Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:02 PM   #1
acochran
macrumors newbie

Change home folder to network location

Disclaimer - I am a newbie to MAC, but I am an IT Admin all Microsoft based.

Our network consists of an Active directory Server, Exchange, File Server.

I am only setting up 1 mac to our network. This is a new iMac and I have done the steps to add the user to active directory and I can log into the mac using any AD account. I can even mount our "common" folder to the deskto which is a network share of public documents within our company.

How do I make his default home directory point to the network location where all of his personal documents reside?

I am looking for best practices here and do not wish to purchase additional equipment/software because I will not be installing any more macs....

All of our PC users have a group policy for folder redirection for their "My Documents" which are located on the server and it syncs their documents for the Server/Client. How do I mirror this setup for a MAC.

Note - I can do without a group policy enforcement. I just want his documents located on the server so they are backed up every night. Or have it so they sync from his computer to the server (windows Server 2003 32bit)

I have tried going to the user account on the mac and right clicking on the account then changing his home directory to the UNC path of the documents folder on our server, but it did not work once I logged back in.
acochran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2013, 02:06 AM   #2
rlkarren
macrumors newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by acochran View Post
I have tried going to the user account on the mac and right clicking on the account then changing his home directory to the UNC path of the documents folder on our server, but it did not work once I logged back in.