Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 2, 2013, 12:28 PM   #1
LouiTheFish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, St. Louis, Los Angeles
Aperture Library freezes finder when moving to external drive

Hey, thanks in advance for any help. I've been trying unsuccessfully for the past 24 hours to move my Aperture 3 library to an external drive. There's approx. 91 projects and 15k+ photos, 75% or more of which are RAW masters.

Some notes:
2008 15" MBP
2.4 GhZ Core 2 Duo
8 GB RAM
500 GB 7200RPM hard drive

My Aperture library is MANAGED which, to my knowledge, means this is a simple drag and drop operation. However, every time I drag the Aperture library to my external (LaCie Rugged 1TB FW800) the whole system freezes just after halfway through. I can open the portion of the library that transferred once I reboot but nothing seems to be there, photo-wise, past a certain point (as in only a portion of the photos transfer but the data stating that the photos existed still moves).

Any guidance would be appreciated, getting a little frustrated with this process.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz 8 GB RAM 500 GB HD, Nikon D7000
LouiTheFish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2013, 07:01 PM   #2
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Do you have another destination where you can test "copying" the library? It might be a failed HDD destination.

It is also possible that your source is failed. In which case... you would need to restore from backup.

In any case... with a managed A3 library... you should be able to drag and drop.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 03:38 PM   #3
LouiTheFish
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philadelphia, St. Louis, Los Angeles
Hadn't thought of that. I'll test it on a G-Tech I have as a backup. My thoughts were that it may be some corrupted files within the library preventing the move. Figured if the G-Tech doesn't work I'd try cutting the Library up into smaller Libraries (which should probably be done anyway since I rarely use some of my file structure) and transfer the entire parcel in smaller portions. Any reason not to do this other than the end result being a little messy?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz 8 GB RAM 500 GB HD, Nikon D7000
LouiTheFish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2013, 02:25 AM   #4
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouiTheFish View Post
Hadn't thought of that. I'll test it on a G-Tech I have as a backup. My thoughts were that it may be some corrupted files within the library preventing the move. Figured if the G-Tech doesn't work I'd try cutting the Library up into smaller Libraries (which should probably be done anyway since I rarely use some of my file structure) and transfer the entire parcel in smaller portions. Any reason not to do this other than the end result being a little messy?
No problem. From memory... you would "export projects as a new library"... and then the new "smaller libraries" would only contain the projects that you created.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Tags
aperture, external drive

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC