Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2013, 04:28 PM   #1
FortWorthMac
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Feasibility of the migration assistant?

Well finally decided it was time for a new iMac. I have a 5 year old 24inch and ordered a 27inch from Amazon.

My question is the feasibility of the migration assistant. How well does it work? And I guess the fastest way to accomplish the migration. My old iMac does not have the Thunderport or whatever it's called.

Thanks
David
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 05:20 PM   #2
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
There are multiple ways to connect the systems. Also, if you have a current Time Machine backup, Migration Assistant should be able to copy from that as well.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 05:57 PM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Well finally decided it was time for a new iMac. I have a 5 year old 24inch and ordered a 27inch from Amazon.

My question is the feasibility of the migration assistant. How well does it work? And I guess the fastest way to accomplish the migration. My old iMac does not have the Thunderport or whatever it's called.

Thanks
David
Both machines have GB ethernet, so I think that would be fastest. Just connect an ethernet cable directly between the two and run MA. It works quite well.

Make sure you run MA as part of the setup process and not after you have created the account as that causes duplicate folders and all sorts of problems. You old account will be created on the new machine as part of MA.

As Bear mentioned, if you have a Time Machine backup on an USB external, that can be used as the MA source also.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 09:14 PM   #4
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Both machines have GB ethernet, so I think that would be fastest. Just connect an ethernet cable directly between the two and run MA. It works quite well.
Question in regards to that. Back in my old Windows IT days one would have to use a "cross over" ethernet cable to hook up two machines together. Is that not the case here?
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 10:16 PM   #5
Bear
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sol III - Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Question in regards to that. Back in my old Windows IT days one would have to use a "cross over" ethernet cable to hook up two machines together. Is that not the case here?
Macs as I recall do not need those corssover cables. Nor do most systems these days.
__________________
-----Bear
Bear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 11:17 PM   #6
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Macs as I recall do not need those corssover cables. Nor do most systems these days.
Gotcha, thanks.
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 04:31 AM   #7
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear View Post
Macs as I recall do not need those corssover cables. Nor do most systems these days.
Exactly. The ethernet port will sense it is a direct connection and handle it for you. No crossover cable needed.

I still have an orange crossover cable sitting in a drawer I just can't bring myself to throw away though.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 04:33 AM   #8
MultiFinder17
macrumors 65816
 
MultiFinder17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Another vote here for Ethernet. I just used MA via Ethernet to migrate from my old Mac mini to my new iMac without a hitch. It took around 30 minutes to transfer all of my data, applications, and settings. Good luck, and enjoy your new iMac
__________________
2011 iMac, iMac G5, 2012 Air, ThinkPad X200, iPad mini, iPhone 5.
"...But there is one more thing - your patience was worth it. Introducing the PowerBook G5!" - Steve Jobs Hologram @ WWDC 2014
MultiFinder17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 12:35 PM   #9
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by MultiFinder17 View Post
Another vote here for Ethernet. I just used MA via Ethernet to migrate from my old Mac mini to my new iMac without a hitch. It took around 30 minutes to transfer all of my data, applications, and settings. Good luck, and enjoy your new iMac
Thanks.

I got a little confused reading the apple support page. So let me try and clarify since you just did it.

I simply run the ethernet cable between BOTH iMacs.

This line on the support page confused me: "o use Ethernet for migration, connect the two computers with a single Ethernet cable; you don't need to connect the computers to a hub, switch, or router. This may be faster than using a wireless connection. For the best experience, be sure to attach your source and target Macs to the wired network before you start."

If the two macs are attached via an ethernet cable, how can they then be plugged in to a wired connection?
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 12:42 PM   #10
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
If the two macs are attached via an ethernet cable, how can they then be plugged in to a wired connection?
They aren't. I agree, that is very poorly worded and confusing. You just connect the ethernet cable directly between the two machines.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 12:44 PM   #11
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
They aren't. I agree, that is very poorly worded and confusing. You just connect the ethernet cable directly between the two machines.
Good and thanks. Glad it wasn't just me that was confused by it. I promise I haven't started drinking yet today.
FortWorthMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 12:46 PM   #12
MultiFinder17
macrumors 65816
 
MultiFinder17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Good and thanks. Glad it wasn't just me that was confused by it. I promise I haven't started drinking yet today.
Haha, it's all good. As stated, just connect the two machines via ethernet directly; you can also do it over a regular wired network, which is how I did it, but either way works fine
__________________
2011 iMac, iMac G5, 2012 Air, ThinkPad X200, iPad mini, iPhone 5.
"...But there is one more thing - your patience was worth it. Introducing the PowerBook G5!" - Steve Jobs Hologram @ WWDC 2014
MultiFinder17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 12:47 PM   #13
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Good and thanks. Glad it wasn't just me that was confused by it. I promise I haven't started drinking yet today.
You should... it will make the time pass more quickly while you wait for the migration to finish.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:07 PM   #14
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
You should... it will make the time pass more quickly while you wait for the migration to finish.
Well the new one is coming "sometime" tomorrow via FedEx so it's going to be a loooonnnnnggggg day. But I'm sure they'll be plenty of some of Kentucky's finest enjoyed during the process.
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:33 PM   #15
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
And do I understand that the "best" way to do this is during the initial startup?
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:36 PM   #16
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
And do I understand that the "best" way to do this is during the initial startup?
Yes, definitely.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:42 PM   #17
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Yes, definitely.
Gotcha, thanks.....

So excited.......
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:47 PM   #18
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Gotcha, thanks.....

So excited.......
I think FedEx has it out for us. If I order say razor blade refills... BAM! 10:30 AM FedEx delivery. New Mac I desperately want.... 7:30 PM... every single time!!
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 01:50 PM   #19
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I think FedEx has it out for us. If I order say razor blade refills... BAM! 10:30 AM FedEx delivery. New Mac I desperately want.... 7:30 PM... every single time!!
Yeah tell me about it.

And the "estimated" delivery time tomorrow is "before 8pm". Come one really!!!??? #firstworldproblems
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2013, 02:20 PM   #20
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
I think FedEx has it out for us. If I order say razor blade refills... BAM! 10:30 AM FedEx delivery. New Mac I desperately want.... 7:30 PM... every single time!!
Sometimes I swear FedEx and UPS rush delivery of unimportant items, but when it's something you want now it comes at the very end of the day or they "forget" to drop it off and it comes the next day.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 12:10 AM   #21
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Damn that was seamless!
FortWorthMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 05:42 AM   #22
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Damn that was seamless!
Glad it worked out. Enjoy the new Mac.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:49 AM   #23
FortWorthMac
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: the parched earth of North Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Glad it worked out. Enjoy the new Mac.
Yup, thanks.

But gotta say, and granted its only the i5, it doesn't seen as fast as I thought it would moving from a 5 year old Mac.
FortWorthMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 12:06 PM   #24
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortWorthMac View Post
Yup, thanks.

But gotta say, and granted its only the i5, it doesn't seen as fast as I thought it would moving from a 5 year old Mac.
Last couple upgrades for me felt sort of like "incremental" upgrades also. The really big and noticeable change in perceived speed came with the SSD for me.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration Assistant or not? richard13 iMac 4 Nov 30, 2013 01:34 PM
Migration Assistant help Kafkaesque Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 21, 2013 07:18 PM
migration assistant or setup assistant? [also connection method] KaraH iMac 1 Oct 7, 2013 10:48 AM
Migration Assistant help? Chippy99 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Jun 12, 2013 07:03 AM
ML Changes to Migration Assistant? jw138 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Jun 24, 2012 09:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC