Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 1, 2013, 10:46 PM   #1
Sdahe
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
27" iMac getting Laggy and slow

Hello Guys,

I have an almost new iMac and the animations are been lagging since last week... is there something you can do to make it run smooth again like when I bought it?... Do I have to re-install everything?...
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 10:50 PM   #2
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Hello Guys,

I have an almost new iMac and the animations are been lagging since last week... is there something you can do to make it run smooth again like when I bought it?... Do I have to re-install everything?...
No you don't need to re-install everything. However without any information about how much RAM you have installed or what you're running when the sy stem slows down it's difficult to begin troubleshooting. I'd start out by reading Apple's article on Activity Monitor and how to use it. You can find it by clicking:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1342
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 10:54 PM   #3
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
If you're having performance issues, this may help:
Performance Tips For Mac OS X
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 10:58 PM   #4
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Thanks guys...

My iMac has 16GB of RAM and a 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 processor. I'm usually running Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, Dreamweaver, Mail App, Safari, iTunes.. at the same time . Those are my main apps running during the day.
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:08 PM   #5
mainomega
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
verify/repair disk permissions. That helped me out a bit.
mainomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:19 PM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Thanks guys...

My iMac has 16GB of RAM and a 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 processor. I'm usually running Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, Dreamweaver, Mail App, Safari, iTunes.. at the same time . Those are my main apps running during the day.
You should rkaufmann87 link about how to use Activity Monitor.

We also can help you out if you make a screenshot from Activity Monitor, Open it then select ALL processes in the drop down Menu, next click on the System Memory tab in the lower part, and click the %CPU to show the most active processes.
To make a screenshot press Command-Shift-4 at the same time, then hit the Space bar next click on the window.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:26 PM   #7
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Thanks guys...

My iMac has 16GB of RAM and a 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 processor. I'm usually running Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, Dreamweaver, Mail App, Safari, iTunes.. at the same time . Those are my main apps running during the day.
It's always possible that could be an issue of ram. Have you checked activity monitor? How much is really used by the creative suite applications varies immensely depending on how you use them. It's best to just look at that. Most people also have scratch disks set to their boot drive, so if that is somewhat full and you're running low on ram at any time, you will definitely notice slowing. 16GB is enough for most people though, so I'm a little doubtful of it. Sometimes the system is just bad at freeing up inactive ram, which is why I say to check it. Also this has to be asked, you have tried rebooting right? If it's none of these things, I would check running processes. After that I would start to suspect hardware. If you've upgraded memory in the past, test that. Permissions don't cause these kinds of issues.

Also when you say almost new and 16GB, I get the impression you upgraded ram recently. You should always test the new ram as soon as you upgrade. If you haven't yet, try that. The other processes I was thinking of in activity monitor were spotlight based. They like to mess with applications that write a lot of data to disk at times.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:30 PM   #8
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
You should rkaufmann87 link about how to use Activity Monitor.

We also can help you out if you make a screenshot from Activity Monitor, Open it then select ALL processes in the drop down Menu, next click on the System Memory tab in the lower part, and click the %CPU to show the most active processes.
To make a screenshot press Command-Shift-4 at the same time, then hit the Space bar next click on the window.
Here it goes... all my apps were closed..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-01 at 11.30.25 PM.png
Views:	69
Size:	164.9 KB
ID:	410532  
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:32 PM   #9
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekev View Post
It's always possible that could be an issue of ram. Have you checked activity monitor? How much is really used by the creative suite applications varies immensely depending on how you use them. It's best to just look at that. Most people also have scratch disks set to their boot drive, so if that is somewhat full and you're running low on ram at any time, you will definitely notice slowing. 16GB is enough for most people though, so I'm a little doubtful of it. Sometimes the system is just bad at freeing up inactive ram, which is why I say to check it. Also this has to be asked, you have tried rebooting right? If it's none of these things, I would check running processes. After that I would start to suspect hardware. If you've upgraded memory in the past, test that. Permissions don't cause these kinds of issues.

Also when you say almost new and 16GB, I get the impression you upgraded ram recently. You should always test the new ram as soon as you upgrade. If you haven't yet, try that. The other processes I was thinking of in activity monitor were spotlight based. They like to mess with applications that write a lot of data to disk at times.
How do I test out the memory?
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:35 PM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Here it goes... all my apps were closed..
Nothing to see here, what about your page outs, are there any?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:42 PM   #11
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Nothing to see here, what about your page outs, are there any?
No Pageouts
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:48 PM   #12
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
No Pageouts
This is after using all the Applications you mentioned before?

If this is the case you don't have problems with the size of your RAM.

You could indeed test your Memory as suggested by theKev and when it gets slow open Activity Monitor and see what is going on, I agree with him Spotlight sometimes messes up, two processes to look for are MDS and MD worker, they sometimes use quite a bit of resources.

You can use Memtest to test your RAM, best way to run this is from single user mode since it will test All your memory instead of part of it when done while logged into the OS.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:52 PM   #13
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
This is after using all the Applications you mentioned before?

If this is the case you don't have problems with the size of your RAM.

You could indeed test your Memory as suggested by theKev and when it gets slow open Activity Monitor and see what is going on, I agree with him Spotlight sometimes messes up, two processes to look for are MDS and MD worker, they sometimes use quite a bit of resources.

You can use Memtest to test your RAM, best way to run this is from single user mode since it will test All your memory instead of part of it when done while logged into the OS.
Yes... I never get pageouts even with all my apps opened... I guess that's good

So there is nothing wierd in my process list?
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2013, 11:59 PM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Yes... I never get pageouts even with all my apps opened... I guess that's good

So there is nothing wierd in my process list?
Good, seems running out of RAM isn't the issue here.

Keep an eye on the processes when the Mac is getting slow, not when you don't have these issues.

Check out this Memtest page, click on the User guide, it will tell you how to run Memtest, download it and see if your RAM is OK, if that is the case it is likely to be a runaway process, as said before MDworker and MDS are 2 processes to keep an eye on.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 12:35 AM   #15
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
How do I test out the memory?
http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/

Do it in single user mode only. Run 10 cycles or so. I would just let it run while you sleep. If it turns up any errors, RMA the ram. It's not that uncommon with memory upgrades, which was why I wanted to rule it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
Here it goes... all my apps were closed..
It's not just pageouts. When you're experiencing lag look at activity monitor. See how much ram is marked free. OSX is supposed to free up inactive ram. It doesn't always happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Good, seems running out of RAM isn't the issue here.

Keep an eye on the processes when the Mac is getting slow, not when you don't have these issues.

Check out this Memtest page, click on the User guide, it will tell you how to run Memtest, download it and see if your RAM is OK, if that is the case it is likely to be a runaway process, as said before MDworker and MDS are 2 processes to keep an eye on.
Yes those were what I was thinking of when I mentioned spotlight. Sometimes even after all these years they'll conflict with scratch disk processes.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 05:14 PM   #16
miguelcoma
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sdahe View Post
...
Hi, I got the same or a similar problem and got it solved.
Go to this thread and see if it helps (Solution on comment #19).
And please, say if it does so that we know it's a problem with new iMacs and that's the way to solve it.
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 09:52 PM   #17
Sdahe
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Sdahe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Juan, PR
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
Hi, I got the same or a similar problem and got it solved.
Go to this thread and see if it helps (Solution on comment #19).
And please, say if it does so that we know it's a problem with new iMacs and that's the way to solve it.
Thanks... now it's working very nice...
__________________
iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 | iPhone 5S 32GB | Apple TV
Sdahe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Since ios 7, most of the apps became laggy and slow FatPuppy iPhone 2 Nov 23, 2013 08:32 PM
New 27'' iMac Slow and Laggy for no reason! miguelcoma iMac 23 Oct 27, 2013 05:43 AM
iOS 7 is being very Laggy and Slow theappleman3000 iOS 7 18 Sep 19, 2013 05:49 AM
Slow (laggy) Spaces after some usage Jakerno OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jun 19, 2013 07:10 PM
Appstore slow/laggy ? zeeklancer MacBook Pro 0 Nov 14, 2012 07:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC