On cycle is done.

There seems to be no pattern to the amount of time between each occurrence of the problem, but no Mac has been able to maintain connectivity for more than a few hours before requiring the WiFi to be turned off and on.

The Windows and Linux machines do not have this problem.
The Macs are not all in the same room or area.
The Macs do not all lose connectivity at the same time.
This problem began happening about a month ago; no issues before then.

Any ideas? Thanks.
KlytusLord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 02:48 PM   #2
Toby Ziegler
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gallifrey
I'm having the same issue that you just described...I chalked it up to my crappy router finally deciding to die on me. It also happens when I'm booted into Windows on my MBP. Tried a hard reset of my network, wiped all network settings on the laptop...didn't seem to fix it.

Hardware is a 2012 15" MBP running the latest ML. Router is a Linksys WRT45GS.

I noticed the issue about two weeks ago and since then have noticed it at least once a day.
Toby Ziegler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 05:37 PM   #3
sparky1499
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Glasgow, UK
A home network of 14 computers?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (Early 2011), 2.0GHz i7 Quad, 4GB RAM, 500GB iPad Mini 16GB Wifi Black iPhone 5 16GB White
sparky1499 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 06:34 PM   #4
KlytusLord
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky1499 View Post
A home network of 14 computers?
It's a home office; my wife and I own and operate an Internet company.

I still refer to it as a home network, however, as there is no enterprise level hardware and no IT personnel to manage it.
KlytusLord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2013, 07:09 PM   #5
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
First download the free application iStumbler beta(it still work in 10.8.x) and see what channel your wireless is on compared to others networks it sees. Then change to a network channel that others are not at.

Then change your DNS settings by using either Google Public DNS or OpenDNS. I feel most ISPs don't really know or understand DNS.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 09:17 AM   #6
Toby Ziegler
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gallifrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
First download the free application iStumbler beta(it still work in 10.8.x) and see what channel your wireless is on compared to others networks it sees. Then change to a network channel that others are not at.

Then change your DNS settings by using either Google Public DNS or OpenDNS. I feel most ISPs don't really know or understand DNS.
I'm going to go out on a limb and say the DNS settings don't have too much to do with losing local network connections.
Toby Ziegler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 09:25 AM   #7
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toby Ziegler View Post
I'm going to go out on a limb and say the DNS settings don't have too much to do with losing local network connections.
I know that! But it does have a purpose of better DNS with quicker web pages loading with better DNS. Why do think Google started their own DNS?
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 09:27 AM   #8
Toby Ziegler
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gallifrey
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
I know that! But it does have a purpose of better DNS with quicker web pages loading with better DNS. Why do think Google started their own DNS?
I get what you're saying and I agree with it, but it doesn't have much of anything to do with the issue at hand.
Toby Ziegler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2013, 09:28 AM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I'd start by upgrading the AEBS to 7.6.3

I take it the Macs are all on 5GHz, what are the non Macs on? 2.4GHz?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Another device is using this computer's IP address""Shared" user's slowing down Wifi mnya OS X 2 Feb 15, 2014 01:30 PM
wifi extender problem-mac gets full signal but "internet not connected" madeirabhoy Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 16, 2013 05:28 AM
iPhone: Will a "Regular" Size AT&T Straight Talk SIM work in iPhone 5 Brother Esau Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Feb 26, 2013 02:26 PM
Anyone able to fix "Incorrect Password" wifi problem with iPhone 5? Ant.honey iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Nov 28, 2012 12:58 PM
iPhone 3G: "No SIM card installed" after resetting all settings while jailbroken mb.dc2008 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 9, 2012 04:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC