Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 9, 2013, 09:41 PM   #1
yjchua95
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Disable 2G but leave 3G and LTE on

Good day.

Ever since I updated to iOS 6.1 a few months back, I've been getting lousy 3G reception. In places where I used to get around 3 bars of 3G, now I cannot even get 3G at all and the phone switches to 2G. Also, in places where I used to get around 4 bars of LTE, I can only get 2G signal now.

Is there anyway I can disable 2G and force my iPhone to use 3G or LTE only? Without a jailbreak.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
yjchua95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2013, 09:55 PM   #2
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Make sure you have 3G and LTE turned on. Possible that setting got switched off.
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 12:43 AM   #3
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
You might be misunderstanding what's happening.


Your iPhone isn't picking up a quality 3G/LTE signal and is grabbing the only consistent signal it can which is EDGE in your case.
__________________
Ordered: T-Mobile iPhone 6 Plus Gold 128GB
Date: 11/14/2014 @ 4PM
Shipped on: 11/17/2014
mikeydeezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 10:47 AM   #4
yjchua95
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by macingman View Post
Make sure you have 3G and LTE turned on. Possible that setting got switched off.
It's always on.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeydeezy View Post
You might be misunderstanding what's happening.


Your iPhone isn't picking up a quality 3G/LTE signal and is grabbing the only consistent signal it can which is EDGE in your case.
In the sweet days before iOS 6.1, I could get 4 out of 5 bars of LTE and full signal strength on 3G in my area. Ever since going to 6.1 (now 6.1.4), it's been crap all the way.

So I know that my area has good LTE and 3G coverage. And now I wonder why does my iPhone keep using 2G in my area.

Hopefully this'll get fixed in iOS 7
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
yjchua95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 06:04 PM   #5
zorinlynx
macrumors 68030
 
zorinlynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by yjchua95 View Post
It's always on.[COLOR="#808080"]
So I know that my area has good LTE and 3G coverage. And now I wonder why does my iPhone keep using 2G in my area.

Hopefully this'll get fixed in iOS 7
Your area might have HAD good LTE and 3G coverage, but something change in the network or environment such that the coverage is no longer good at your location.

Can you receive LTE/3G elsewhere without issue?
__________________
Old-school Apple ][ expert! Ask me if you have a ][ question!
Apple user 1983-1992, 2003-Present -- Linux user 1995-Present
Windows-free since 2003! Though I still have to deal with it at work.
zorinlynx is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 07:39 PM   #6
AutoUnion39
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Your firmware update didn't cause you to loose service. That's ridiculous to even assume.
AutoUnion39 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2013, 08:02 PM   #7
lordofthereef
macrumors 604
 
lordofthereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
In order to actually answer the OP's question...

Can't be done without jailbreak. Assuming you are jailbroken, download something like SBSettings. There should be an Edge toggle. If it's not there by default, mess around inside the settings (of SBSettings under more) and you should find it there.

HTH!
__________________
Endorse what you love instead of attacking what you hate.
lordofthereef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 02:13 AM   #8
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Sounds like the towers in the area are having problems. The problems may have started coincidently with your update. I would call your carrier.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 08:53 AM   #9
yjchua95
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Queenstown, NZ and Melbourne, VIC, Australia (current location)
Send a message via Skype™ to yjchua95
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorinlynx View Post
Your area might have HAD good LTE and 3G coverage, but something change in the network or environment such that the coverage is no longer good at your location.

Can you receive LTE/3G elsewhere without issue?
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
Your firmware update didn't cause you to loose service. That's ridiculous to even assume.
Well, my classmates that are still on iOS 6.0.2 can get full 3G and LTE while I can't. And besides, I'm not the only one complaining about this. I've gone through the Apple Support Community forums and there's lots of iOS 6.1 users that complain about loss of 3G reception after updating to 6.1.
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
yjchua95 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2013, 04:29 PM   #10
Kevin813
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Yup, this happened to me on my unlocked iphone on tmobile. On ios 6, I could 2-3 bar 3G, and it would be really easy to reconnect if I wash kicked back to edge. Once I got to ios 6.1, I was ALWAYS on edge, and could not establish a stable 3G.
A temporary fix is to go to settings->carrier->automatic off. Then wait for it to load (about 1-2 min) then Click your carrier. It should work, but would need to be done every time you got kick back to edge
This was way to much of a hassle for me, so I sold that iphone and picked up the new aws one when it came out.
Hope this helps!
Kevin813 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Searching for two tweaks... Disable 3g, but leave LTE on. And Battery charge limit? shaddix Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 25, 2014 08:09 AM
Any other iP5 owners just disable LTE and do without? DynaFXD iPhone 24 Oct 26, 2012 07:51 AM
Do you leave LTE on 24/7 ? Che Castro iPhone 54 Oct 22, 2012 04:15 PM
Anyway to disable LTE and use 3G? Apollo 13 iPhone 11 Oct 7, 2012 04:14 PM
How to disable LTE? (Uk) randomnut iPhone 8 Sep 23, 2012 06:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC