Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2013, 07:37 PM   #1
n8236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Are you a Network Guru?

Hey guys,

I'm having some trouble setting up WDS for my complex.

I have a Linksys (Router1 aka R1) using DD-WRT and having trouble using my MediaLink N router (Router2 aka R2) to work properly.

On R1, I have enabled WDS, inputted R2's MAC and turned on Lazy Mode. On the wireless status page, it shows R2 utilizing WDS.

On R2, I have turned off security functions, disabled DHCP, put it in Repeater mode, put in R1's wifi MAC and attached it to R1's wifi.

However, when I connect to R2's wifi, I get the non-routable IP (169.x.y.z.) with no default gateway or DNS.

Any help to make this work is appreciated!
__________________
MBP Duo Core (02/14/06) : Pro Core 2 Duo (12/23/08) : MBP i7 (04/16/10) : MBP i7 v2 (02/03/11) : MBPr (08/25/12)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/405480361.png
n8236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 11:02 AM   #2
kweevuss
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Did to you try to put in a static IP on the machine your trying to connect to R2 just to see if it will forward packets?
kweevuss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 12:13 PM   #3
cbott
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Michigan
Do you have the cat5 cable from R1 going to a LAN port or the WAN port on R2?
cbott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 12:16 PM   #4
n8236
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I gave up. After more research, it appears that WDS is a tricky config that doesn't always work, especially if the routers' chipsets are different. I opted to return it and get one of those power-brick styled repeaters.

----------

I didn't want R1 and R2 to be wired. The whole pt of R2 was to expand R1's wifi coverage.

After tinkering, I got R1 to see R2. R2 was able to see devices trying to connect to it, but it wasn't able to ask R1 to provide it any IP info to pass onto the devices.
__________________
MBP Duo Core (02/14/06) : Pro Core 2 Duo (12/23/08) : MBP i7 (04/16/10) : MBP i7 v2 (02/03/11) : MBPr (08/25/12)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/405480361.png
n8236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are You A MiFi Guru? Felasco Buying Tips and Advice 20 May 31, 2014 12:51 PM
OK Guru's, what did I do to my phone? NJFP iOS 7 13 Oct 11, 2013 08:49 AM
Any Disk Warrior Guru's out there? rkaufmann87 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jan 17, 2013 12:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC