Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

courtneyb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2013
I am hoping someone can help me as i am new to this whole thing and dealing with an iphone period. So i bought an iphone 3gs from a lady on a fb yard sale group and she says it is unlocked and jailbroken which i had no idea what this meant at the time really. I put my sim in and it worked fine as far as making calls and texts until it asked me if i want to update and i said yes not knowing any better. Before this i did notice i could not use fb or any apps it was telling me i had to update. Now the phone is stuck in activate mode and says servers are down at the end. When i try to recover in itunes i do all the steps and at the end after it tries to activate i get told it cant at this time. So i went and tried to find the post from the lady i bought the phone from and it is gone so i cant contact her for help and i am starting to think i have been ripped off in a sense. I paid someone on ebay to factory unlock it for me and it is still stuck on the activation screen. I bought the phone since the phone i had been using is about to die on me and i have a child that is sick and in and out of the hospital so i am stressing out over all this and have no clue as to what i am doing. I really did not want it jailbroken and just unlocked but now i have nothing. Any help would be great and sorry i am slow at all this so i might not understand everything said right away but i catch on kinda fast. Thanks

MrMacMack

macrumors 6502a
Oct 24, 2012
If you have a computer, install iTunes on it and then connect your phone to your computer and perform a restore on it. That will put your phone back to factory settings. During that process you will be prompted to make a back up. I suggest doing that in case you have data that you need to have backed up.

courtneyb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2013