Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 19, 2013, 11:43 PM   #1
nickcage49
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Speed test application

I was wondering if there is any utility that allows you to get a true Internet speed test? I've tried speedtest.net and other similar sites and I don't find them reliable.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 11:44 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
I was wondering if there is any utility that allows you to get a true Internet speed test? I've tried speedtest.net and other similar sites and I don't find them reliable.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.
What's not reliable about them? They work fine for most people.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 11:51 PM   #3
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
What's not reliable about them? They work fine for most people.
That's not an answer. I'm not here to debate.

I know for a fact they are unreliable. Ok?

Thanks.

Last edited by stridemat; Apr 20, 2013 at 03:43 AM. Reason: removed arguing
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2013, 11:53 PM   #4
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
That's not an answer. I'm not here to debate.

I know for a fact they are unreliable. Ok?

Thanks.
You still haven't explained why you think they're unreliable.

Last edited by stridemat; Apr 20, 2013 at 03:44 AM. Reason: removed arguing
GGJstudios is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 12:03 AM   #5
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
have a look in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...1#post12930071 ; some answers given ...

I'm happy with speedtest.net, for what it is worth
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 12:13 AM   #6
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
have a look in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...1#post12930071 ; some answers given ...

I'm happy with speedtest.net, for what it is worth
Thanks, but I'm looking for something offline.
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 12:16 AM   #7
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
Thanks, but I'm looking for something offline.
You can't measure internet speed if you're offline. An internet connection is required, which is why online measurement tools work.
GGJstudios is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 12:29 AM   #8
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can't measure internet speed if you're offline. An internet connection is required, which is why online measurement tools work.
An offline utility, lol I will be online of course.

Thanks.
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 02:34 AM   #9
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
Thanks, but I'm looking for something offline.
seems you looking since two years; it was your own thread

Whats wrong with speedtest.net ? Concider that speed of Internet vary lots during different times of a day.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.

Last edited by ChristianJapan; Apr 20, 2013 at 02:40 AM.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 02:46 AM   #10
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can't measure internet speed if you're offline. An internet connection is required, which is why online measurement tools work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
seems you looking since two years; it was your own thread

Whats wrong with speedtest.net ? Concider that speed of Internet vary lots during different times of a day.
I haven't found it reliable and network engineers I know agree.
nickcage49 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 03:40 AM   #11
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
MOD NOTE

Please cease the petty bickering.
__________________

Last edited by stridemat; Apr 20, 2013 at 03:45 AM.
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 04:33 AM   #12
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Other options, but far more technical, could be iperf. To my understanding this would require to have a probe outside your internal network if of want to measure your WAN. You could ask a friend with a known fast connection to help. I use the them only internal.

External I use pfSense as router which gives me enough statistics, too. Have a look on those.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 05:15 AM   #13
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Other options, but far more technical, could be iperf. To my understanding this would require to have a probe outside your internal network if of want to measure your WAN. You could ask a friend with a known fast connection to help. I use the them only internal.

External I use pfSense as router which gives me enough statistics, too. Have a look on those.
Thanks so much! I will!
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 09:35 AM   #14
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
An offline utility, lol I will be online of course.

Thanks.
Not a stand alone app, but this site runs a speed test as a Java app and is accurate. Has some good QoS analysis as well.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 01:19 PM   #15
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Hmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Not a stand alone app, but this site runs a speed test as a Java app and is accurate. Has some good QoS analysis as well.
I got:

403 FORBIDDEN!

Either the address you are accessing this site from has been banned for previous malicious behavior or the action you attempted is considered to be hostile to the proper functioning of this system.

The detected reason(s) you were blocked are:
Bothost / Fake ISP (HN-040).

Your IP, and Domain Name (if resolvable) has been logged to a local honeypot, along with the referring page (if any), QUERY, POST, User Agent, time of access, and date. Please either 1. Stop the bad behavior, or 2. Cease accessing this system.

The webmaster of this site has decided to provide you with an e-mail link to start a trouble ticket about this block.
Please do not change the beginning of the subject line, nor the preamble of the body text.

Click HERE to start a trouble ticket.
Your connection details:
Record #: 47445
Time: Sat, 20 Apr 2013 14:18:33 -0400
Running: 0.4.10a1
Host: cm-110-171-4-8.revip7.asianet.co.th
IP: 110.171.4.8
Post:
Query: name=CT-CA-QualityTest
Stripped Query: name=ct-ca-qualitytest
Referer: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=17169040
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_7_5) AppleWebKit/537.31 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/26.0.1410.65 Safari/537.31
Reconstructed URL: http:// www.ispgeeks.com /wild/modules.php?name=CT-CA-QualityTest

Generated by ZB Block 0.4.10a1
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 01:25 PM   #16
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
I got:

403 FORBIDDEN!
I used the site before I posted the link and just tried it again and it works fine. Must be something up on your end or with your ISP.

Maybe email to site admin and ask what is up. It is a legit site.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 01:28 PM   #17
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I used the site before I posted the link and just tried it again and it works fine. Must be something up on your end or with your ISP.

Maybe email to site admin and ask what is up. It is a legit site.
OK, thanks!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
OK, thanks!
Take a look, the site appears to be gone. I really appreciate the suggestion, but there is no contact us or anything. Seems they have left us.
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 02:36 PM   #18
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcage49 View Post
OK, thanks!

----------



Take a look, the site appears to be gone. I really appreciate the suggestion, but there is no contact us or anything. Seems they have left us.
I just checked again. It is still there for me and works fine. Maybe they blocked your IP.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 03:03 PM   #19
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I just checked again. It is still there for me and works fine. Maybe they blocked your IP.
I went there too. It was there, but I was sort of concerned about using it because of all the warnings about it wanting to access Mac. Didn't figure it was worth the risk.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 04:06 PM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I went there too. It was there, but I was sort of concerned about using it because of all the warnings about it wanting to access Mac. Didn't figure it was worth the risk.
It uses Java to run the test and is asking permission to use Java is what you are seeing. This is why this site is more accurate and thorough than flash based speed test sites.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2013, 06:31 PM   #21
nickcage49
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Funny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
It uses Java to run the test and is asking permission to use Java is what you are seeing. This is why this site is more accurate and thorough than flash based speed test sites.
For some strange reason they must be blocking Thailand. I turned on my VPN and presto, there was the site.

Thanks so much guys!!! I really appreciate! I'll try it!
nickcage49 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WiFi Speed Test Ry. iOS 6 0 Sep 25, 2012 06:41 AM
Anyone done a speed test? lthompson iPhone 1 Sep 21, 2012 02:49 PM
How to test processor speed and/or hard drive speed? macuser1232 MacBook Pro 9 Aug 28, 2012 05:52 PM
speed Test Tech198 MacBook Pro 3 Jul 25, 2012 03:27 PM
SSD Speed test police340 iMac 6 Jun 20, 2012 09:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC