Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:30 AM   #1
Serban
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
How to reinstall the ML on a iMac

I have an iMac late 2012 with wireless keyboard. After restart i hold the "alt" button and i get the MacHDD only option. Shouldn't been there an Recovery partition as well?

How can i do the reinstall without the any external hdd or flash drives or buy an external dvd drive?
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:33 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Hold down the "OPTION" key to get to DU.


Hold down the "R" key for internet recovery.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:37 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Try with internet recovery, hold Command-Option-R at startup, this is different from recovery and is built into the iMac's firmware, should always work.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Hold down the "OPTION" key to get to DU.


Hold down the "R" key for internet recovery.
Option does not bring you into DU, it will get you into the boot manager, and R is also wrong, it is Command-R or Command-Option-R, first is Recovery, second is Internet Recovery.

The difference is that one is built into firmware and the other resides on an invisible partition on the HD/SSD.


__________________________


Edit:
OP, the alt key is called the Option key in OS X, if you can't get into normal Recovery try the internet Recovery, this should always work, but as with recovery you need an active internet connection.
If you don't see the Recovery Option after you held the Option key at startup this means or your Recovery partition is damaged or it is not there due to an earlier wipe of the HD.

Last edited by justperry; Apr 19, 2013 at 03:48 AM.
justperry is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:47 AM   #4
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
So what is the option for my case...keep in mind i only have thee wireless keyboard and i think after i power on my imac it takes a while for my keyboard to connect
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:50 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
So what is the option for my case...keep in mind i only have thee wireless keyboard and i think after i power on my imac it takes a while for my keyboard to connect
It does work if you press the power button on the keyboard just shortly before you press the power button on the Mac.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:52 AM   #6
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
oops! Forgot CMD....Not awake yet.
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 03:56 AM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
oops! Forgot CMD....Not awake yet.
No worries.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:08 AM   #8
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
It does work if you press the power button on the keyboard just shortly before you press the power button on the Mac.
I don't have power button on my keyboard
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:26 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I don't have power button on my keyboard
Thought you had the Apple keyboard, connect a USB keyboard.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:30 AM   #10
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Thought you had the Apple keyboard, connect a USB keyboard.
I only have the apple wireless keyboard that came with the imac
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:33 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I only have the apple wireless keyboard that came with the imac
Then there should be a power button, it is on the right hand side, the left rounded side contains the batteries, the right rounded part has the power button.

justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:37 AM   #12
Serban
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Then there should be a power button, it is on the right hand side, the left rounded side contains the batteries, the right rounded part has the power button.
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...QEwAg&dur=2071

----------

i understand now yes. But i never power off my keyboard, i think when my imac si power off, the keyboard is become idle. So you suggest that i press one time the power button when i start the imac?
Serban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 04:41 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...QEwAg&dur=2071

----------

i understand now yes. But i never power off my keyboard, i think when my imac si power off, the keyboard is become idle. So you suggest that i press one time the power button when i start the imac?
And I included an image as well in my last post!
And, in your link to google images there is one as well which shows you.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...QEwAg&dur=2071

----------

i understand now yes. But i never power off my keyboard, i think when my imac si power off, the keyboard is become idle. So you suggest that i press one time the power button when i start the imac?
Yes, it is not really a power button, you can't switch off the keyboard AFAIL.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 05:43 AM   #14
kapalua12
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
And I included an image as well in my last post!
And, in your link to google images there is one as well which shows you.

----------



Yes, it is not really a power button, you can't switch off the keyboard AFAIL.
Thanks for posting this!
__________________
iMac 27 inch 3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, 768 GB SSD, 32GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5, Time Capsule (Gen 5) 3 TB,
iMac 27" (2010) Intel 2.8 GHz i7, 12 GB RAM, 1TB HDD
kapalua12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 01:07 PM   #15
jpmorais
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CT, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to jpmorais
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serban View Post
I have an iMac late 2012 with wireless keyboard. After restart i hold the "alt" button and i get the MacHDD only option. Shouldn't been there an Recovery partition as well?

How can i do the reinstall without the any external hdd or flash drives or buy an external dvd drive?
Hold command + R once at boot and its gonna give you the internet recovery!
__________________
| 27" Late 2012 iMac | 3.4GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | GTX 680MX 2GB | 1.5TB SSD (2 X 768 APPLE BLADE SSD) |
jpmorais is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
imac os x reinstall cft678 iMac 4 May 17, 2014 02:41 PM
iMac 24" need to clean up and reinstall OS snowmaan iMac 14 Nov 20, 2013 09:46 AM
iMac Complete Reinstall photogpab iMac 3 Apr 20, 2013 01:35 PM
Reinstall OS X on fusion drive, iMac. Trojans OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Feb 1, 2013 04:56 AM
Need Help: Trying to reinstall Lion on my iMac with no luck... braeburn Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Oct 11, 2012 08:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC