Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 3, 2013, 04:17 AM   #1
miguelcoma
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
New 27'' iMac Slow and Laggy for no reason!

PROBLEM SOLVED, Forward to my last post here for the solution

Hi, I've had my new iMac since January 14th and had no problems till yesterday.
For some reason it is really choppy and laggy, specially with internal animations such as mission control, hiding apps to dock, opening apps or showing the desktop.
But I swear to god it was incredibly smooth till yesterday.

I've got a 27'' iMac 3,4Ghz i7, 24GB Ram, 1TB HDD and NVidia GTX 680M
I've checked RAM and CPU usage with almost no app running and it's still slow, although I've got 20GB free RAM and 95% free CPU usage.

I also logged of my session and logged in Guest user, and it is still laggy. Also rebooted a couple of times, still nothing. Also, I repaired Disk Permissions and have 270 of 700GB free HDD Space. (resting 300GB are for my Windows Partition)

NOW, HERE'S THE INTERESTING PART:
I've previously played Portal 2 at max settings and 60FPS on my computer.
And now, if I play it again, at max settings, it still runs at 60FPS according to the game BUT it feels a little laggy compared to how smooth it was before.
So I'm gessing, if it says it runs at 60FPS but doesn't feel like it, should that had to do something with the graphic card adapter?


I made a video of the problem and took a screenshot of processes running while on Guest Account:

this video shows pretty well how laggy it is.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1G5cj...ature=youtu.be
another video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzddtVWV2l8

Last edited by miguelcoma; May 7, 2013 at 12:17 AM.
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 04:38 AM   #2
nizmoz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Do the pram and nvram reset.

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1379
nizmoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 05:07 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
And a SMC reset

Resetting the System Management Controller - Support - Apple
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 06:02 AM   #4
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I did both things. It's still laggy
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 06:58 AM   #5
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
I guess the only thing left to try is boot from a freshly installed system, use an external disk. If the problem persists then you should call Apple.
Thessman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 07:03 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
I did both things. It's still laggy
By the way, if you post a screenshot of Activity Monitor you should always select ALL processes in the drop down Menu on top, then select System Memory tab in the lower part and in the main body click on the %CPU tab to show the most active processes on top.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-05-03 at 19.03.56.png
Views:	149
Size:	127.4 KB
ID:	410731  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 07:48 AM   #7
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Wait, so the only way to solve it is reinstalling OSX from scratch?
How's that possible?
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 07:55 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
Wait, so the only way to solve it is reinstalling OSX from scratch?
How's that possible?
No, it's almost always if not always possible to solve it without reinstalling, if you startup in a new user and don't have the same issues it is the normal User Account which has problems, if both have problems the problem may be inside the main Library and can still be solved.
When you have the problem make that screenshot as I said before and post it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 08:26 AM   #9
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
No, it's almost always if not always possible to solve it without reinstalling, if you startup in a new user and don't have the same issues it is the normal User Account which has problems, if both have problems the problem may be inside the main Library and can still be solved.
When you have the problem make that screenshot as I said before and post it.

OK, here are the screenshots:
(Main account logged off, using Guest account. Just Running Safari.)

Part I


Part II



SORTED BY CPU USAGE

miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 08:40 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
If I were you I would try without Logitech drivers, so uninstall them, restart and see if that made a difference.

(I see the Logitech Control Centre Deamon running)
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 11:56 AM   #11
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
If I were you I would try without Logitech drivers, so uninstall them, restart and see if that made a difference.

(I see the Logitech Control Centre Deamon running)
Ok, I uninstalled them and the problem remains... what can I do now?
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 12:04 PM   #12
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
Ok, I uninstalled them and the problem remains... what can I do now?
Run the following command in terminal:

kextfind -case-insensitive -not -bundle-id -substring 'com.apple.' -print

then post the output here.

Also, what is in these folders:

/Library/LauchAgents
/Library/LaunchDeamons
/Library/StartupItems
~/Home/LauchAgents
~/Home//LaunchDeamons
~/Home/StartupItems
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 12:19 PM   #13
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Run the following command in terminal:

kextfind -case-insensitive -not -bundle-id -substring 'com.apple.' -print

then post the output here.

Also, what is in these folders:

/Library/LauchAgents
/Library/LaunchDeamons
/Library/StartupItems
~/Home/LauchAgents
~/Home//LaunchDeamons
~/Home/StartupItems
Ok, Terminal command displayed this:
Quote:
/System/Library/Extensions/Accusys6xxxx.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ArcMSR.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOCelerityFC.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOCelerityFC8.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressPCI4.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressSASHBA.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressSASHBA2.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressSASHBA3.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressSASRAID.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/ATTOExpressSASRAID2.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/BJUSBLoad.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/CalDigitHDProDrv.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/HighPointIOP.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/HighPointRR.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/hp_Inkjet8_io_enabler.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/JMicronATA.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/LittleSnitch.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/LogMeInSoundDriver64.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/PromiseSTEX.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/SoftRAID.kext
/System/Library/Extensions/TelestreamAudio.kext

In the folders you mentioned:
/Library/LauchAgents This
/Library/LaunchDeamons This
/Library/StartupItems This Folder was empty

As for this folders
~/Home/LauchAgents
~/Home//LaunchDeamons
~/Home/StartupItems
I'm not exactly sure where to find them, but I thought it was in Home/Library/
And in that folder I just found /LaunchAgents the others where missing. This is what's in it.

By the way, thank you for all the help!!
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2013, 10:56 PM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
Ok, Terminal command displayed this:



In the folders you mentioned:
/Library/LauchAgents This
/Library/LaunchDeamons This
/Library/StartupItems This Folder was empty

As for this folders
~/Home/LauchAgents
~/Home//LaunchDeamons
~/Home/StartupItems
I'm not exactly sure where to find them, but I thought it was in Home/Library/
And in that folder I just found /LaunchAgents the others where missing. This is what's in it.

By the way, thank you for all the help!!
I am in a different timezone, that was my last post.

Now, as for your Extensions and others.

Extensions, I see a few of them which are not there by default but some of them are OK

/System/Library/Extensions/hp_Inkjet8_io_enabler.kext
This one is OK, printer drivers are tested well

/System/Library/Extensions/LittleSnitch.kext
I have this one, no problem here.

/System/Library/Extensions/LogMeInSoundDriver64.kext
I know LogMeIn, this could potentially be a problem although I doubt it

/System/Library/Extensions/TelestreamAudio.kext
I have no idea what this is, it seems to be audio related but don't know what it does.
Just looked it up, you seem to have screenflow 4, uninstall and see if it helps, you might have to restart since it is an extension.


As for the other Folders
LauchAgents
LaunchDeamons
StartupItems

These are standard Folders but empty when you have a new Install, these folders are standard only in /Library but not in your ~/Home/Library folder, if there are no folders like these inside your Home/Library folder there is no problem, but some Apps will create these.

I saw one I don't know, the rest seems to be OK.
com.hamachix.tuncfgd.plist in /Library/LaunchDeamons

Seems like a VPN from Computer to computer, something to do with LogMeIn.

I had LogMeIn a while ago but don't like this software, installs way too much crap everywhere.
Uninstall restart and see if it is better.

Now, I said uninstall two software packages but before you do you can do other things, like holding the shift key when logging into your User Account, do this right after you hit Enter, see if this works, if not restart and hold the shift key instantly after restarting or starting up, this will get you into safe boot, what does it do now, still have problems or not?
I safe boot only loads the default system without startupItems, 3rd party Extensions-LaunchAgents/Deamons amongst more stuff.

I hate Apps which install stuff for no reasons at all, LittleSnitch needs an extension to prevent incoming traffic, I'll give you an example for software which is not needed, for instance WD, WD installs for instance extensions, for what, it's just an effing Harddisk!

I always check what Apps installs, I do this with an App called Pacifist, if the installer is a .pkg file or when I open an installer by right clicking on it and there is a .pkg (Or mpkg) inside I open it with Pacifist first.

There is one more thing to look at, open console and see in system log if you see errors reoccurring again and again, sometimes it tells where to look.

Last edited by justperry; May 3, 2013 at 11:26 PM.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2013, 06:02 AM   #15
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post

...
I did all that and also booted in safe mode, but still the problem remains.
This is driving me craaaazy

Is it possible that it has something to do with the cache?
miguelcoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2013, 06:13 AM   #16
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
I did all that and also booted in safe mode, but still the problem remains.
This is driving me craaaazy

Is it possible that it has something to do with the cache?
Yeah frustrating.

Since it didn't help yet you should run 3 diagnostic programs, first run Disk Utility and run check disk, if there are no errors run Apple Hardware test and Memtest.

Intel-based Macs: Using Apple Hardware Test

MemTest

When you are on MemTest page you better click on guide and read how to run it from Single User Mode, this is much better than running it in OS X.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2013, 09:48 AM   #17
ajgreg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
logitech mouse dongle issue

have you tried unplugging the logitech usb dongle? i have had this problem with my mouse in the past and this helps. i haven't seen this with ML.
ajgreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2013, 10:17 AM   #18
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
I had the same problem and it ended up being my Bootcamp partition causing my Mac to be slow. My theory was Spotlight was trying to index that drive but never confirmed since I just got rid of Bootcamp completely.

My 2010 iMac now runs as expected.
BornAgainMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 12:16 AM   #19
miguelcoma
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Smile

HEY GUYS!
Some dude from another forum solved my problem!
If anyone has a similiar issue, please do the following, it really helps:

Quote:
Step 1: Delete system windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: /Library/Preferences/
Delete the file called com.apple.windowserver.plist

Step 2: Delete user windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/
Delete all files that start with com.apple.windowserver (On my rMBP, there was one file called com.apple.windowserver.12AFB147-95D6-5C70-8F62-C1E4F2BE81BE)

[OPTIONAL] Step 3: Reset the PRAM
(These instructions are from http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379)
Shut down your Mac.
Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command (⌘), Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
Turn on the computer.
Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys before the gray screen appears.
Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
Release the keys.
That did the trick and my iMac is now fast and smooth again.
Kudos to black_ice from applesfera for finding the solution to my problem!!
And thanks to all of you for your help!

Last edited by miguelcoma; Oct 16, 2013 at 08:26 AM.
miguelcoma is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 12:24 AM   #20
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
HEY GUYS!
Some dude from another forum solved my problem!
If anyone has a similiar issue, please do the following, it really helps:



That did the trick and my iMac now is fast and smooth again.
Kudos to black_ice from applesfera for finding the solution to my problem!!
And thanks to all of you for your help!
Good to know, glad you solved it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 04:02 AM   #21
eattherich
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Berlin
Good news, I'm glad you managed to sort it!
eattherich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 10:58 AM   #22
tomasmcm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Perfect

Worked like a charm!!!! A thousand Thank you!!!!

" Step 1: Delete system windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: /Library/Preferences/
Delete the file called com.apple.windowserver.plist

Step 2: Delete user windowserver preferences
In the Finder, from the menu bar, select "Go -> Go to Folder..."
Enter: ~/Library/Preferences/ByHost/
Delete all files that start with com.apple.windowserver (On my rMBP, there was one file called com.apple.windowserver.12AFB147-95D6-5C70-8F62-C1E4F2BE81BE)

[OPTIONAL] Step 3: Reset the PRAM
(These instructions are from http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379)
Shut down your Mac.
Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command (⌘), Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
Turn on the computer.
Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys before the gray screen appears.
Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
Release the keys. "
tomasmcm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 06:08 PM   #23
FrogTastic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Non of the suggestions helped, anyone got anything else?
__________________
White iPhone 6 64GB White MacBook White iPad 2 64GBWhite iPad Mini 32GBiMac 27'' 3.1 GHz i5
FrogTastic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 04:43 AM   #24
NeoCracer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelcoma View Post
HEY GUYS!
Some dude from another forum solved my problem!
If anyone has a similiar issue, please do the following, it really helps:



That did the trick and my iMac is now fast and smooth again.
Kudos to black_ice from applesfera for finding the solution to my problem!!
And thanks to all of you for your help!
Thank you SO MUCH!
My iMac was weirdly slow for no reason and now following those steps fixed everything on my two week old Late 2013 iMac!

I'm so glad I found this post, I was about to reinstall my OS and everything, or even calling Apple for a new iMac.
NeoCracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Since ios 7, most of the apps became laggy and slow FatPuppy iPhone 2 Nov 23, 2013 07:32 PM
iOS 7 is being very Laggy and Slow theappleman3000 iOS 7 18 Sep 19, 2013 04:49 AM
Slow (laggy) Spaces after some usage Jakerno OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jun 19, 2013 06:10 PM
27" iMac getting Laggy and slow Sdahe iMac 16 May 7, 2013 08:52 PM
Appstore slow/laggy ? zeeklancer MacBook Pro 0 Nov 14, 2012 06:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC