Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Old May 7, 2013, 01:54 AM   #1
ssloshh
macrumors newbie

Change background to white using Aperture

I am a newbie to Digital photography. How can I change the background of a picture to white? I have a couple of profile pictures taken in the woods and I need to change the background to plain white to make it more professional.

I have iPhoto and Aperture 3.
ssloshh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 06:31 AM   #2
AT06
macrumors 6502

Photoshop or Elements would be your best bet using the lasso tool.

However, if you're patient (very patient) then you could use the retouch tool to clone a white part of the image to the parts you want to be the background, and perhaps use detect edges around the parts you want to keep (although it will only detect obvious edges). There may be better ways using Aperture, but that's the only way I can think of.

Otherwise if you don't have Photoshop, you could download GIMP and do it that way - doing a quick search on Google will find many tutorials.

Last edited by AT06; May 7, 2013 at 05:19 PM.
AT06 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2013, 10:49 AM   #3
snberk103
macrumors 603

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssloshh View Post
I am a newbie to Digital photography. How can I change the background of a picture to white? I have a couple of profile pictures taken in the woods and I need to change the background to plain white to make it more professional.

I have iPhoto and Aperture 3.