Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 14, 2013, 08:58 AM   #1
Cisherwood321
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Installing Tiger On PowerMac G5 Hard Drive Issues

I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!
Cisherwood321 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2013, 10:02 PM   #2
drorpheus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
what kind of hard drive is it? make model size?
drorpheus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 03:44 PM   #3
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cisherwood321 View Post
I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 08:25 PM   #4
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.
Not always.

OP: Try the disk utility again. Boot up, wipe, x out of Disk Utility, and see if it still doesn't show up.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2013, 08:50 PM   #5
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.
Some SATA III drives, work just fine in a G5 if they are set to SATA I or II mode. However, most don't work at all. That being said, we still don't know what kind of hard drive the OP has. It could be the stock OEM drive for all we know.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 02:54 PM   #6
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cisherwood321 View Post
I have encountered an issue while trying to install Tiger from a DVD to a Powermac G5 2.0GHz. After I insert the disc, it boots fine and loads up the Tiger installer. After I select a language, I continue until I must a location to install Mac OS X. The problem is, no hard detected. I cannot select anything from this menu. So I reboot and in the installer use the Disk Utility Tool to try to format the drive, and it still isn't displayed. I'm pretty sure I installed it correctly, and I don't know what the issue is. Please help, I will give you any other details you need. Thanks!
What hard drive is this.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2013, 04:08 PM   #7
Frost7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Republic of Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabidz7 View Post
You need a SATA card for SATA 3 drives.
This happens because the mobo's sata controller cannot aggregate link bandwidth with your hard drive.
Incorrect. Depends solely on the drive, but most SATA-3 devices are supposed to be backward compatible with SATA-1 and SATA-2.

Both of my G5's drives are SATA-3 and worked straight out of the box on the logic board's SATA-1 controller.
__________________
Cypher (PMG5) 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB Velociraptor, 2TB Constellation / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Chromium (MBP) 2.6 GHz C2D T9500 / 4GB RAM / 960GB M500 / GeForce 8600M GT 512MB
Frost7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2013, 02:56 PM   #8
rabidz7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Isla De Juventud, south Havana provence, Cincinnati Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frost7 View Post
Incorrect. Depends solely on the drive, but most SATA-3 devices are supposed to be backward compatible with SATA-1 and SATA-2.

Both of my G5's drives are SATA-3 and worked straight out of the box on the logic board's SATA-1 controller.
Some drives automatically throttle the link speed when they detect there is an a link aggregation issue; some drives do not throttle. Some drives that do not throttle automatically can be made to throttle with jumpers.

If the drive does not throttle automatically and has no jumpers then a SATA card is needed.
rabidz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing os x on a new hard drive Willievg OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 8, 2013 05:18 AM
Issues with installing OWC hard drive double tbluhp MacBook Pro 7 Jul 5, 2013 07:56 PM
Installing OS X 10.4 Onto Powermac G5 Issues Cisherwood321 Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 7, 2013 12:22 PM
Installing the OS on a NEW hard drive. Tony Resta OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Mar 27, 2013 09:52 AM
Installing a 2nd hard drive replaces CD-drive MacOSXuser MacBook 2 Jul 22, 2012 07:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC