Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:34 AM   #1
Fouracre44
macrumors regular

iphone 5 in a case vs a different option.

Guys Hello,

I have recently been looking for a new phone. I own a custom assembled windows 8 pc that I use and I also own an Apple Macbook Pro. I am quite a tech savvy user however I do prefer a more refined, simple & basic use when it comes to my phones.

To me my smart phone is a tool, to make calls, send texts, check emails & then I do also things like Banking, Sports Scores & a few games. I use it for music, gps etc... swell. and I like a basic, reliable and solid use.

I am an electrician apprentice, so I have no time for phones that are going to break, or huge phones that are going to get in the way on the job. I have loved my iphone 4s in the past. Now I'm looking at a couple of options based on my use.

- Going back to a more basic smart phone, a lower end phone possibly android, possibly a basic smart phone with a keypad

- Going to a Samsung Galaxy s4 ( I feel this device is somewhat not needed )

- Going to an iPhone 5

I've read things about the iphone 5 scratching, denting etc.. and the defender case scratching the phone and everything. Really, I love the OS, stability of iphones, but I'm not interested in a phone for it;s looks, and it's beautiful craftsmanship.

Can you guy help me out here? What should I do? I really want to get the iphone 5 and rock it in a Defender case, that way I can enjoy the phone in my job and in my home life, sync all my apps & music directly from itunes & enjoy the os etc.. but then I really will do without it if it's gonna cause me issues like scratching, cracky, denting etc.. on the job or when I'm out at the pub, or even just from drops etc.. which I don't expect.
Fouracre44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 05:12 AM   #2
decafjava
macrumors 6502a

Well based on what you wrote I would suggest getting an iphone 5 and a case.