Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

johnjefferson

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 23, 2013
Got the iPhone from a friend a few weeks ago, took quite a few pics and videos and all was well. Then today I notice these spots on the sensor. Really? Being a photographer, I understand how this happens with my cameras as I switch lenses but how does an iPhone 5 thats been in a case get spots on its sensor? I have had many phones and have never seen this, so much for Apple superior build quality. I am taking it to the Apple store tomorrow and will probably get stuck with a refurbished one now. Dumping this thing for an S4 the day it comes out :rolleyes:

Attachments

• iPhone.JPG
    iPhone.JPG
    56.8 KB · Views: 136

watchthisspace

macrumors 6502a
Apr 11, 2010
Out of the millions of millions of iPhone 5's Apple has sold, sadly there will be ones that have defects. Take it on the chin, go to Apple and get it replaced.

A refurbished iPhone goes under the same, if not stricter tests before it's passed onto you, so you have nothing to worry about. And in the case that the new iPhone has another problem, just take it back, either get another or a refund.

I've personally been through 3 iPhone 4's and am still 100% happy.

johnjefferson

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 23, 2013
Out of the millions of millions of iPhone 5's Apple has sold, sadly there will be ones that have defects. Take it on the chin, go to Apple and get it replaced.

A refurbished iPhone goes under the same, if not stricter tests before it's passed onto you, so you have nothing to worry about. And in the case that the new iPhone has another problem, just take it back, either get another or a refund.