Is there a free version of CCC for Mountain Lion? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2013, 02:42 AM   #1
2012Tony2012
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Is there a free version of CCC for Mountain Lion?

I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion, but now the free version of Carbon Copy Cloner complains it won't run and that I need to upgrade...however the new version is not freeware it seems?

Anyone know if it's possible to run CCC on Mountail Lion using the FREEWARE version?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 02:44 AM   #2
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
CCC is now a commercial product, so if you want it, you are going to have to buy ;



http://www.bombich.com/
__________________
..That's All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 08:16 AM   #3
trustever
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
there is not a version of CCC but you can use super duper, it has also a nicer interface and no nasty ads.
trustever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 10:34 AM   #4
hwojtek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: A small rural village in western Poland
Actually, as far as I remember the older versions of CCC do run under Mountain Lion, only warn you against it. I believe the point is it doesn't properly work with the recovery partition.
Luckily there are a few "create recovery partition" scripts floating around the web (Google it), so if my memory serves me correctly, it's OK to use CCC and then run a script after a reboot. Actually this is what I did with the last ad/freeware version of the CCC.
__________________
Wojtek
More Macs than I can count, really. Like 20 or so...
hwojtek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 11:49 AM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion, but now the free version of Carbon Copy Cloner complains it won't run and that I need to upgrade...however the new version is not freeware it seems?

Anyone know if it's possible to run CCC on Mountail Lion using the FREEWARE version?
You can still use the free 3.4.7 version with ML and it is fully functional, it just has not been tested by the developer. Read this post from the dev. for more info.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 11:54 AM   #6
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
You can use version 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.7 (free, and works well on OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8). It just hasn't been tested on ML, but it works fine.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:44 PM   #7
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can use version 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.7 (free, and works well on OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8). It just hasn't been tested on ML, but it works fine.
OK thanks, I will just ignore the warning message then

When I bought and ran Mountain Lion from the App Store, it didn't create the rescue partition anyway it seems. How come?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:46 PM   #8
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
OK thanks, I will just ignore the warning message then

When I bought and ran Mountain Lion from the App Store, it didn't create the rescue partition anyway it seems. How come?
It certainly can, if you have the settings correct. See "Cloning Apple's Recovery HD partition" in the following link:

Carbon Copy Cloner Documentation
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:47 PM   #9
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by trustever View Post
there is not a version of CCC but you can use super duper, it has also a nicer interface and no nasty ads.
But Super Duper costs money, it's not free!

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/13803/superduper!
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:48 PM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
But Super Duper costs money, it's not free!
Also, SuperDuper! will not clone the recovery partition.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:51 PM   #11
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Also, SuperDuper! will not clone the recovery partition.
How do I load and run the recovery partition to see if my ML upgrade did in fact create it?

And does the free version and old version of CCC clone the recovery partition?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:53 PM   #12
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
How do I load and run the recovery partition to see if my ML upgrade did in fact create it?
Hold down Command+R keys during boot to access the Recovery HD partition.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
And does the free version and old version of CCC clone the recovery partition?
Both versions work the same.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 04:54 PM   #13
53kyle
macrumors 65816
 
53kyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sebastopol, CA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
But Super Duper costs money, it's not free!

http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/13803/superduper!
Shareware means that there is the free version, but for a couple of useless features you can pay if you want
__________________
 13" MacBook Pro, 2.9 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 750 GB, OS X 10.10;
 Mac Mini, 1.42 GHz PPC G4, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB;
 White iPad 3, WiFi + 4G LTE, 64 GB;
 Red iPod Touch 5th Gen, 32 GB;
53kyle is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:29 PM   #14
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Hold down Command+R keys during boot to access the Recovery HD partition.

Both versions work the same.
If both work the same, why do people pay for the latest version? Why not just use the free version?

----------

As I went to clone my Mountain Lion, I got this message:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/o07piksqj6...26.54%20AM.png

What shall I do now?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:35 PM   #15
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
If both work the same, why do people pay for the latest version? Why not just use the free version?
Many people do. Both work just the same.

Carbon Copy Cloner's Transition to a Commercial Product: Frequently Asked Questions
Quote:
Can I continue using the older version that is "donationware"?
Yes, absolutely. If you are currently using CCC and have not donated in the past, you are welcome to continue using any version up to and including 3.4.7 as long as you like without purchasing a license. Note, however, that previous versions of CCC are not qualified against Mountain Lion and we are no longer developing older versions of CCC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
As I went to clone my Mountain Lion, I got this message:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/o07piksqj6...26.54%20AM.png

What shall I do now?
Did you read the whole message? It tells you what to do:
Click image for larger version

Name:	gsduYsllE0JvoMB2RIUYhe9E4w2aeOaNkcgnqAZ_x6s.png
Views:	61
Size:	160.9 KB
ID:	409780
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:41 PM   #16
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Interesting, I opened CCC again, but this time it doesn't give me that option for rescue partition. So I just continue?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:44 PM   #17
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Interesting, I opened CCC again, but this time it doesn't give me that option for rescue partition. So I just continue?
I would follow the instructions for cloning the recovery partition. Use the support materials available at bombich.com. The procedures for using CCC are well documented there.

System Requirements, Installing, Updating, and Uninstalling CCC
Frequently Asked Questions and Troubleshooting
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:53 PM   #18
petsk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Learn how to use Disk Utility or set up Time Machine instead of using CCC.
petsk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 05:54 PM   #19
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsk View Post
Learn how to use Disk Utility or set up Time Machine instead of using CCC.
There's no need to do that, unless someone simply wants to use TM. Time Machine cannot create bootable clones of your drive like CCC can.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 06:28 PM   #20
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
OK thanks, I will just ignore the warning message then

When I bought and ran Mountain Lion from the App Store, it didn't create the rescue partition anyway it seems. How come?
A Mountain Lion install will create a recovery partition. There is no way to stop it from creating one actually. Just type "diskutil list" without the quotes in Terminal and you should see the 650mb recovery hd partition.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 06:43 PM   #21
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsk View Post
Learn how to use Disk Utility or set up Time Machine instead of using CCC.
I have been there and done that, I would never use TM ever again! I love CCC

----------

By the way GGJstudios, in ML, it doesn't seem to work to follow the steps to uninstall apps. How do I do it on ML?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 06:47 PM   #22
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
By the way GGJstudios, in ML, it doesn't seem to work to follow the steps to uninstall apps. How do I do it on ML?
This should work with any OS X version, including ML.
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program
If you're having problems, explain what's happening.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 06:50 PM   #23
petsk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I have been there and done that, I would never use TM ever again! I love CCC
If you are looking for a 100% clone copy then Disk Utility is the (only) way to go. CCC cannot perform a perfect clone and neither can any other third party app. At least not as long as they are running in userland because files will be locked while OS X is booted. You can run Disk Utility without booting into OS X.
petsk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 07:00 PM   #24
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by petsk View Post
If you are looking for a 100% clone copy then Disk Utility is the (only) way to go. CCC cannot perform a perfect clone and neither can any other third party app. At least not as long as they are running in userland because files will be locked while OS X is booted. You can run Disk Utility without booting into OS X.
For anything short of forensic level cloning, CCC clones work perfectly fine and don't require rebooting. That makes it far more usable for regular backup purposes, and will more than satisfy all but a very few users.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2013, 07:08 PM   #25
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
This should work with any OS X version, including ML.
Best way to FULLY DELETE a program
If you're having problems, explain what's happening.
In Snow Leopard, whenever I typed in a word, e.g SuperDuper, it would find it, but in Mountain Lion, it doesn't, why?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k9jf2wd9ge...06.11%20AM.png
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to OS X Mountain Lion through App Store from bootleg version of Lion? TheBoothGuy1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 21, 2013 09:29 AM
Running not-purchased version of Mountain Lion and want to install original version! LvdT MacBook Pro 4 May 16, 2013 08:31 PM
What are the limitations to the free version of CCC? Roc P. Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Aug 23, 2012 08:28 PM
Mountain Lion: GM vs. Final Version chrf097 Wasteland 17 Aug 5, 2012 02:57 AM
Mountain Lion GM Version jesarg24 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 59 Jul 22, 2012 10:50 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC