Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2013, 01:14 PM   #1
DeadeyeM
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
TRIM enable for 840, any problems?

Hello, i've recently had my SSD Samsung 840 replaced because after i brought my Macbook Pro to friends place my mac din't reboot showed Blinking Question mark Folder, i've tried plugging this SSD to my PC and it wont show it. So i'm not sure what could have caused this problem.

So right now i have replacement so wandering should i enable TRIM on it? and if so, what is the best method, any recommendations?
DeadeyeM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 01:26 PM   #2
mrnoglue
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Use Trim Enabler

I have the 840 on a 2010 MacBook, with trim enabled using http://www.groths.org/trim-enabler/

Zero Problems. Though there is a safer way to enable trim using the terminal. Many posts on this: ex

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1476929

http://oltreepie.blogspot.cz/2012/12...tain-lion.html
mrnoglue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 01:42 PM   #3
DeadeyeM
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I have used the chameleon one, so not sure should i use it again?

Biges question did it caused the problem at the first place....
DeadeyeM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 04:21 PM   #4
stchman
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Send a message via AIM to stchman Send a message via Yahoo to stchman Send a message via Skype™ to stchman
I thought TRIM was enabled by default for all SSDs after Lion came out?
stchman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 04:39 PM   #5
w0lf
macrumors 6502a
 
w0lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by stchman View Post
I thought TRIM was enabled by default for all SSDs after Lion came out?
No just the ones that apple ships built in.
w0lf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 06:36 PM   #6
August West
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I've used TrimEnabler on both the 840 in my Mini and the one in my MBP since I installed the drives with zero problems.
August West is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 09:20 AM   #7
GP-SE
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
best method:
http://digitaldj.net/2011/07/21/trim-enabler-for-lion/
GP-SE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 09:47 AM   #8
johnnnw
macrumors 6502a
 
johnnnw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Shouldn't cause any problems!

If you're worried you don't NEED to use it. I'm pretty sure the 840 has built in garbage collection.
johnnnw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 06:20 AM   #9
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Personally use Trim Enabler.

Have done on my Intel X25-Ms and 330 series as well as Samsung 830 and 840 series SSDs.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 06:39 AM   #10
beachmusic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by GP-SE View Post
that links dead
__________________
Roll-Tide
beachmusic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 12:23 PM   #11
jimthing
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK
TRIM *should* be enabled!

See this thread:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1507367

The last post links to a German language article which apparently confirms TRIM should definitely be enabled from Samsung employee's lips.

...and may need re-enabling after any OS X updates or if you reinstall, as well.

Hope this helps anyone unsure.


Useful comments section (especially for 840 Pro *256GB* users, but may help others), here:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R93I78YJR8VWQ

.
__________________
MBP 17" 2.93GHz C2D/10.9.x Mav/8GB RAM/256GB SSD Mac Mini 2.6GHz i7 QC/10.9.x Mav/16GB RAM/256GB SSD T.Caps 5th gen/3TB ATV 3
iP5S 64GB/gold/7.x iPad Mini 2 128GB/grey/WiFi+4G/7.x

wiki:Apple.
jimthing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 12:15 AM   #12
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
I had TRIM enabled on my first samsung 840, but it died within a week. On my replacement SSD, I did not enable TRIM. It work just as fast, on windows and OS X. It's been a good 3 months without TRIM and it works fine.
vistadude is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung 840 Pros on Sonnet Tempo Pro - enable TRIM? Schismz Mac Pro 11 Apr 16, 2014 02:47 PM
TRIM on Samsung 840 Shadow%20Mac MacBook Pro 15 Apr 26, 2013 07:05 AM
Should I use Trim on Samsung 840? UBS28 MacBook Pro 1 Feb 27, 2013 08:03 PM
Ssd samsung series 840 to trim o not to trim gianlucadr MacBook Pro 7 Jan 22, 2013 01:39 AM
samsung 840 pro, do I need to enable TRIM? northernbaldy Mac Pro 6 Dec 15, 2012 03:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC