Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2013, 01:48 PM   #1
Damian83
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Switching main HD to different Mac's

Hi! i have an imac 2012 with osx installed on a thunderbolt ssd. now i want to get a macbook for when im not stay home. my main problem is that i want both macs with identical configurations, documents, apps etc. what happens if i connect the ssd to the macbook. will be automatically reconfigured for the new system, or it can cause conflicts?
Damian83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 02:19 PM   #2
hwojtek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A small rural village in western Poland
It will fire up no problems.
However what you _really_ want is two systems with configs and docs shared via the cloud.
__________________
Wojtek
More Macs than I can count, really. Like 20 or so...
hwojtek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 02:52 PM   #3
Damian83
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwojtek View Post
It will fire up no problems.
However what you _really_ want is two systems with configs and docs shared via the cloud.
too much documents. too much things. impossible with cloud. i want to try with another hd. any idea how to copy my hd to another? super duper?
Damian83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 03:45 PM   #4
hwojtek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A small rural village in western Poland
Yeah, this or Carbon Copy Cloner (no longer freeware, but well worth it).
__________________
Wojtek
More Macs than I can count, really. Like 20 or so...
hwojtek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2013, 05:26 PM   #5
Damian83
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
ok it works without any problems!
Damian83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 02:33 AM   #6
hwojtek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A small rural village in western Poland
Cool, glad to help.
__________________
Wojtek
More Macs than I can count, really. Like 20 or so...
hwojtek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 07:36 AM   #7
Damian83
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hwojtek View Post
Cool, glad to help.
OOOO Polak! Dopiero teraz zalwazylem
Damian83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing the main HD on the Mac Pro? SHNXX Mac Pro 6 Nov 18, 2013 07:54 PM
Mafia II Mac Main story mode crashing rayzabee Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Aug 29, 2013 09:19 PM
Copying Mac Main Drive to External ronbeauchamp Mac Basics and Help 2 Mar 19, 2013 09:57 AM
Is there a way to make my 2008 iMac a main display for a Mac Mini? Star Nuts iMac 3 Aug 17, 2012 02:13 PM
How do you use your external HD as main HD (Mac OS Lion)? flapjack777 Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 1, 2012 02:54 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC