Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2005, 08:57 AM   #1
ted124b
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Powerbook G4 Will not boot Up (UPDATE ONE LAST QUESTION)

Hello,
I have a 1.67 15inch powerbook g4 with 1.5 gig Ram, 100 gig harddrive and the 128mb video card.
Last night i shut down my computer and for whatever reason i also unplugged ac adaptor. This morning i plugged in the ac adaptor and booted up...I got to the grey screen with apple logo in back and spinning wheel below. The computer will just hang at this screen with the wheel spinning below it for any period of time until i manually restart the computer....

In an attempt to fix this problem i have performed the following steps
-reset power PRAM, and NVRAM
-reset Power manager
-disconnected all usb/firewire/ext devices

I have booted from CD and can get to the new os x install screen...
I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions...closest apple store is in grand rapids, mi my homewtown about two hours awaay... I however am at college and am in desperate need to get my powerbook up and running by the end of the day in order to retrieve and edit a paper...what other steps can i take
Thanks
Ted

Problem solved for now...i did archive and install after all other steps. so now i am just wondering 1 can i put my third party memory back in (kingston ktd-insp5150/1g) have i effectively ruled out this did not cause the problem... also should i delete the folder from the archive install Thank you Ted

Last edited by ted124b; Oct 25, 2005 at 11:06 AM.
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:03 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Any third party RAM?

Try starting it up holding down SHIFT for Safe Mode. See if it gets any further.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:06 AM   #3
ted124b
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
yes 1 gig of ram from kingston i believe...

Safe mode does not start up...........aprox. how long should i wait at each startup until it is hopeless(ie if i wait 5 minutes at startup and the wheel (progess indicator is still spinning) can i assume that the computer won't boot
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:08 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Yeah, if it hasn't reacted in five minutes then you know something's wrong. Take the RAM out and try starting it up again.

You've tried all the right things so far though. Well done.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:17 AM   #5
ted124b
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
i removed the RAM still won't boot up. with the RAM now removed should i back step and reperform all the troubleshooting tasks i have before...should i now reset the power manager, pram nvram ext
thanks for your help
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 09:30 AM   #6
ted124b
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I have ran disk utility and repaired permitions...Still no luck. should i reinstall mac osx?any other suggestions
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 10:29 AM   #7
ted124b
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I did archive and install.....it works i am scared to restart though any thoughts on this..... what should i do now to make sure this doesnt occur again? i believe an archive install makes a copy of the old system folder should i delete this ? thanks
ted
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 11:07 AM   #8
ted124b
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Problem solved for now...i did archive and install after all other steps. so now i am just wondering 1 can i put my third party memory back in (kingston ktd-insp5150/1g) have i effectively ruled out this did not cause the problem... also should i delete the folder from the archive install Thank you Ted


first restart worked any reason to thik future restarts will not work?
thanks ted
ted124b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2005, 04:45 PM   #9
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Sorry, I fell asleep on you there. It was getting a bit late for me. Interpret freely.

Good to see you've got a solution together. Yes, you pretty much ruled out the RAM because it'd be a very rare case (but still feasible) that removing it wouldn't help. Put it back in, it'll almost certainly be fine.

As for the previous System Folder, only keep it if you want to scavenge things form it such as other settings. It can otherwise be deleted.

Hopefully this has completely solved the problem. The only thing wrong is that we still don't quite know how it happened in the first place. It's very rare for OSX to react in that way though, so it's unlikely to reoccur.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: PowerBook won't boot with onboard RAM jrsx PowerPC Macs 10 Apr 6, 2014 06:12 PM
Powerbook G4 Problem Boot timbalada PowerPC Macs 37 Jan 21, 2014 05:13 AM
PowerBook 140 won't boot Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 16 Jan 17, 2014 10:13 PM
Help with PowerBook G4: It won't boot memo90061 PowerPC Macs 6 May 17, 2013 03:23 PM
PowerBook G4 won't boot max•• PowerPC Macs 4 Nov 7, 2012 03:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC