Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:15 PM   #1
Bat Drive
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Alpha Tool in Preview

In Preview v6.0.1, where can I find the Alpha tool?
Bat Drive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:22 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bat Drive View Post
In Preview v6.0.1, where can I find the Alpha tool?
Is it not in the select tool list?
Name:  ScreenCap 2013-04-12 at Fri, Apr 12,3.20.58 PM .PNG
Views: 831
Size:  30.0 KB
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:51 PM   #3
Bat Drive
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I do not have a "select tool" icon in my toolbar. Nor can I find such an icon in the "customize toolbar" dropdown menu in View.

Here's what my toolbar looks like:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-04-12 at 15.45.44 .png
Views:	15
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	407540  
Bat Drive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 03:55 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bat Drive View Post
I do not have a "select tool" icon in my toolbar. Nor can I find such an icon in the "customize toolbar" dropdown menu in View.

Here's what my toolbar looks like:
With an image file open in Preview, click the 'Show Edit Toolbar' button in the toolbar (looks like a box with a pencil in it) - all your selection tools should appear on a secondary toolbar beneath the main one.
Click image for larger version

Name:	TsPUV.png
Views:	15
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	407541
Mac 101: Editing Images | Mac|Life

Last edited by GGJstudios; Apr 12, 2013 at 04:11 PM.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 04:22 PM   #5
Bat Drive
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I appreciate your patience and direction, but, as you can see from the attached grab, I don't have that icon in my my Show Edit Toolbar. Nor do I see a way to add it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-04-12 at 16.19.23 .png
Views:	11
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	407542  
Bat Drive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 04:25 PM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bat Drive View Post
I appreciate your patience and direction, but, as you can see from the attached grab, I don't have that icon in my my Show Edit Toolbar. Nor do I see a way to add it.
And you have an image file open? Or just the Preview app open with no file?

You might have success by deleting the .plist and relaunching Preview. It should be located in the following path:
/Users/yourusername/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Preview.plist
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2013, 04:39 PM   #7
Bat Drive
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview. I did not find the plist file you mentioned. However, there were these, which I deleted after quitting Preview. Launching the app returned them.

com.apple.Preview.LSSharedFileList.plist
com.apple.Preview.SandboxedPersistentURLs.LSSharedFileList.plist

After relaunching Preview, I still do not have a "select tool" icon.

Thanks for your assistance. I guess I'll just continue to use PDFPen.
Bat Drive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 02:57 AM   #8
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bat Drive View Post
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview.
You can't use Instant Alpha on a PDF. Only image formats, like PNG, TIFF, etc.
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 12:17 PM   #9
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bat Drive View Post
Yes, I have a PDF opened in Preview.
As benwiggy stated, instant alpha is not available for PDFs. That's why I asked:

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
And you have an image file open? Or just the Preview app open with no file?
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hand gesture tool missing in Preview? MacNoobGuy OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Apr 18, 2014 08:31 AM
Preview 6.0: NO hand tool? bizdata OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 11 Apr 12, 2014 10:54 AM
Preview Annotations Tool does not allow for Links EricaB. Mac Basics and Help 1 May 28, 2013 04:07 PM
tool for grabbing and moving in preview curraheee OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 26, 2012 05:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC