Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2013, 06:25 PM   #1
15danielp
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Handbrake rip won't play in iTunes but plays in Quicktime

I can't find the solution anywhere.

I ripped a concert dvd using the Apple TV 3 preset. It plays great in Quicktime with great sound, but it won't "play" in iTunes. When play is on, I just get a still of the video. I can scroll back and forth and all the video is there, but it won't literally "play".

I tried a few times and I changed the extension from m4v to mp4 but that didn't matter. I have a rip of the dvd with standard settings and that plays fine but looks like bad VHS.

The Apple TV preset looks great on quicktime so I was hoping to get this playing on my Apple TV though iTunes.

Thanks for any help.
15danielp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2013, 08:54 PM   #2
jthesssin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Same here...almost

Running a Mid 2010 Mac Mini via HDMI and an Apple TV3 via HDMI.
Used Handbrake to record "A Bug's Life" using the Apple TV3 preset. Plays perfectly fine in quicktime and on my Apple TV3 but cant seem to get it to play on my iTunes, it just gives a still shot of the movie at every location i click on the progress bar. Media is stored on a 2TB Time machine and all my other media plays just fine. I don't really need to watch the movie with iTunes as i have the Apple TV but I'm wondering if this will affect playing on my iPad3... I also used Subler to encode the Metadata and Album Art if that matters
jthesssin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 12:42 AM   #3
Toubro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
It sounds like both of you have AC-3 as the primary or only sound track in the videofile. If you change this to dolby or stereo, (using Subler for instance), it doesn't affect the picture quality, and will play back fine in iTunes.
Toubro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2013, 01:21 PM   #4
15danielp
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toubro View Post
It sounds like both of you have AC-3 as the primary or only sound track in the videofile. If you change this to dolby or stereo, (using Subler for instance), it doesn't affect the picture quality, and will play back fine in iTunes.
You're right! Thanks!

I switched the second of the tack options to from "0: English (LPCM) (2.0 ch)" to "1: English (AC3) (5.1 ch)" and used AC3 passthru. I left the first track option on "0: English (LPCM) (2.0 ch)" set to AAC (CoreAudio). Or it might have been the other way around.

So what settings do I use to transfer the dolby 5.1 soundtrack?
15danielp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2013, 12:51 AM   #5
Toubro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 15danielp View Post
You're right! Thanks!

I switched the second of the tack options to from "0: English (LPCM) (2.0 ch)" to "1: English (AC3) (5.1 ch)" and used AC3 passthru. I left the first track option on "0: English (LPCM) (2.0 ch)" set to AAC (CoreAudio). Or it might have been the other way around.

So what settings do I use to transfer the dolby 5.1 soundtrack?
iTunes sadly does not support AC3, which I recently learned that QT now does.
You might find some more information on this in this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1577527

If you have an ATV you can use this instead:
When a video features two soundtracks, the Stereo track should be the default one.
If the ATV detects that the receiver can handle AC3/Surround, it should switch automatically to the AC3 track. If it doesn't you can hold down the center button on the ATV remote and choose the soundtrack manually.
As the ATV can't process AC3, your receiver will have to be able to do this. If it cannot handle AC3 either, you will need to convert the AC3 track to another surround format.
Toubro is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why won't my BluRay rip play? rbrian Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 19, 2013 03:45 PM
iTunes can't play .mp4/.m4v, but Quicktime can? troy14 Apple TV and Home Theater 10 May 6, 2013 05:05 AM
Quicktime won't play anything VirtualRain OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 31, 2012 05:49 AM
iMovie to Quicktime but won't play on LG tv? act1980 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jul 6, 2012 02:25 PM
Handbrake mp4 won't import into iTunes undies1993 Digital Video 1 Jun 29, 2012 11:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC