Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 13, 2013, 07:35 AM   #1
dapitts08
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Applications installing in root instead of user folder?

so i have a late 2012 mac mini in which i installed an ssd alongside the 1TB internal it came with.

i am using the ssd as the boot drive and installing all of my apps there.

all media is being stored on the 1TB internal.

i just noticed that my apps are installing on the root of the ssd and not in a user folder.

for isntance my path to applications is as follows: mini ssd/applications/allmyapps

i assume my path should be: mini ssd/users/myusername/applications/empty

if i leave it as is will i run into problems?

if so, how do i change the default install location for apps?
dapitts08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 07:53 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
/Applications is how it has always been, reason is it should be accessible for All Users, not just one User.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 10:42 AM   #3
dapitts08
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
/Applications is how it has always been, reason is it should be accessible for All Users, not just one User.
lmao...thanks! i'm tripping ... don't know why i thought the default locations was under users
dapitts08 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2013, 10:47 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dapitts08 View Post
lmao...thanks! i'm tripping ... don't know why i thought the default locations was under users
Guess you had a brainfart

BUT, there are Apps which do just that, parallels installs Windows linked Apps there and Android also does, but those are the only ones I know of.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 08:28 AM   #5
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Guess you had a brainfart

BUT, there are Apps which do just that, parallels installs Windows linked Apps there and Android also does, but those are the only ones I know of.
Parallels does that because the Windows linked apps are based on what you have in your VM which is per user.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC