Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2013, 05:57 PM   #1
owensfg2
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2

What do I need to upgrade to make my games lag free and play on decent visual settings?

Macbook Pro 15inch mid 2010 model
2.4 GHz i5
4GB Memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 256 MB
owensfg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 06:46 PM   #2
ScottishCaptain
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Nothing, you need a faster computer.

-SC
__________________
2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1), 2*2.93ghz, 64GB, 4x2TB, Apple RAID Card, 5970 GPU, 2xSD, Eizo CG276W
ScottishCaptain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 06:54 PM   #3
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
A better video card. Which as ScottishCaptain pointed out, means you need a new computer.
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 07:00 PM   #4
owensfg2
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Thanks for the reply!

Well before my battery died(haven't replaced it yet), it was running great with little to no lag. I figured once I replaced the battery, I would upgrade my RAM and buy an external harddrive and unload all my pictures, videos, and music on to that.

You guys are saying that wouldn't work?

Oh and I forgot to mention, I'm low on cash. Would what I stated, help the cause at all? Cheapest route?!

Last edited by owensfg2; Apr 24, 2013 at 07:05 PM.
owensfg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 07:20 PM   #5
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
What OS are you running? Apple doesn't update graphics drivers on older OSes, so if you don't have 10.8.3, I would get that. Upgrading the RAM will not cause the game to run faster, unless you are playing it with lots of apps in the background. Buying an external hard drive won't do anything.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2013, 08:00 PM   #6
mrmarts
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
I play both of those games on my 2010 iMac with a 2.7 i7, 8gb of ram and 512mb ATI graphics card and it runs fine. You might need to turn down some of the in game settings on a 256mb graphics.

However to put it mildly I think its time for a update if you have the cash or want to make the change, otherwise the PS4 will be getting Diablo 3 so there's another option you might like to try.
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | Iphone 5 64GB Black | Apple TV 3 Bedroom | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, Pre Ordered |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey
mrmarts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 06:41 AM   #7
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
its also coming for the ps3
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 07:22 AM   #8
Andrew*Debbie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensfg2 View Post

Well before my battery died(haven't replaced it yet), it was running great
Save your cash. Something changed. Possibly you lost some settings when the battery died.


Check the system Preferences. Engergy Saver and Display.

There may be some bit of hardware that needs a reset too. I'm not up to speed on your exact computer but many of the mac laptops have independent power controllers that may need a hard reset after the battery dies.

If those are fine, check the settings inside D3.
Andrew*Debbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 08:44 AM   #9
rotopenguin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
No setting changed when the battery died, the thing that changed is that you no longer have a battery. All laptops now come with a power supply that is a little too small to run CPU and GPU at full speed, so they need to borrow power from the battery while gaming. My system can burn off about 10% an hour during intense gaming.

I imagine that moment-to-moment power consumption can vary a bit depending on whether the CPU and GPU hit a strait-away on code optimization. To guarantee that a batteryless system never goes into a deficit, it must assume the worst case, and underclock to where it still has a little surplus no matter what.

On your 2010 it's probably worth replacing the battery still. I'm a bit disappointed (and worried for my 2012) that yours is trash already, how much were you working on/off of wall power?
rotopenguin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 09:32 AM   #10
owensfg2
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew*Debbie View Post
Save your cash. Something changed. Possibly you lost some settings when the battery died.


Check the system Preferences. Engergy Saver and Display.

There may be some bit of hardware that needs a reset too. I'm not up to speed on your exact computer but many of the mac laptops have independent power controllers that may need a hard reset after the battery dies.

If those are fine, check the settings inside D3.
Exactly what I was thinking because before the battery went out, it ran seamlessly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotopenguin View Post
No setting changed when the battery died, the thing that changed is that you no longer have a battery. All laptops now come with a power supply that is a little too small to run CPU and GPU at full speed, so they need to borrow power from the battery while gaming. My system can burn off about 10% an hour during intense gaming.

I imagine that moment-to-moment power consumption can vary a bit depending on whether the CPU and GPU hit a strait-away on code optimization. To guarantee that a batteryless system never goes into a deficit, it must assume the worst case, and underclock to where it still has a little surplus no matter what.

On your 2010 it's probably worth replacing the battery still. I'm a bit disappointed (and worried for my 2012) that yours is trash already, how much were you working on/off of wall power?
Good information. The battery is literally shot. It has to be plugged into the wall for the computer to work. "No batteries available"

----------

BTW do you guys have any suggestions on where to get a good battery? for cheap?
owensfg2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 09:49 AM   #11
Andrew*Debbie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensfg2 View Post

The battery is literally shot. It has to be plugged into the wall for the computer to work. "No batteries available"[COLOR="#808080"]
Somehow I missed that you haven't replaced the battery. my bad.

Since you are low on funds and the computer is a 2010, your best option is to replace the battery. But sooner or later you are going to want a new laptop.
Andrew*Debbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 09:55 AM   #12
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by owensfg2 View Post
Exactly what I was thinking because before the battery went out, it ran seamlessly.


Good information. The battery is literally shot. It has to be plugged into the wall for the computer to work. "No batteries available"

----------

BTW do you guys have any suggestions on where to get a good battery? for cheap?
That really shouldn't happen on a three year old machine. Do you have an Apple Store nearby? Although you are out of warranty you might get lucky. There's also a chance it's the connection to the battery and not the battery itself that's the issue.

I wouldn't recommend buying a cheap aftermarket battery if you don't want to run the risk of completely hosing your laptop. Also, installing them isn't trivial. Best let Apple take care of it.
Cougarcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 03:22 PM   #13
mindust
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Your laptop is being throttled down due to no battery

The CPU is throttled to run half speed if you don't have a battery when you plugged into the wall. Get a new battery replacement.
mindust is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 07:48 PM   #14
rotopenguin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
I wouldn't recommend buying a cheap aftermarket battery if you don't want to run the risk of completely hosing your laptop. Also, installing them isn't trivial. Best let Apple take care of it.
It's better than that, there's a modest chance of a fake battery hosing your home down, with fire.

In About This Mac.., click on System Report, and go to the Power heading. OP, please post the Battery section, there's probably more than one fact there worth rolling up and smacking a Genius's nose with.
rotopenguin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 02:36 AM   #15
dollystereo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: France
Installing the battery is trivial, just go to ifixit.com and look for the guide. It shouldnt take you more than 10 mins.
__________________
MBP, MP
dollystereo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 07:15 AM   #16
lmedinas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
fyi i played both D3 and S2 on my macbook pro 13" with intel hd 4000 fine on medium/low settings. The only complain is the heating but...

I think you won't have a big problem to play that games in terms of graphics.
lmedinas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 09:59 AM   #17
Nightarchaon
macrumors 65816
 
Nightarchaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Both those games play fine on the 8600m 512MB in my early 2008 MBP, i would have thought they would run ok on newer cards
__________________
iWatch in action http://media.joe.ie/wp-content/uploa...ael-Knight.jpg
MacBook Pro/iPad Mini/TV1/iMac/iPhone5
Nightarchaon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 10:52 AM   #18
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Diablo 3 and Starcraft 2 are one of the best running games on my 17" mid-2010 Macbook Pro. Even on high settings, both games run @ steady 30+ fps, at all times.

Blizzard knows...
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 05:07 PM   #19
jamesbarns
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cedar Hills, Utah
 
As people have already said, I would just get a new computer. If I were you, since you said you are low on cash, just go ahead and build your own PC. For $1000 if you get the right components, you will be able to run ANYTHING on Highest settings lag free! Just my recommendation.
jamesbarns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 11:01 PM   #20
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightarchaon View Post
Both those games play fine on the 8600m 512MB in my early 2008 MBP, i would have thought they would run ok on newer cards
His problem is CPU working at 1/2 speed without battery, but Geforce8600 is faster than 330m anyway
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2013, 02:48 AM   #21
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXan View Post
His problem is CPU working at 1/2 speed without battery, but Geforce8600 is faster than 330m anyway
No, the 8600m is slightly faster than the 320m. the GT330M is ~ 30% faster than the 8600m.
The problem is the CPU which you point out is throttled.
Starcraft 2 is one of the games that actually needs lots of CPU power.

I had a both 2010MBP and a 2008 MBP for a short period of time, and played SC2, and the 2010 was almost 50% faster due to both better GPU and CPU.

Here is a benchmark between 9600M, 320M and GT330M:
http://barefeats.com/mbpp25.html
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac Pro for games - starcraft, Diablo, Minecraft Sean Dempsey Mac Pro 20 Aug 4, 2014 07:53 PM
Diablo/Starcraft and the 21"/750M, how is it ? Nic0 iMac 8 Jun 7, 2014 04:38 PM
2012 iMac and Starcraft/Diablo travistaylor iMac 8 Dec 8, 2012 09:15 PM
Diablo 3 vs Starcraft 2 SimonDK Mac and PC Games 2 Jul 13, 2012 01:51 PM
MBPR gaming experience (Diablo, Starcraft) Deliak MacBook Pro 78 Jun 30, 2012 04:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC