Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2013, 12:48 PM   #1
EvilEvil
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New York City
Enable Turbo Boost all the time?

Is there a way to enable Turbo Boost on my Late 2012 Mac Mini all the time? Also how do we know if it will ever utilize Turbo Boost for anything? Is it just a marketing gimmick?
EvilEvil is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 12:50 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Turbo Boost is always enabled except when thermal levels do not allow it. On Mac OS X, there is no way to see what the current frequency is dynamically.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 12:53 PM   #3
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Turbo Boost is always enabled except when thermal levels do not allow it. On Mac OS X, there is no way to see what the current frequency is dynamically.
This is wrong.

Turbo boost isn't on unless certain conditions are met.
Gav2k is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 12:58 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
This is wrong.

Turbo boost isn't on unless certain conditions are met.
Enabled and on are different things. It can be enabled, but not on.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   5
Old May 5, 2013, 01:42 PM   #5
mentaluproar
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Turbo boost is an automatic temporary overclock. It only activates when you would benefit from the extra speed and only for as long as it can cool itself.

In the mini, there are other bottlenecks that need addressed anyway, like the hard drive.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 01:55 PM   #6
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
This is wrong.

Turbo boost isn't on unless certain conditions are met.
It is correct. Turbo Boost needs to be enabled in say the UEFI/EFI/BIOS which is the case of any Mac. When Turbo Boost is enabled the system can use it to throttle cpu power. There is no way to influence this as it is an automatic system (there is 1 influence: the software you run). The same can be said for the power saving options of the cpu (although there is some more influence the user has: you can put the machine in standby/sleep/etc. which will cause components such as the cpu to change power saving modes).
dyn is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 03:58 PM   #7
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilEvil View Post
Is there a way to enable Turbo Boost on my Late 2012 Mac Mini all the time? Also how do we know if it will ever utilize Turbo Boost for anything? Is it just a marketing gimmick?
Part of what you need to understand, is that Turbo boost is directly related to how many cores you are using at any given time as well. So you can't just have it "ON" and get 3.3ghz at all times unless you are willing to disable all but 1 core.

It would probably help to familiarize yourself with the functionality as it probably would have made this thread completely unnecessary:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Turbo_Boost
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0
Old May 5, 2013, 05:55 PM   #8
fricotin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Apparently it is possible to monitor it on Windows machines, It wight work with Bootcamp...

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...?DwnldID=19105
fricotin is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 01:33 AM   #9
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by fricotin View Post
Apparently it is possible to monitor it on Windows machines, It wight work with Bootcamp...

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...?DwnldID=19105
I can confirm at least that this program does not work in windows 8 on parallels 8. I tried it a few months back on my 2012 i7. Understandable though.

I wish there was a mac app to dynamically monitor the frequency of the CPU. You would think if iStat pro can graph it that it could put MHz/ghz numbers to it.
opinio is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 02:03 AM   #10
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyn View Post
It is correct. Turbo Boost needs to be enabled in say the UEFI/EFI/BIOS which is the case of any Mac. When Turbo Boost is enabled the system can use it to throttle cpu power. There is no way to influence this as it is an automatic system (there is 1 influence: the software you run). The same can be said for the power saving options of the cpu (although there is some more influence the user has: you can put the machine in standby/sleep/etc. which will cause components such as the cpu to change power saving modes).
Turbo boost dosnt throttle the CPU there is another instruction set for that. On or enabled does it matter? The CPU's thermal parameters need to be met for it to activate and it's only for single core operations not multi core.
Gav2k is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 08:22 AM   #11
MJL
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
In windows it is possible to set the CPU at 100% so it always runs at its highest frequency but heat builds up soon enough.

The best thing I found was to avoid the parking of the cores - for windows there is a free utility that does this.
MJL is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 08:27 AM   #12
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by opinio View Post
I wish there was a mac app to dynamically monitor the frequency of the CPU. You would think if iStat pro can graph it that it could put MHz/ghz numbers to it.
There is one: http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...ower-gadget-20
chrfr is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 01:43 PM   #13
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Turbo boost dosnt throttle the CPU there is another instruction set for that. On or enabled does it matter? The CPU's thermal parameters need to be met for it to activate and it's only for single core operations not multi core.
Turbo Boost does throttle the cpu. What you are explaining here is exactly what throttling is It isn't the only throttling the cpu does. You could also use the word "scaling". Intel uses brand names: Intel SpeedStep and Intel Turbo Boost. They both scale/throttle up when you need power and back down when you don't. The way they do it is different. They complement each other.
dyn is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 07:44 PM   #14
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyn View Post
Turbo Boost does throttle the cpu.
Hold on now. The definition of throttle is to "choke" or "restrict". Turbo boost does exactly the opposite. For example, the 2.6ghz quad core has a "normal" frequency of 2.6ghz. Turbo boost will allow it to run all the way up to 3.6ghz depending on the situation (i.e. only one core maxed out). How is that throttling? Now Speed step is throttling. It will reduce or "restrict" the speed of the processor when it isn't needed in order to reduce the amount of power needed.

http://thesaurus.com/browse/throttle

Are you confusing the phrase of "Full Throttle" (which usually means super speed) with throttling? Maybe you don't understand the origination of what a Throttle is in a combustion engine? If it helps, a Throttle is actually a device in old carbureted engines that actually reduced the flow of fuel to the engine. By going "Full throttle" you actually opened the Throttle the whole way so maximum gas flow was released.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 07:55 PM   #15
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
Thanks. It looks like it measures watts and not MHz but it looks interesting. Worth a look.
opinio is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 08:05 PM   #16
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
it's only for single core operations not multi core.
No, depending on the CPU, it works with two (or more) cores active as well as a single one. I often hate to cite them as a reference, but see:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Turbo_Boost
xav8tor is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 08:45 PM   #17
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Turbo boost dosnt throttle the CPU there is another instruction set for that. On or enabled does it matter? The CPU's thermal parameters need to be met for it to activate and it's only for single core operations not multi core.
Turbo Boost 2.0 and newer supports all cores.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0
Old May 6, 2013, 10:14 PM   #18
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by opinio View Post
Thanks. It looks like it measures watts and not MHz but it looks interesting. Worth a look.
It shows the speed on my computers.
chrfr is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 06:46 AM   #19
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
Not trying to say your all wrong, but this Intel App (Intel Power Gadget) shows my 2012 mini i7 2.6 Ghz Quad cranking along at around 3.20 to 3.45Ghz when I run Handbrake and Aunsoft iMedia together each coding a 1080P 30GB mkv to ATV3 (i.e. I am maxing out my CPU). It hits 3.45 for the first few minutes and settles to 3.20 to 3.30 once the heat is stabilised at around 100 'C. Handbrake and iMedia together uses all 4 cores at 100% so can someone explain why the Intel Power Gadget is showing my CPU is capable of that Ghz peak load (sustained) instead of 2.6 Ghz as the max when all cores are running. I am not talking about 1 core maxing at 3.20 - 3.45 Ghz on Turbo Boost. The whole quad is running according to my understanding of Handbrake and what iStat says.

Is the Intel app misleading? It definitely shows the thin static 2.6 Ghz line with the dynamic line running well above around 3.30.

Any comments?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Intel PG and CPU.png
Views:	618
Size:	330.5 KB
ID:	411187  
opinio is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 06:51 AM   #20
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Turbo Boost 2.0 and newer supports all cores.
Yes to be fair it can but that would require Mac Pro cooling. The chip would get to hot to quick in any other mac line.
Gav2k is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 07:36 AM   #21
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav2k View Post
Yes to be fair it can but that would require Mac Pro cooling. The chip would get to hot to quick in any other mac line.
Some of the higher end Ivy Bridge i7s used in the Mac line have Turbo Boost 2.0 and do utilize it accordingly for sustained periods of time.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 03:29 PM   #22
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
Hold on now. The definition of throttle is to "choke" or "restrict".
Not quite, those are only 2 of the definitions. I was more thinking along the lines of throttling up and down like with rockets and such or opening and closing the throttle to speed up or slow down a car (people forget that it goes the opposite way as well). Merriam Webster has some more definitions where you can find the one I'm using as well: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/throttle The rocket/car meaning also shows exactly what Turbo Boost and SpeedStep do: they control (this verb is given as a synonym on the link you gave) the speed of the processor. On other sites I find similar information that says my usage of throttle is correct in this context.
dyn is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 04:38 PM   #23
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyn View Post
Not quite, those are only 2 of the definitions. I was more thinking along the lines of throttling up and down like with rockets and such or opening and closing the throttle to speed up or slow down a car (people forget that it goes the opposite way as well). Merriam Webster has some more definitions where you can find the one I'm using as well: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/throttle The rocket/car meaning also shows exactly what Turbo Boost and SpeedStep do: they control (this verb is given as a synonym on the link you gave) the speed of the processor. On other sites I find similar information that says my usage of throttle is correct in this context.
Did you even read the definition you provided here?

a : to decrease the flow of (as steam or fuel to an engine) by a valve
b : to regulate and especially to reduce the speed of (as an engine) by such means
c : to vary the thrust of (a rocket engine) during flight

Without a throttle ALL engines would run at FULL speed/RPM. There would be no restriction to the amount of fuel entering the engine which means your car (for example) would run at maximum RPM at all times. Now newer engines use fuel injectors, but those do not have a "throttle". Instead the injectors are turned off and off releasing fuel.

Don't give me the bull about how you meant a "rocket car", because that's baloney. What you found is the only way to even sorta prove you could on the fringe be right. The meaning of throttle is to restrict. A throttle is naturally in the off position almost completely restricting the flow of fuel. You have to force it out of its natural state in order to allow for an engine to increase in rpm. This is the normal and accepted definition. Some obscure definition for rocket engines it is not.

Again Turbo boost is the complete opposite of Throttle. I would recommend you take combustion engines 101 before you argue with me again on this. I'm going to assume you have never worked on a combustion engine of any type since you clearly do not understand the definition of Throttle.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   1
Old May 7, 2013, 05:52 PM   #24
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by opinio View Post
Not trying to say your all wrong, but this Intel App (Intel Power Gadget) shows my 2012 mini i7 2.6 Ghz Quad cranking along at around 3.20 to 3.45Ghz when I run Handbrake and Aunsoft iMedia together each coding a 1080P 30GB mkv to ATV3 (i.e. I am maxing out my CPU). It hits 3.45 for the first few minutes and settles to 3.20 to 3.30 once the heat is stabilised at around 100 'C. Handbrake and iMedia together uses all 4 cores at 100% so can someone explain why the Intel Power Gadget is showing my CPU is capable of that Ghz peak load (sustained) instead of 2.6 Ghz as the max when all cores are running. I am not talking about 1 core maxing at 3.20 - 3.45 Ghz on Turbo Boost. The whole quad is running according to my understanding of Handbrake and what iStat says.

Is the Intel app misleading? It definitely shows the thin static 2.6 Ghz line with the dynamic line running well above around 3.30.
Turbo Boost 2.0 or newer (available in Sandy Bridge and newer) supports all cores. Your processor, the i7-3720QM supports up to 3.6 GHz.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0
Old May 7, 2013, 06:38 PM   #25
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Turbo Boost 2.0 or newer (available in Sandy Bridge and newer) supports all cores. Your processor, the i7-3720QM supports up to 3.6 GHz.
Yes, I know all that. But The max with all cores running should only be 2.6 Ghz I thought.

See this thread. There seems to be conflicting postions on this.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1562501

Quote paulrbeers: "Basically one core can do 3.6, then two cores something like 3.3 (there's actually a table somewhere that actually spells it out), then 3 cores maybe 2.9 and all for at 2.6."

So are you are saying all four cores can max out to 3.6 Ghz if the temp is ok? That seems to be different to what is said in this thread?
opinio is offline   0

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there any way to know when I am using Turbo Boost? Hieveryone MacBook Pro 5 May 11, 2014 08:47 PM
What is Turbo Boost? Felasco MacBook Air 12 Mar 20, 2014 07:00 AM
Turbo Boost? Benk3350 MacBook Pro 4 Oct 31, 2013 01:33 AM
Turbo boost etsi Mac mini 6 Aug 14, 2012 07:14 AM
What does Turbo Boost do? TomMaxwell MacBook Air 13 Jun 21, 2012 08:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC